Rosas [BE]

Rosas danst Rosas

Rosas danst Rosas
Rosas danst Rosas

25.03 – 26.03.2011

In Early Works, four choreographic pieces by Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker will be shown in the space of three weeks. They are all among her earliest works, dating from 1982 to 1987: Fase, Four Movements to the Music of Steve Reich (1982), Rosas danst Rosas (1983), Elena’s Aria (1984) and Bartók/Mikrokosmos (1987). Elena’s Aria will be rerun for the first time since its creation, while the three other pieces have been on Rosas’ repertoire for some time. Anne Teresa herself will be one of the dancers in Fase and Elena’s Aria.

Rosas danst Rosas:  small naratives
In Rosas danst Rosas, the repetitiveness of music and movement initiated in Fase is developed even further. The music by Thierry De Mey and Peter Vermeersch was created simultaneously and in interaction with the choreography. Rosas danst Rosas consists of four dancers in rapport with one another and five chapters full of intense physical energy. The drive in this body machine is tempered by a series of ‘very familiar, everyday movements’: the abstraction then changes into a series of small, concrete emotional narratives which the spectator recognises and is moved by.


choreography Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker | danced by Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Sandra Ortega Bejarano, Tale Dolven, Elizaveta Penkóva, Sue-Yeon Youn | created by Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Adriana Borriello, Michèle Anne De Mey, Fumiyo Ikeda | music Thierry De Mey, Peter Vermeersch | musicians recording Thierry De Mey, Walter Hus, Eric Sleichim, Peter Vermeersch | light design Remon Fromont | costumes 1983: Rosas - rerun: Anne-Catherine Kunz | assistance during rehearsals Fumiyo Ikeda, Muriel Hérault, Femke Gyselinck | artistic assistant Anne Van Aerschot | production management Johan Penson assisted by Willem De Coster | technicians Jan Herinckx, Simo Reynders, Wannes De Rydt, Michael Smets | world premiere 06/05/1983, Kaaitheaterfestival - Théâtre de la Balsamine (Brussels) | production 1983 Rosas & Kaaitheater| co-production Early Works Rosas & Sadler's Wells (London) | co-presentation Rosas, De Munt/La Monnaie & Kaaitheater

Rosas [BE]

Rosas danst Rosas

Rosas danst Rosas
Rosas danst Rosas

25.03 – 26.03.2011

Le projet Early Works, étalé sur trois semaines, présente quatre chorégraphies des débuts d’Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, à savoir de la période 1982-1987 : Fase, Four Movements to the Music of Steve Reich (1982), Rosas danst Rosas (1983), Elena’s Aria (1984) et Bartók/Mikrokosmos (1987). Elena’s Aria est repris pour la première fois depuis sa création ; les trois autres spectacles appartiennent depuis longtemps au répertoire de Rosas. Anne Teresa en personne danse dans Fase et Elena’s Aria.

Rosas danst Rosas : petits récits
Dans Rosas danst Rosas, la répétitivité de la musique et du mouvement, amorcé dans Fase, est plus amplement développée. Thierry De Mey et Peter Vermeersch ont composé la musique simultanément et en interaction avec la chorégraphie. Rosas danst Rosas, ce sont quatre danseuses très complices et cinq chapitres débordant d’intense énergie physique. Dans cette machine de corps, l’énergie est tempérée par une série de mouvements quotidiens très reconnaissables : l’abstraction se transforme alors en une gamme de petits récits émotionnels concrets que le spectateur reconnaît et qui le touche.


choreography Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker | danced by Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Sandra Ortega Bejarano, Tale Dolven, Elizaveta Penkóva, Sue-Yeon Youn | created by Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Adriana Borriello, Michèle Anne De Mey, Fumiyo Ikeda | music Thierry De Mey, Peter Vermeersch | musicians recording Thierry De Mey, Walter Hus, Eric Sleichim, Peter Vermeersch | light design Remon Fromont | costumes 1983: Rosas - rerun: Anne-Catherine Kunz | assistance during rehearsals Fumiyo Ikeda, Muriel Hérault, Femke Gyselinck | artistic assistant Anne Van Aerschot | production management Johan Penson assisted by Willem De Coster | technicians Jan Herinckx, Simo Reynders, Wannes De Rydt, Michael Smets | world premiere 06/05/1983, Kaaitheaterfestival - Théâtre de la Balsamine (Brussels) | production 1983 Rosas & Kaaitheater| co-production Early Works Rosas & Sadler's Wells (London) | co-presentation Rosas, De Munt/La Monnaie & Kaaitheater