Kris Verdonck / A Two Dogs Company, Annelies Van Parys & ICTUS

PREY

PREY
PREY

25.03 – 26.03.2023

“We are food”
The eye of the crocodile by Val Plumwood 

How can we rethink being human from a radical ecological perspective? What stories can help us grapple with the disruptions of the climate crises? These questions lie at the basis of PREY, consisting of three solos by three generations of women. All three offer a different perspective on the same theme,  via a different medium – text/speech, song/music or dance/performance. Be prepared to delve into a scenography in which humans do not play the main role. Can we find consolation in the horrific fact that we are food and that we belong to an ecological cycle of life and death? 

The starting point for this quest is the life and work of the Australian ecofeminist Val Plumwood (1936-2008). After surviving a deadly attack by a saltwater crocodile during a canoe trip, she was one of the first to call for a new humility by reinserting the human into the food chain, and placing death center stage. Hereby she forms an important yet often overlooked reference for contemporary writers such as Donna Haraway. The performance PREY takes off from this story, confronting us with a friction between figures who cannot but see themselves as the center in an environment that keeps pushing them away from that position.   

• As a director, Kris Verdonck explores the intersections of the visual arts, theatre, performance and architecture. He found beauty in the catastrophic in Conversations (at the end of the world) (2017) and Untitled (2016). With PREY, Kris Verdonck continues a trajectory in his work around a world in which humankind disappears into the background. Composer Annelies Van Parys has brought her compositions to Kaaitheater before in The Diary of One Who Disappeared (2017). The Brussels music ensemble ICTUS is a fixture in the Kaaitheater programme. 


presented by Théâtre Varia, Klarafestival & Kaaitheater

direction & concept Kris Verdonck | composition Annelies Van Parys | Ictus line-up Aurélie Entringer, viola; Gerrit Nulens, percussion; Tom Pauwels, electric guitar; Michael Schmid, flutes | performers Katelijne Damen, actrice; Anna Clare Hauf, zangeres; Mooni Van Tichel, danseres | light design Luc Schaltin | dramaturgy Kristof van Baarle | costumes Eefje Wijnings | production A Two Dogs Company / Muziektheater Transparant | co-productie Klarafestival, Theater Rotterdam (for ACT: Art, Climate & Transition - Creative Europe project) & Perpodium | in collaboration with Théâtre Varia & Kaaitheater | with the support of Tax Shelter stelsel van de Belgische Federale Overheid, Vlaamse Gemeenschap, Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie

Kris Verdonck / A Two Dogs Company, Annelies Van Parys & ICTUS

PREY

PREY
PREY

25.03 – 26.03.2023

« Nous sommes de la nourriture »
— The eye of the crocodile de Val Plumwood
 

Comment pouvons-nous repenser l'être humain dans une perspective écologique radicale ? Quelles histoires peuvent nous aider à affronter les bouleversements des crises climatiques ? Ces questions sont à la base de PREY, composé de trois solos réalisés par trois générations de femmes. Tous trois proposent une perspective différente sur le même thème, par le biais d'un médium différent - texte/parole, chanson/musique ou danse/performance. Préparez-vous à plonger dans une scénographie dans laquelle l’être humain ne joue pas le rôle principal. Pouvons-nous trouver une source de consolation dans l’horrible constat que nous sommes des aliments et que nous faisons partie intégrante d’un cycle écologique de vie et de mort ?

Le point de départ de cette quête est la vie et l'œuvre de l'écoféministe australienne Val Plumwood (1936-2008). Après avoir survécu à l'attaque mortelle d'un crocodile d'eau salée lors d'une excursion en canoë, elle a été l'une des premières à appeler à une nouvelle humilité en réinsérant l'humain dans la chaîne alimentaire et en plaçant la mort au centre de la scène. Elle constitue ainsi une référence importante, mais souvent négligée, pour des auteur·ices contemporain·es tel·les que Donna Haraway. Le spectacle PREY s'inspire de cette histoire et nous confronte à une friction entre des personnages qui ne peuvent que se considérer comme le centre dans un environnement qui ne cesse de les éloigner de cette position.

• En tant que metteur en scène, Kris Verdonck explore les intersections entre les arts visuels, le théâtre, la performance et l'architecture. Il a trouvé la beauté dans le catastrophisme dans Conversations (at the end of the world) (2017) et Untitled (2016). Avec PREY, Kris Verdonck poursuit une trajectoire dans son travail autour d'un monde dans lequel l'humanité disparaît à l'arrière-plan. La compositrice Annelies Van Parys a déjà présenté ses compositions au Kaaitheater dans The Diary of One Who Disappeared (2017). L'ensemble musical bruxellois ICTUS fait partie intégrante du programme du Kaaitheater.


presented by Théâtre Varia, Klarafestival & Kaaitheater

direction & concept Kris Verdonck | composition Annelies Van Parys | Ictus line-up Aurélie Entringer, viola; Gerrit Nulens, percussion; Tom Pauwels, electric guitar; Michael Schmid, flutes | performers Katelijne Damen, actrice; Anna Clare Hauf, zangeres; Mooni Van Tichel, danseres | light design Luc Schaltin | dramaturgy Kristof van Baarle | costumes Eefje Wijnings | production A Two Dogs Company / Muziektheater Transparant | co-productie Klarafestival, Theater Rotterdam (for ACT: Art, Climate & Transition - Creative Europe project) & Perpodium | in collaboration with Théâtre Varia & Kaaitheater | with the support of Tax Shelter stelsel van de Belgische Federale Overheid, Vlaamse Gemeenschap, Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie