PARTS [BE]

New Works # 2

New Works # 2
New Works # 2

11.06.2010

A new generation of choreographers and dancers have their noses pressed against the glass: 24 students from 12 countries are graduating from PARTS, the school of dance headed by Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker. During the last two years of their training, the emphasis has been on creative investigation and creating their own work, and guest choreographers have devised new creations for the students. A selection of this work will be presented in an international tour which passes by the Kaaitheater in June.
  
Three programmes are devoted to the students’ own creations, ranging from solos to quartets. Although the content of the programmes will only be announced in May, they will represent an extremely varied view of what is currently called dance. The programme will comprise about a dozen items, spread over three nights.
  
The fourth programme is a new version of Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker’s Drumming (1998), a milestone in Rosas’ oeuvre and with music by Steve Reich. Like the music, the dance flows from a single phrase of movement that is explored for an hour in endless combinations, variations and transformations. For three months the students have worked on a new version of the work, guided by Marta Coronado, Jakub Truszkowski and Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker herself.

PROGRAMME:

It’s not what but how
by Jonathan Pranlas | with Jonathan Pranlas en Petra Van Gompel

The time-lapse opera
by/with Cecilia Lisa Eliceche, Elisa Yvelin

Trash talk
by/with Salka Ardal Rosengren, Mikko Hyvönen

INTERMISSION

Being together without any voice
by Daniel Linehan | with Daniel Linehan, Anne Pajunen, Noé Soulier, Anna K. Whaley

PARTS [BE]

New Works # 2

New Works # 2
New Works # 2

11.06.2010

Une nouvelle génération de chorégraphes et de danseurs s’annonce : 24 étudiants originaires de 12 pays achèvent leur formation à PARTS, l’école de danse contemporaine dirigée par Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker. Les deux dernières années de la formation mettent l’accent sur l’analyse créative et la création d’une œuvre personnelle. En outre, des chorégraphes invités conçoivent des pièces pour les étudiants. Une sélection de toutes ces créations est présentée lors d’une tournée internationale.
  
Trois programmes sont consacrés à la propre création des étudiants, allant de solos à des quatuors. La composition des programmes ne sera révélée qu’en mai, mais on peut d’ores et déjà affirmer qu’il s’agira d’une palette particulièrement variée de ce qui est/peut être qualifié de danse à l’heure actuelle. Le programme comprend une dizaine de pièces, répartie sur trois soirées.
  
Le quatrième programme est une nouvelle version du spectacle Drumming (1998), d’Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, un point de référence du répertoire de Rosas, sur une musique de Steve Reich. À l’instar de la musique, la danse découle d’une seule phrase de mouvement, exploré une heure durant à travers une infinité de combinaisons, variantes et transformations. Les étudiants travaillent trois mois à la nouvelle version du spectacle, sous la houlette de Marta Coronado, Jakub Truszkowski et Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker en personne.

PROGRAMME :

It’s not what but how
by Jonathan Pranlas | with Jonathan Pranlas en Petra Van Gompel

The time-lapse opera
by/with Cecilia Lisa Eliceche, Elisa Yvelin

Trash talk
by/with Salka Ardal Rosengren, Mikko Hyvönen

PAUSE

Being together without any voice
by Daniel Linehan | with Daniel Linehan, Anne Pajunen, Noé Soulier, Anna K. Whaley