Erik Thys, the vacuum cleaner, Hannah Hull & Inne Goris [UK, BE]

On Creativity, Psychiatric Vulnerability, and Madlove

On Creativity, Psychiatric Vulnerability, and Madlove
On Creativity, Psychiatric Vulnerability, and Madlove

23.02.2018

Creativity appears to be a typically human talent, even a feature that defines humanity. But not all human beings are equally creative. Who are the ones with ‘big C’ creativity? What is at the core of creative thinking? Could it be that creative sensibility and psychiatric vulnerability are two sides of the same medal? That fruitful minds are also fragile minds? These questions are explored during a debate with psychiatrist Erik Thys, The vacuum cleaner and Hannah Hull (discussing their MadLove-project) and director Inne Goris (presenting Huis, the week before). The evening starts with a keynote lecture by Erik Thys based on scientific evidence, musings about society and culture, and many examples.

Moderated by Julie Rodeyns

• Erik Thys is a psychiatrist affiliated with the UPC KU Leuven and PSC St.-Alexius in Elsene. He is specialized in psychosis, creativity and stigma, and is the director of the non-profit KAOS, which develops artistic projects with a link to psychiatry.

Related content

the vacuum cleaner

Madlove

workshop

Madlove
Madlove

workshop

Tue 20.02.18

The vacuum cleaner is joining forces with artist Hannah Hull, and together they are inviting you to a workshop about mental health and the psychiatric institution of the future. How can we better understand the power relationships between patients and staff?

the vacuum cleaner

Mental

theatre

Mental
Mental

theatre

Thu 22.02 - Sat 24.02.18

The Police calls him a Domestic Extremist. The National Health Service has labelled him ‘highly disturbed’ and borderline. He prefers the term Mental. After spending 14 years as an outlaw and in-patient, artist and activist the vacuum cleaner shares an autobiographical performance told through his psychiatric records and police files.

Inne Goris/LOD muziektheater & HETPALEIS

Huis (8+)

installation theatre

Huis (8+)
Huis (8+)

installation

Thu 15.02 - Fri 16.02.18

As soon as you walk into House, you will discover things that usually remain hidden behind façades. Wearing headphones, you can explore the space at your own pace. Inne Goris has created a deeply personal installation/production for both adults and children about the dark corners of life. And about how everyone tries to deal with them in their own way.

Erik Thys, the vacuum cleaner, Hannah Hull & Inne Goris [UK, BE]

On Creativity, Psychiatric Vulnerability, and Madlove

On Creativity, Psychiatric Vulnerability, and Madlove
On Creativity, Psychiatric Vulnerability, and Madlove

23.02.2018

La créativité paraît être un talent typiquement humain, voire une caractéristique qui définit l’humanité. Cependant, tous les êtres humains n’ont pas le même degré de créativité. Qui sont ceux que l’on peut qualifier de créatifs avec un C majuscule ? La sensibilité créative et la fragilité psychiatrique pourraient-elles être les deux faces de la même médaille ? Les esprits fertiles sont-ils aussi des esprits vulnérables ? Le débat qui réunit le psychiatre Erik Thys, The Vacuum Cleaner et Hannah Hull (qui évoquent leur projet MadLove) et la metteuse en scène Inne Goris (qui a présenté son spectacle Huis la semaine précédente) explore ces questions. La soirée commence par un exposé d’Erik Thys composé de faits scientifiques prouvés, de considérations sur la société et la culture et de multiples exemples illustratifs.

Le débat sera modéré par Julie Rodeyns.

• Le psychiatre Erik Thys est rattaché au Centre psychiatrique universitaire de la KULeuven et au Centre psycho-social St-Alexius à Ixelles. Il est spécialiste des psychoses, de la créativité et des stigmates. Il est en outre président de l’asbl KAOS où sont développés des projets artistiques en lien avec la psychiatrie.

Sujets apparentés

the vacuum cleaner

Madlove

workshop

Madlove
Madlove

workshop

ma 20.02.18

the vacuum cleaner et l’artiste Hannah Hull nous invitent à un atelier autour de la santé mentale et du centre psychiatrique du futur. Comment mieux comprendre les rapports de force entre patients et personnel soignant ?

the vacuum cleaner

Mental

théâtre

Mental
Mental

théâtre

je 22.02 - sa 24.02.18

Pour la police, il s’agit d’un « extrémiste domestique », les services de santé le qualifient de « hautement dérangé » et de borderline, lui préfère le terme de « timbré ». Après avoir passé 14 ans comme hors-la-loi et patient interné, l’artiste et militant connu comme the vacuum cleaner partage un spectacle autobiographique raconté à travers ses dossiers psychiatriques et les rapports de police.

Inne Goris/LOD muziektheater & HETPALEIS

Huis (8+)

installation théâtre

Huis (8+)
Huis (8+)

installation

je 15.02 - ve 16.02.18

Dès qu’on entre dans Huis, on découvre ce qui est en général dissimulé derrière les façades. À l’aide d’écouteurs, on peut explorer les lieux à sa guise et à son rythme. Inne Goris crée des installations-spectacles extrêmement personnelles, pour adultes et enfants, sur les aspects obscurs de la vie. Et sur la façon dont chacun y réagit à sa manière.