Sara Manente

MOLD

MOLD
MOLD

22.10 – 23.10.2022

A mold refers to two very different things. It is a type of fungus, belonging to the kingdom of mushrooms, molds and yeasts, but is also a hollow container used for casting specific shapes or patterns. As fungi it functions as a network that grows in ways that seem ungovernable: connecting, colonizing, infecting, digesting, fruiting and producing spores. As a pattern, it is a form that shapes malleable matters. MOLD wants to stage the conflict between the spontaneous proliferation and casting, between two different logics in the same body. 

Drawing on a variety of practices – the study of fungi, fashion, fermentation, dance and sculpture - MOLD approaches the theatre machine as a multiplicity of bodies. It strives to stage not only a performance but also a farm, an environment where dance, objects, audience, light, music, scents and costumes interact as living cultures. A garden dedicated to cultivating, abandoning, inoculating, braiding, duplicating, sprouting, warming up and decaying. 

• Sara Manente (1978, Venice) studied dance and semiotics before moving to Brussels, where she works as an artist and researcher. Performance, film, text, event, sculpture or telepathic collaboration, her work presumes that all relationships are founded upon noise, as chaotic multiplicity, parasite or background. She has previously presented her work at Kaaistudio's with This Place (2013), a performance that grew out of her collaboration with Marcos Simões. 

 

presented by Bronks & Kaaitheater

concept, direction Sara Manente | performance Marcos Simoes, Gitte Hendrikx, Sara Manente | music Christophe Albertijn | light Estelle Gautier | scent, costumes Sofie Durnez | mycelium Deborah Robbiano | dramaturgical advice Jaime Llopis | artistic advice Edurne Rubio | production Hiros | co-production: C-TAKT, wpZimmer, Kaaitheater, Kunstencentrum BUDA, WIELS, Far° Festival | with the support of de Vlaamse Overheid | thanks to XING, Kunst/Werk, Serralves, Günbike Erdemir, Bart Van den Eynde, Simon Charlier.

Sara Manente

MOLD

MOLD
MOLD

22.10 – 23.10.2022

Le mot MOLD désigne à deux choses différentes : il s’agit d’une part d'une moisissure, un type de fongus appartenant au royaume des champignons, des moisissures et des levures, mais aussi un moule, un récipient creux permettant de couler une forme ou un motif spécifique. Dans le cas d’une moisissure, il opère comme un réseau qui se développe de manière apparemment ingouvernable : il se connecte, colonise, infecte, digère, fructifie et produit des spores. Lorsque l’on fait référence au moule, c'est une forme qui façonne des matières malléables. MOLD veut mettre en scène le conflit entre la prolifération spontanée et le moulage, entre deux logiques différentes au sein d'un même corps.

Inspiré de diverses pratiques - l'étude des champignons, la mode, la fermentation, la danse et la sculpture, MOLD aborde la machine théâtrale comme une multitude de corps. Il s'efforce de non seulement mettre en scène un spectacle, mais également une ferme : un environnement où la danse, les objets, le public, la lumière, la musique, les parfums et les costumes interagissent comme des cultures vivantes. Un jardin dédié à la culture, l'abandon, l'inoculation, le tressage, la duplication, la germination, le réchauffement et la décomposition.

• Sara Manente (1978, Venise) a étudié la danse et la sémiotique avant de s'installer à Bruxelles, où elle travaille en tant qu'artiste et chercheuse. Performance, film, texte, événement, sculpture ou collaboration télépathique, son travail présume que toutes les relations sont fondées sur le bruit, comme multiplicité chaotique, parasite ou arrière-plan. Elle s'est déjà produite au Kaaistudio's avec This Place (2013), une performance issue de sa collaboration avec Marcos Simões.


presented by Bronks & Kaaitheater

concept, direction Sara Manente | performance Marcos Simoes, Gitte Hendrikx, Sara Manente | music Christophe Albertijn | light Estelle Gautier | scent, costumes Sofie Durnez | mycelium Deborah Robbiano | dramaturgical advice Jaime Llopis | artistic advice Edurne Rubio | production Hiros | co-production: C-TAKT, wpZimmer, Kaaitheater, Kunstencentrum BUDA, WIELS, Far° Festival | with the support of de Vlaamse Overheid | thanks to XING, Kunst/Werk, Serralves, Günbike Erdemir, Bart Van den Eynde, Simon Charlier.