Orla Barry [IRL]

Mountain

27.02.2013

Language gives shape to our structured world, but in fact every sentence is a new improvisation. For Mountain, Orla Barry set to work with 57 words, an actor, a performer and a musician. Luck, chance and a bit of wizardry play equal parts in this work. The language objects on the stage not only make up the set, but also provide the foundations for the script. By playing with poetry, songs, monologues, speeches and suchlike, unexpected links between words, meaning and performance emerge.

Orla Barry, Mountain
Mountain can also be seen in the form of an installation at Bozar until 5 May. It is part of the exhibition entitled Changing States: Contemporary Irish Art & Francis Bacon’s Studio, as part of Ireland’s Presidency of the Council of the European Union (28/02>5/05).


concept & text Orla Barry | performance & music Derrick Devine, Marcus Lamb, Einat Tuchman | production STUK, Playgroundfestival (Leuven) | production management Ilse Van Essche | commission CAC (Brétigny),  If I Can't Dance (Amsterdam),  STUK - Playgroundfestival (Leuven), Tate Modern (London) | co-funded by the European Union

Orla Barry [IRL]

Mountain

Mountain
Mountain

27.02.2013

Le langage donne forme à notre monde structuré, mais chaque phrase est en fait une nouvelle improvisation. Pour Mountain, Orla Barry a travaillé avec 57 mots, un acteur, un performeur et un musicien. La chance, le sort et un peu de magie jouent un rôle important dans l’œuvre. Les objets linguistiques sur scène ne constituent pas seulement le décor, mais sont aussi à l’origine du scénario. En jouant avec la poésie, les chansons, les monologues, les discours, etc., des liens inattendus émergent entre les textes, le sens et la performance.

Orla Barry, Mountain
Mountain est aussi une installation que l’on peut voir au PBA jusqu’au 5 mai. L’œuvre fait partie de l’exposition Changing States: Contemporary Irish Art & Francis Bacon’s Studio, dans le cadre de la présidence irlandaise du Conseil de l’Union européenne (28/02>5/05).

 


concept & text Orla Barry | performance & music Derrick Devine, Marcus Lamb, Einat Tuchman | production STUK, Playgroundfestival (Leuven) | production management Ilse Van Essche | commission CAC (Brétigny),  If I Can't Dance (Amsterdam),  STUK - Playgroundfestival (Leuven), Tate Modern (London) | co-funded by the European Union