tg STAN [BE]

QUE SERA SERA HITCHCOCK TRUFFAUT CAVETT GODARD POUR QUI POUR QUOI

QUE SERA SERA
QUE SERA SERA

16.10 – 19.10.2019

In this new production, Damiaan De Schrijver, Bert Haelvoet and Matthias de Koning are moving into the medium of film. Where do film and theatre coalesce? Where do they clash and where do they enhance one another? Their exploration of these questions is based on a variety of source material, such as the interviews that Alfred Hitchcock gave to the likes of François Truffaut and Jean-Luc Godard. This is not a comparative study.

QUE SERA SERA brings together three generations of actors. Matthias de Koning was once the teacher of Damiaan De Schrijver, and Bert Haelvoet is in turn following in the latter’s footsteps. Just like Truffaut was a pupil of Hitchcock.

 

TIMELINE

In 1962, François Truffaut spent a week interviewing Alfred Hitchcock.
In 1966, the book Le Cinéma selon Alfred Hitchcock was finally completed.
In 1983, a year before his death, Truffaut published the definitive version.
In 2000, for the first time Belgian film director Guido Henderickx told Damiaan De Schrijver why he considers this book to be his film bible. The seed was planted.
In 2015, the documentary Hitchcock/Truffaut was released, in which filmmakers emphasize the importance of the book and of Hitchcock’s work.
In 2019, Damiaan De Schrijver, Bert Haelvoet and Matthias de Koning attempt to turn this iconic reference work into a theatre production.

It all began with breaking the ice. In the winter of 1955, Truffaut – who was then still a film critic – conducted his first interview with Hitchcock for ‘Cahiers du cinéma’. Truffaut, who was movie-crazy and incredibly nervous about meeting his idol, fell through the ice of a frozen pond just before the interview was supposed to take place. Years later, Hitchcock would say about this:
“Every time I see ice cubes clicking together in a glass of whisky, I think of you.”


een voorstelling van Bert Haelvoet & Damiaan De Schrijver in samenwerking met Matthias de Koning | tekst naar o.a. Le Cinéma selon Alfred Hitchcock van François Truffaut | techniek Tim Wouters |  kostuums Elisabeth Michiels | productie tg STAN

Related content

tg STAN & Kloppend Hert

Move (on)

theatre

Move (on)
Move (on)

theatre

Thu 13.02 - Sat 15.02.20

In their search for Arabic literature, tg STAN sought and found allies at the Nomadic Arts Centre Moussem, and among the theatremakers of Kloppend Hert, the company led by Haider Al Timimi. Eight performers go in search of answers to questions that are essential to them, in a cross-border space where multiple influences can blend into one whole. But it begins at the beginning: an open forum and conversation.

tg STAN [BE]

QUE SERA SERA HITCHCOCK TRUFFAUT CAVETT GODARD POUR QUI POUR QUOI

QUE SERA SERA
QUE SERA SERA

16.10 – 19.10.2019

Pour ce nouveau spectacle, Damiaan De Schrijver, Bert Haelvoet et Matthias de Koning s’aventurent sur le terrain du cinéma. Où se rencontrent le théâtre et le cinéma ? Où s’affrontent-ils et où se consolident-ils ? Une multitude de matériaux sources – comme l’interview qu’Alfred Hitchcock a accordée, entre autres, à François Truffaut et à Jean-Luc Godard – forme leur point de départ. Mais ce n’est pas une étude comparative !

QUE SERA SERA réunit trois générations d’acteurs. Matthias de Koning a été le maître de Damiaan De Schrijver, et à présent, Bert Haelvoet suit son sillage. De même que Truffaut avait trouvé un maître en Hitchcock.

Frise chronologique

En 1962, François Truffaut passe une semaine à interviewer Alfred Hitchcock.
En 1966, l’ouvrage Le Cinéma selon Alfred Hitchcock paraît enfin.
En 1983, un an avant sa mort, Truffaut publie la version définitive.
En 2000, le cinéaste belge Guido Henderickx raconte une première fois à Damiaan De Schrijver pourquoi il considère cet ouvrage comme sa bible du cinéma. La graine est plantée.
En 2015, le documentaire Hitchcock/Truffaut sort. Des cinéastes y soulignent l’importance de l’ouvrage et de l’œuvre de Hitchcock.
En 2019, Damiaan De Schrijver, Bert Haelvoet et Matthias de Koning tentent de distiller un spectacle de théâtre à partir de cet ouvrage de référence.

Tout commence par la glace brisée. Au cours de l’hiver 1955, Truffaut – encore en sa qualité de critique de cinéma – peut interviewer Hitchcock une première fois pour la revue Cahiers du cinéma. Peu de temps avant, le cinéphile Truffaut, très nerveux à l’idée de rencontrer son idole, tombe dans un petit étang gelé dont la glace se brise. Des années plus tard, Hitchcock dit à ce propos :
« Chaque fois que je me sers un whisky avec des glaçons, je pense à vous. »

 


een voorstelling van Bert Haelvoet & Damiaan De Schrijver in samenwerking met Matthias de Koning | tekst naar o.a. Le Cinéma selon Alfred Hitchcock van François Truffaut | techniek Tim Wouters |  kostuums Elisabeth Michiels | productie tg STAN

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

There's more

tg STAN & Kloppend Hert

Move (on)

théâtre

Move (on)
Move (on)

théâtre

je 13.02 - sa 15.02.20

Les fondements de Move (on) sont, entre autres, les dialogues du comédien anglais Dennis Kelly, un grondement sourd qui exprime le sentiment de malaise de notre société au-dessus duquel s’élèveront des voix comme celle de personnages de l’écrivain égyptien Alaa El Aswani. Les voix s’entremêlent à des textes du poète palestinien Mahmoud Darwish ou de l’auteur dramatique syrien Saadallad Wannous, des flambées d’espoir sauvage et en même temps des expressions d’impuissance collective.