Cuqui Jerez

Magical and Elastic

Magical and Elastic
Magical and Elastic

25.02 – 26.02.2022

Whether you want to call Magical and Elastic a musical, a deconstructed musical or an anti-musical doesn't really matter. What it comes down to? Music, choreography, images and language are dependent on each other. They shape each other and thus create a whole that is always just a little bit different. All these elements exist side-by-side, without hierarchy. Because Magical and Elastic is a place where you see to listen and listen to see.

To get to grips with the relationships between music, choreography, images and narrative, Cuqui Jerez bends the conventions of the musical genre to her will: silences and tension, singing and dancing, lyrics and storytelling... you name it. She manipulates, plays and deconstructs, in good company.  Until she arrives at a magical performance where a story emerges from an image, a choreography comes about thanks to the music, and the music starts from a story…

• Cuqui Jerez studied dance in Madrid and New York and has for several decades been working as an artist, choreographer and performer. Her own creations deal with the relationship between body and space, time and objects, and the boundary between fiction and reality. It is the first time we have welcomed her to Kaaitheater.


a project of Cuqui Jerez in collaboration with Óscar Bueno | concept & direction Cuqui Jerez | created in collaboration with Anto Rodríguez, Cécile Brousse, Javi Cruz, Louana Genter & Gilles Gentner | music Óscar Bueno in collaboration with Cuqui Jerez, Anto Rodríguez, Cécile Brousse, Javi Cruz & Louana Genter | light design Gilles Gentner | production Dorothy Michaels, Madrid | co-production Kaaitheatre, Centro de Cultura Contemporánea Conde Duque, BUDA, Festival TNT | support Graner & La Caldera

Cuqui Jerez

Magical and Elastic

Magical and Elastic
Magical and Elastic

25.02 – 26.02.2022

Que vous vouliez qualifier Magical and Elastic de comédie musicale, de comédie musicale déconstruite ou d’anti-comédie musicale importe peu. Au bout du compte, la musique, la chorégraphie, les images et le langage sont interdépendants. Ils se façonnent mutuellement et forment ainsi un ensemble toujours légèrement différent. Tous ces éléments existent côte à côte, sans hiérarchie car Magical and Elastic est un espace où l'on voit pour écouter et où l'on écoute pour voir.

Pour aborder les relations entre la musique, la chorégraphie, les images et le récit, Cuqui Jerez tord les conventions du genre musical à sa guise : silences et tensions, chant et danse, paroles et récit...tout y passe. Elle manipule, joue et déconstruit en bonne compagnie. Jusqu'à composer un spectacle magique dans lequel une histoire émerge d'une image, une chorégraphie éclot grâce à la musique, et la musique nait d'une histoire...

- Cuqui Jerez a étudié la danse à Madrid et à New York, et travaille en tant qu'artiste, chorégraphe et interprète depuis plusieurs décennies. Ses propres créations traitent de la relation entre le corps et l'espace, le temps et les objets, et la frontière entre fiction et réalité. Nous l'accueillons au Kaaitheater pour la première fois.


a project of Cuqui Jerez in collaboration with Óscar Bueno | concept & direction Cuqui Jerez | created in collaboration with Anto Rodríguez, Cécile Brousse, Javi Cruz, Louana Genter & Gilles Gentner | music Óscar Bueno in collaboration with Cuqui Jerez, Anto Rodríguez, Cécile Brousse, Javi Cruz & Louana Genter | light design Gilles Gentner | production Dorothy Michaels, Madrid | co-production Kaaitheatre, Centro de Cultura Contemporánea Conde Duque, BUDA, Festival TNT | support Graner & La Caldera