tg STAN [BE]

Nora

Nora
Nora

07.06 – 08.06.2013

The Norwegian playwright Henrik Ibsen published Nora (A Doll’s House) in 1879. He presents us with a sharply critical picture of the traditional roles of husband and wife in 19th-century marriage, and it caused quite a stir in Europe at the time.

In the play Nora Helmer awakens from her comfortable existence as wife and housewife. When her marriage is put to the test, she begins to doubt everything she has always believed in. Moreover, viewed through 21st-century eyes,

Nora is a chilling analysis of present-day husband and wife relationships. Tg STAN makes Nora into a fascinating story of moral condescension and social hypocrisy, but it is also a subtle critique of consumerism in the Europe of 2012.

STAN players Jolente De Keersmaeker and Frank Vercruyssen are playing Nora with Wine Dierickx (Wunderbaum) and the Portuguese actor Tiago Rodrigues.

Nora has been selected for the 2013 Theaterfestival and will return to Brussels on 29/8/2013.

• Tg STAN was founded in 1989 by four actors who all graduated from the Antwerp Conservatoire at the same time. Since its inception, STAN has always focused on the central role of the actor. In its hybrid – but always socially critical – repertoire, Cocteau and Anouilh take their place alongside Chekhov, Ibsen and Bernhard and comedies by Wilde or Shaw alongside essays by Diderot. The group performs not only in Dutch, but also goes on international tours with French and English versions of their plays, and even creates new works in other languages. Examples include Berenice which premiered in Lisbon, Les Antigones in Toulouse and L'avantage du doute in Paris.

 


text ‘A Doll’s House’ by Henrik Ibsen | by & with Wine Dierickx, Jolente De Keersmaeker, Tiago Rodrigues, Frank Vercruyssen | light design Thomas Walgrave | costumes An d’Huys | production & technique tg STAN | co-production Teatro Maria Matos (Lisboa), Kaaitheater

A House on Fire co-production; with the support of the Culture Programme of the European Union

tg STAN [BE]

Nora

Nora
Nora

07.06 – 08.06.2013

L’auteur dramatique norvégien Henrik Ibsen publie Nora (La maison de poupées) en 1879. Il y brosse un tableau profondément critique du rôle traditionnel réservé à l’homme et à la femme dans l’union matrimoniale du XIXe siècle et suscite ainsi l’émoi dans l’Europe de l’époque.

Dans la pièce, Nora Helmer sort de la léthargie de son existence confortable d’épouse et de mère de famille. Quand son mariage est mis à rude épreuve, cette femme dominée toute sa vie durant par son père ou son époux, Torvald, se met à douter de tout ce dont elle a été convaincue à ce jour.

Même à travers notre regard du XXIe siècle, Nora demeure une analyse cinglante des relations actuelles entre hommes et femmes. Tg Stan fait de Nora une histoire passionnante sur la condescendance morale et l’hypocrisie sociale, mais aussi une critique subtile de la société de consommation qu’est l’Europe de 2012.

Nora a été sélectionné pour le Theaterfestival 2013. Le spectacle sera de nouveau à l’affiche à Bruxelles le 29/8/2013.

• Tg STAN voit le jour en 1989, fondée par quatre comédiens ayant étudié ensemble au Conservatoire d’Anvers. Dès le début, la compagnie choisit de placer le comédien au cœur du processus créatif. Dans son répertoire hybride mais invariablement critique de la société, les pièces de Cocteau et d’Anouilh alternent avec celles de Tchekhov, Bernhard et Ibsen, en passant par des comédies de Wilde et de Shaw ou des essais de Diderot. La compagnie ne se produit pas qu’en néerlandais, mais interprète – voire crée – aussi des versions françaises et anglaises de ses pièces. Ainsi, la première de Bérénice a eu lieu à Lisbonne, celle des Antigones à Toulouse et celle de L’avantage du doute à Paris, etc.

Les comédiens de tg STAN Jolente De Keersmaeker et Frank Vercruyssen jouent Nora avec Wine Dierickx (Wunderbaum) et le Portugais Tiago Rodrigues.


text ‘A Doll’s House’ by Henrik Ibsen | by & with Wine Dierickx, Jolente De Keersmaeker, Tiago Rodrigues, Frank Vercruyssen | light design Thomas Walgrave | costumes An d’Huys | production & technique tg STAN | co-production Teatro Maria Matos (Lisboa), Kaaitheater

A House on Fire co-production; with the support of the Culture Programme of the European Union