Patrícia Portela [PT/BE]

Parasomnia - Late Night

21.12.2017

18:00 → 00:00 
Late night opening Parasomnia

19:00
Artist talk with Patrícia Portela

20:00 → ... 
Sleeping Supper - food by chef Annick Gernaey

 

What does it mean to abandon yourself to sleep in a society which considers it to be an inevitable illness? Patrícia Portela invites you to an installation of four rooms, which you walk through one by one. You pass a series of paintings, images that pass you by almost unnoticed. While listening to 1001 stories, you are enticed to fall asleep – or perhaps to wake up.

Portela based this work on the uncompleted essay On Sleeping, Waking and the Absence of Dreams (1890) by Acácio Nobre, and on his reflections on the research of two 19th-century neuro-anatomists into the sleep of birds. Parasomnia promotes the ‘production of melatonin’, and the ‘appropriate vapours of somnolence for the induction of a regenerative sleep and lucid dreams’.

• Patrícia Portela is the author and theatre director of, among others, The Private Collection of Acácio Nobre, which she presented at Performatik11.


concept, text & space Patrícia Portela | moving image post-production irmãlucia visual effects | soundscape Christoph de Boeck | voices Célia Fechas & guests | violin player Elisabeth Drouwé | food & beverages foodlovers companie/Annick Gernaey | jewelry Alda Salavisa | design benches João Gonçalves | execution benches Leonel & Bicho

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

Related content

Patrícia Portela

Parasomnia

exhibition installation

Parasomnia
Parasomnia

exhibition

Tue 19.12 - Thu 21.12.17

What does it mean to abandon yourself to sleep in a society which considers it to be an inevitable illness? Patrícia Portela invites you to an installation of four rooms, which you walk through one by one. You pass a series of paintings, images that pass you by almost unnoticed. While listening to 1001 stories, you are enticed to fall asleep – or perhaps to wake up.

VIDEO: Artist talk with Patrícia Portela

VIDEO: Artist talk with Patrícia Portela
VIDEO: Artist talk with Patrícia Portela

Video

Thu 01.02.18

Patrícia Portela in conversation with Pieter T'Jonck on Parasomnia.

Patrícia Portela [PT/BE]

Parasomnia - Late Night

21.12.2017

18:00 → 00:00 
Late night opening Parasomnia

19:00
Artist talk with Patrícia Portela

20:00 → ... 
Sleeping Supper - food by chef Annick Gernaey

Que signifie « s’abandonner au sommeil » dans une société qui le considère comme une maladie inévitable ? Patrícia Portela nous invite dans une installation composée de quatre espaces en enfilade, à traverser un à un. Une série de tableaux défilent, des images se fondent quasi sans qu’on s’en aperçoive. En écoutant 1001 histoires, on est tenté de sombrer dans le sommeil – ou au contraire de rester éveillé.

Portela a pris pour point de départ l’essai inachevé d’Acácio Nobre À propos de sommeil, de veille et d’absence de rêves (1890) et ses réflexions sur la recherche de deux neuro-anatomistes du XIXe siècle sur le sommeil des oiseaux. Parasomnia souhaite stimuler la sécrétion de mélatonine, à l’instar des « vapeurs soporifiques appropriées pour l’induction d’un sommeil régénérant et de rêves lucides ».

• Patrícia Portela est auteure et créatrice de théâtre. Elle a réalisé, entre autres, The Private Collection of Acácio Nobre, que l’on a pu voir lors de Performatik11.


concept, text & space Patrícia Portela | moving image post-production irmãlucia visual effects | soundscape Christoph de Boeck | voices Célia Fechas & guests | violin player Elisabeth Drouwé | food & beverages foodlovers companie/Annick Gernaey | jewelry Alda Salavisa | design benches João Gonçalves | execution benches Leonel & Bicho

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

Sujets apparentés

Patrícia Portela

Parasomnia

expo installation

Parasomnia
Parasomnia

expo

ma 19.12 - je 21.12.17

Que signifie « s’abandonner au sommeil » dans une société qui le considère comme une maladie inévitable ? Patrícia Portela nous invite dans une installation composée de quatre espaces en enfilade, à traverser un à un. Une série de tableaux défilent, des images se fondent quasi sans qu’on s’en aperçoive. En écoutant 1001 histoires, on est tenté de sombrer dans le sommeil – ou au contraire de rester éveillé.

VIDEO: Artist talk avec Patrícia Portela

VIDEO: Artist talk avec Patrícia Portela
VIDEO: Artist talk avec Patrícia Portela

Video

je 01.02.18

Patrícia Portela en conversation avec Pieter T'Jonck par rapport à Parasomnia.