A Kitchen Broadcast Dinner

Pushing for Historical Transformations Somewhere in Between the Maghreb, Paris & Brussels

Pushing for Historical Transformations
Pushing for Historical Transformations

14.01.2021

Kitchen Broadcast is an online radio broadcast curated by Joachim Ben Yakoub and Reem Shilleh. In the presence of Hela Yousfi, Mohamed Toukabri, and Nidhal Chamekh, this Kitchen Broadcast Dinner proposes to critically reflect on postcolonial critiques, and to push for historical transformations – somewhere in between the Maghreb, Paris and Brussels.

Exactly ten years ago, on December 2010, Tunis set the world on fire. From the Kasbah and Tahrir, to Plaza del Sol and Syntagma square, to the center of capital in Wall Street, the whole world was occupied by a sense of indignation. While the demands for freedom were easily met through cosmetic democratic reforms, the demands for bread and dignity are still left unanswered. However, globalized authoritarianism fueled by police violence, racism and islamophobia, seems again on the rise, also in Europe.

Contrary to Brussels and Paris, decolonization is not (yet) a metaphor in the Maghreb. After almost a century and a half of colonial domination, and six decades of postcolonial rule, and now ten years of revolt, decolonial demands in the Maghreb may today at first sound outdated, at best anachronistic. Its current timid resurgence in the discourses of a diasporic minority however, is witness to a possible revitalization. High time for an in-depth conversation.

 


with Hela Yousfi, Mohamed Toukabri & Nidhal Chamekh | musical selection by Sofyann Ben Youssef | a project by The Kitchen | produced by Kaaitheater

There's more

A Kitchen Broadcast Dinner | Pushing for Historical Transformations

A Kitchen Broadcast Dinner | Pushing for Historical Transformations
A Kitchen Broadcast Dinner | Pushing for Historical Transformations

Audio

Thu 18.02.21

Kitchen Broadcast is an online radio broadcast curated by Joachim Ben Yakoub and Reem Shilleh. In the presence of Hela Yousfi, Mohamed Toukabri, and Nidhal Chamekh, this Kitchen Broadcast Dinner proposes to critically reflect on postcolonial critiques, and to push for historical transformations – somewhere in between the Maghreb, Paris and Brussels.

A Kitchen Broadcast Dinner

Pushing for Historical Transformations Somewhere in Between the Maghreb, Paris & Brussels

Pushing for Historical Transformations
Pushing for Historical Transformations

14.01.2021

Kitchen Broadcast est une émission radio en ligne programmée par Joachim Ben Yakoub et Reem Shilleh. Avec la participation de Hela Yousfi, Mohamed Toukabri et Nidhal Chamekh, ce dîner Kitchen Broadcast propose une réflexion critique sur les remises en question postcoloniales et la promotion de transformations historiques – quelque part entre le Maghreb, Paris et Bruxelles.

Il y a précisément dix ans, en décembre 2010, la Tunisie a embrasé le monde. De la Kasbah de Tunis à la place Tahir du Caire, de la plaza del Sol à Madrid à la place Syntagma à Athènes au centre du monde capitaliste de Wall Street, la terre entière était « occupée » par n sentiment d’indignation. Alors que les demandes de liberté ont été aisément satisfaites par des réformes démocratiques cosmétiques, les demandes de pain et de dignité restent lettre morte. Toutefois, l’autoritarisme mondial, alimenté par des violences policières, du racisme et de l’islamophobie paraît progresser, également en Europe.

Contrairement à Bruxelles et à Paris, la décolonisation n’est pas (encore) une métaphore au Maghreb. Après près d’un siècle et demi de domination coloniale, six décennies de gouvernance postcoloniale et à présent dix ans de révoltes au Maghreb, les demandes décoloniales peuvent y sembler caduques de prime abord, au mieux anachroniques. Néanmoins leur timide résurgence actuelle dans les discours d’une minorité diasporique témoigne d’une possible reviviscence. Il est grand temps de mener une discussion en profondeur.


with Hela Yousfi, Mohamed Toukabri & Nidhal Chamekh | musical selection by Sofyann Ben Youssef | a project by The Kitchen | produced by Kaaitheater