Ictus & Julie Pfleiderer [BE/DE]

SAFE

SAFE
SAFE

22.11 – 23.11.2018

In Todd Haynes’ film Safe (1995), a woman suffers from increasingly intense allergic reactions that ultimately make her life almost unliveable. It is unclear whether she is a victim or an attention-seeking manipulator. As both a concert and a performance, SAFE starts from the film to sketch an image of contemporary hypersensitivity: join an immersive journey that will stimulate all your senses. What starts as a concert gradually evolves into a sophisticated live audio play. The contemporary Western world wants to find explanations for everything. But what can we do about phenomena, fields, and blind spots to which we cannot provided definitive answers?

• Julie Pfleiderer makes performances, sound art, and film at the intersection of documentary and fiction. The Brussels-based contemporary music ensemble Ictus has been a regular guest at Kaaitheater for years. They have several performances scheduled this season: an ambitious concertante version of Einstein on the Beach – in collaboration with Suzanne Vega and Collegium Vocale Ghent – and the new creations by Eleanor Bauer and Noé Soulier.


direction & concept Julie Pfleiderer | composition & concept Oxana Omelchuk | performance & concept Caroline Daish | musicians Tom Pauwels (guitar), Gerrit Nulens (percussion), Hanna Kölbel (cello) | sound design Alex Fostier, with thanks to Quentin Meurisse | script Pieter Delfosse | choreography Christine De Smedt | set, costume & light Jochen Schmitt-Thelen | co-production Ars Musica, Kaaitheater, Ictus, kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek, Wien Modern, Brut Wien, BUDA 

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

Related content

Eleanor Bauer & Chris Peck

New Joy

performance music

New Joy
New Joy

performance

Thu 30.05 - Sat 01.06.19

Eleanor Bauer loves playing with the codes and concepts of contemporary dance. In New Joy, she confronts the post-truth age: this dataistic cyber-musical knocks straight through the boundaries of various registers. From body language and spoken language to computer language and back again, from emotional to artificial intelligence, from movement to sound. Along with composer Chris Peck, Bauer engages all of your senses in her search for meaning and hidden implications.

Ictus & Suzanne Vega

Einstein on the Beach

music

Einstein on the Beach
Einstein on the Beach

music

Wed 05.06.19

The legendary opera Einstein on the Beach by Phillip Glass, Robert Wilson and Lucinda Childs premièred at the Festival of Avignon in 1976. For this new concertante version, the Ictus ensemble is joining forces with the Collegium Vocale Ghent and with neo-folk legend Suzanne Vega. The musical composition and the musicality of the libretto are the central focus in a minimalist and hypnotizing soundscape that lasts 200 minutes.

Ictus & Julie Pfleiderer [BE/DE]

SAFE

SAFE
SAFE

22.11 – 23.11.2018

Dans le film Safe (1995) de Todd Haynes, une femme est victime de crises d’allergie de plus en plus violentes qui lui empoisonnent la vie. On ne sait pas très bien si elle est malade ou s’il s’agit d’une manipulatrice qui cherche à attirer l’attention. À la fois concert et spectacle, SAFE part de ce film pour brosser le tableau de l’hypersensibilité actuelle : embarquez-vous dans un voyage immersif qui joue sur tous les sens. Ce qui commence par un concert évolue en audiodrame sophistiqué. Le monde occidental actuel veut tout expliquer. Mais que faire des phénomènes, des domaines et des points aveugles pour lesquels on ne trouve pas d’explication satisfaisante ?

• Julie Pfleiderer crée des performances, de l’art acoustique et des films à la croisée du documentaire et de la fiction. L’ensemble bruxellois de musique contemporaine Ictus est depuis longtemps une valeur sûre et un hôte régulier du Kaaitheater. Cette saison, ils sont plusieurs fois à l’affiche : avec une ambitieuse version concertante d’Einstein on the Beach – en collaboration avec Suzanne Vega et Collegium Vocale Gent –, avec la nouvelle création Eleanor Bauer et celle de Noé Soulier.


direction & concept Julie Pfleiderer | composition & concept Oxana Omelchuk | performance & concept Caroline Daish | musicians Tom Pauwels (guitar), Gerrit Nulens (percussion), Hanna Kölbel (cello) | sound design Alex Fostier, with thanks to Quentin Meurisse | script Pieter Delfosse | choreography Christine De Smedt | set, costume & light Jochen Schmitt-Thelen | co-production Ars Musica, Kaaitheater, Ictus, kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek, Wien Modern, Brut Wien, BUDA 

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

Sujets apparentés

Eleanor Bauer & Chris Peck

New Joy

performance musique

New Joy
New Joy

performance

je 30.05 - sa 01.06.19

Eleanor Bauer aime plaisanter avec les codes et les concepts de la danse contemporaine. Dans New Joy, elle affronte l’ère de la post-vérité : cette comédie musicale cyber-dadaïste transgresse les frontières de différents registres. Des allers-retours entre langage du corps, langage parlé et langage informatique, entre intelligence émotionnelle et artificielle, entre mouvement et son. Avec son complice, le compositeur Chris Peck, Bauer mise sur tous les sens dans une quête de sens et de significations cachées.

Ictus & Suzanne Vega

Einstein on the Beach

musique

Einstein on the Beach
Einstein on the Beach

musique

me 05.06.19

En 1976, le Festival d’Avignon a présenté la première de l’opéra légendaire Einstein on the Beach de Phillip Glass, Robert Wilson et Lucinda Childs. Pour cette nouvelle version concertante, l’ensemble Ictus unit ses forces avec le chœur Collegium Vocale Gent et la légende néo-folk Suzanne Vega. Cette fois, avec priorité à la composition musicale et à la musicalité du livret au cours d’une immersion sonore minimaliste et hypnotique de 200 minutes.