Fatima Mernissi Chair with Sarah Bracke, Zakia Salime & Mohamed Ikoubaân

Sexism, Sharia, and the Spectre of the Arab Muslim Man

Sexism, Sharia, and the Spectre of the Arab Muslim Man
Sexism, Sharia, and the Spectre of the Arab Muslim Man

28.09.2017

Sharia law in the current global context

Is sexism inherent to Islam? Where does the menacing stereotype of the sexist Muslim come from and how is it perpetuated? In this armchair debate, sociologists Sarah Bracke and Zakia Salime address these questions in order to explore the alleged sexism of Arab Muslim men and Islamic Sharia law. They also expand the discussion to include questions of whether religious law is compatible with the universal human rights. They do not only address whether this is possible, but also if it is desirable.

20:30 –  Introduction by Iman Lechkar (VUB)
20:40 – Zakia Salime (Rutgers University): La patriarchie, est-elle propre à l'islam?
21:00 – Conversation with Sarah Bracke (Universiteit Amsterdam), Mohamed Ikoubaân (Moussem) and Zakia Salime (Rutgers University). Moderated by Rachida Aziz (Le Space).
22:30 – End

• Sarah Bracke is a sociologist at the University of Amsterdam and is specialized in gender, religion and secularism, as well as enculturation and racialization processes. Zakia Salime (Rutgers University, USA) is likewise a sociologist and conducts research into the political economy of the war on terror and Islamic societies and movements.

• Moroccan sociologist Fatima Mernissi (1940–2015) laid the groundwork for the development of feminism in the Muslim world. Her works explored the tension between power, gender and Islam and built bridges between the West and the Arab world. After a successful tribute to her thought and legacy at the Kaaistudios, the VUB launched the Fatima Mernissi Chair in January 2017, likewise at the Kaaistudios.


Organisation VUB/Fatima Mernissi Chair & Kaaitheater

Fatima Mernissi Chair avec Sarah Bracke, Zakia Salime & Mohamed Ikoubaân

Sexism, Sharia and the Spectre of the Arab Muslim Man

Sexism, Sharia and the Spectre of the Arab Muslim Man
Sexism, Sharia and the Spectre of the Arab Muslim Man

28.09.2017

La charia dans le contexte mondialisé actuel

Le sexisme est-il propre à l’islam ? D’où provient l’épouvantail contemporain du musulman sexiste et comment ce cliché est-il nourri ? Lors de cette conversation de salon, les sociologues Sarah Bracke et Zakia Salime partent de ces questions pour passer au crible le sexisme prétendu de l’homme arabe musulman et de la loi islamique. Simultanément, elles ouvrent le sujet : dans quelle mesure une loi religieuse peut-elle concorder avec les droits humains universels ? Elle ne pose pas seulement la question de savoir si une telle chose est possible, mais aussi si elle est souhaitable.

20:30 – Introduction par Iman Lechkar (Titulaire du Chaire Fatima Mernissi, VUB)
20:40 – Zakia Salime (Rutgers University): La patriarchie, est-elle propre à l'islam?
21:00 – Discussion avec Sarah Bracke (Universiteit Amsterdam), Mohamed Ikoubaân (Moussem) et Zakia Salime (Rutgers University). Modéré par Rachida Aziz.
22:30 – Fin

• Sarah Bracke est une sociologue attachée à l’Université d’Amsterdam et spécialisée dans les questions de genre, de religion et de laïcité, de processus de culturalisation et de radicalisation. Zakia Salime (Rutgers University, USA) est également sociologue. Elle mène des recherches, entre autres, sur l’économie politique de la « guerre au terrorisme » et des sociétés et mouvements islamiques.

• La sociologue marocaine Fatima Mernissi (1940-2015) était la grande inspiratrice du développement du féminisme dans le monde arabo-musulman. Son œuvre explore les champs de tension entre le pouvoir, le genre et l’islam et jette des ponts entre l’Occident et le monde arabe. Après un vibrant hommage rendu à sa pensée aux Kaaistudio’s l’année passée, la VUB a créé en janvier 2017 une Chaire Fatima Mernissi dont le lancement a également eu lieu aux Kaaistudio’s.


Organisation VUB/Fatima Mernissi Chair & Kaaitheater