Benjamin Verdonck [BE] Toneelhuis

Liedje voor Gigi

Liedje voor Gigi
Liedje voor Gigi

15.03 – 18.03.2018

A dark night, a house burning, the planets, doors that open and close and at the end, a song: puisque la terre est ronde mon amour, t’en fais pas.


In the first part of Song for Gigi, we see a succession of miniature landscapes that represent one and the same space, but at different moments in time. The second part consists of an almost infinite series of panels that appear, disappear, open and close, and thus constantly reveal new settings in the same space. In this visual elegy, Benjamin Verdonck plays the role of a sceneshifter who initiates the transformation of images but then gets lost in them. He is accompanied by two musicians.

• Benjamin Verdonck is an actor, author, visual artist and theatre maker. He performs both on conventional theatre stages and in the public space. After one more thing and WE DON’T SPEAK TO BE UNDERSTOOD (a collaboration with Pieter Ampe) last season, he is coming back to the Kaaitheater with two more new productions: Song for Gigi and The Little Wooden Donkey.


Troostend theater voor een verwarrende wereld - De Morgen

van en met Benjamin Verdonck | muziek Bram Devens, Tomas De Smet| dramaturgie Sven Roofthooft | decor Benjamin Verdonck, Lucas van Haesbroeck | lichtontwerp Lucas van Haesbroeck | productie Toneelhuis | gerealiseerd met de steun van de Tax Shelter maatregel van de Belgische Federale Overheid, Casa Kafka Pictures - Isabelle Molhant - Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter empowered by Belfius

Related content

Benjamin Verdonck

Het houten ezeltje


Het houten ezeltje
Het houten ezeltje


Fri 01.12 - Sat 02.12.17

What starts as a lecture about Benjamin Verdonck’s new book even i must understand it enjoyably derails into a production that introduces you to one or more table stages. He presents a playful guide to the winding road from his studio to the stage, using stories, photos, films, a little theatre in a box, a cat, and music.

Benjamin Verdonck [BE] Toneelhuis

Liedje voor Gigi

Liedje voor Gigi
Liedje voor Gigi

15.03 – 18.03.2018

Une nuit sombre, une maison qui brûle, des planètes, des portes qui ouvrent et se ferment et à la fin, une chanson : puisque la terre est ronde mon amour, t’en fais pas.

Machiniste de théâtre

Dans le premier volet de Liedje voor Gigi, on voit un enchaînement de paysages en miniature qui représentent le même espace, mais à un autre moment dans le temps. Le deuxième volet se compose d’une série quasi infinie de panneaux qui apparaissent, disparaissent, s’ouvrent et se ferment – et qui présentent ainsi chaque fois de nouveaux environnements dans le même espace. Durant cette élégie visuelle, Benjamin Verdonck assume le rôle de machiniste, déclenche la transformation des images pour ensuite s’y perdre. Deux musiciens l’accompagnent.

• Benjamin Verdonck est acteur, écrivain, plasticien et créateur de théâtre. Il se produit aussi bien dans des salles de théâtre que dans l’espace public. Après one more thing et WE DON’T SPEAK TO BE UNDERSTOOD (avec Pieter Ampe) la saison passée, il revient au Kaaitheater avec deux nouveaux spectacles : Liedje voor Gigi et Het houten ezeltje.


van en met Benjamin Verdonck | muziek Bram Devens, Tomas De Smet| dramaturgie Sven Roofthooft | decor Benjamin Verdonck, Lucas van Haesbroeck | lichtontwerp Lucas van Haesbroeck | productie Toneelhuis | gerealiseerd met de steun van de Tax Shelter maatregel van de Belgische Federale Overheid, Casa Kafka Pictures - Isabelle Molhant - Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter empowered by Belfius

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

Sujets apparentés

Benjamin Verdonck

Het houten ezeltje

théâtre

Het houten ezeltje
Het houten ezeltje

théâtre

ve 01.12 - sa 02.12.17

Ce qui commence comme une conférence sur le nouveau livre de Benjamin Verdonck, even i must understand it, déraille de manière joyeuse en un spectacle qui nous initie à un ou plusieurs théâtres de table. C’est un guide ludique du parcours sinueux de l’atelier de Benjamin Verdonck à la scène, émaillé de récits, de photos, de films, d’un petit théâtre dans une boîte, d’un chat et de musique.