Nature Theater of Oklahoma & EnKnapGroup [US, SI]

Pursuit of Happiness

Pursuit of Happiness
Pursuit of Happiness

02.03 – 03.03.2018

Bizarre, painful, hilarious

According to the American Declaration of Independence, the pursuit of happiness is one of the three inalienable rights with which we are all imbued at birth. But what is happiness? In what dark and remote corners do we have to crawl individually and collectively to find it? Could it be the end of a Hollywood blockbuster, however surprising and inappropriate? Pavol Liska and Kelly Copper spent a year working with the EnKnapGroup, an international dance company from Ljubljana, which is performing with text for the first time, rather than only dancing. Together, they have created a bizarre, painful and hilarious horror comedy about voracious expansion in the Wild West and all the violence that ensued as a result.

• The New York-based Nature Theater of Oklahoma acquired global fame with epic performances like No Dice and Life & Times­ 1-8, and since 2008 they have been a regular fixture on the Kaaitheater programme. The permanent group of actors with whom Pavol Liska and Kelly Copper had been collaborating recently went separate ways. The pair of directors decided to return to their early years, and to collaborate with different groups of ‘non-actors’ for each performance.

Pursuit of Happiness generates an orgy of images, memories and emotions in the heads and the hearts of the audience.’ – De Theaterkrant ★★★★


authors Pavol Liska, Kelly Copper | created and performed by EnKnapGroup: Luke Thomas Dunne (Great Britain), Ida Hellsten (Sweden), Bence Mezei (Hungary), Lada Petrovski Ternovšek (Croatia), Jeffrey Schoenaers (Belgium), Ana Štefanec (Slovenia) | light design Luka Curk | costume design Katarina Škaper | costumes by Atelje d.o.o. | rehearsal director for EnKnapGroup Tanja Skok  | stage manager Luka Curk | technical realisation Španski Borci/EN-KNAP Technical Team | photography and video Andrej Lamut | executive producer Karmen Keržar | public relations and editing Nina Smerkol | Španski Borci Cultural Centre director/EN-KNAP Productions programme manager & head of productions Marjeta Lavrič | EN-KNAP Productions managing director/Španski Borci Cultural Centre artistic director Iztok Kovač | production EN-KNAP Productions | co-production Théâtre de la Ville, steirischer herbst | supported by The U.S. Embassy in Ljubljana | EN-KNAP Productions is financially supported by City of Ljubljana – Department of Culture and Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Slovenia | presented by EN-KNAP

Nature Theater of Oklahoma & EnKnapGroup [US, SI]

Pursuit of Happiness

Pursuit of Happiness
Pursuit of Happiness

02.03 – 03.03.2018

Bizarre, poignant, désopilant

Selon la Déclaration d’Indépendance des États-Unis, la recherche du bonheur – the pursuit of happiness – est un des trois droits inaliénables inhérents à chaque être humain, dès qu’il voit le jour. Mais qu’est donc le bonheur ? Dans quels recoins obscurs et reculés faut-il se rendre individuellement et collectivement pour le trouver ? Pourrait-ce être, de manière aussi surprenante qu’inappropriée, l’épilogue d’une superproduction hollywoodienne ? Pavol Liska et Kelly Copper ont travaillé un an durant avec la compagnie de danse internationale de Ljubljana, EnKnapGroup, qui interprète pour la première fois un spectacle avec du texte et pas uniquement de la danse. Ensemble, ils créent une comédie d’épouvante bizarre, poignante et désopilante sur la conquête de l’Ouest – et toute la violence qui est allée de pair.

• La compagnie de théâtre new-yorkaise Nature Theater of Oklahoma s’est forgé une réputation internationale avec ses spectacles épiques comme, entre autres, No Dice et Life & Times 1-8. Depuis 2008, NTO représente une valeur sûre de la programmation du Kaaitheater. Le noyau dur d’acteurs avec lequel Pavol Liska et Kelly Copper ont créé la légende s’est récemment séparé. Le duo de créateurs a décidé de revenir à ses débuts et de collaborer chaque fois avec un autre groupe de « non-acteurs ».

« Pursuit of Happiness suscite une orgie d’images, de souvenirs et d’émotions dans le cœur et dans l’esprit du spectateur. » – De Theaterkrant ★★★★


written and directed by Pavol Liska, Kelly Copper | performed by EnKnapGroup: Ida Hellsten (Sweden), Bence Mezei (Hungary), Lada Petrovski Ternovšek (Croatia), Jeffrey Schoenaers (Belgium), Ana Štefanec Knez (Slovenia), Gilles Noël (Belgium) | production EN-KNAP Productions | co-production Théâtre de la Ville, steirischer herbst | lighting design Luka Curk | costume design Katarina Škaper | costumes by Atelje d.o.o. | rehearsal director for EnKnapGroup Nohemi Barriuso | stage manager Luka Curk | technical realization Španski Borci/EN-KNAP Technical Team | photography and video Andrej Lamut | executive producer Karmen Keržar | public relations and editing Nina Smerkol | Španski Borci Cultural Centre Director, EN-KNAP Productions - Programme Manager and Head of Productions Marjeta Lavrič | EN-KNAP Productions Managing Director, Španski Borci Cultural Centre Artistic Director Iztok Kovač | supported by The U.S. Embassy in Ljubljana The programme of EN-KNAP Productions is financially supported by: City of Ljubljana – Department of Culture and Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Slovenia