De Parade [BE]

Inferno

Inferno
Inferno

28.10 – 30.10.2010

Legendary lovers

In Canto 5 of his Inferno, Dante sings of the unhappy love of Paolo and Francesca. Dante’s lovers were immortalised in Rodin’s The Kiss, which is part of a larger sculpture called La Porte de l’Enfer. Camille Claudel, Rodin’s pupil at the time, also worked on it.

Rudi Meulemans interweaves Dante’s story with other stories and characters in Western culture. Paolo and Francesca could, for instance, be seen as August Rodin and Camille Claudel, or as the legendary writing couple T.S. Eliot and Vivienne Haigh-Wood, or Ted Hughes and Sylvia Plath, and of course as Dante himself and his beloved Beatrice.

● In Inferno, the writer and director Rudi Meulemans crosses the boundaries of disciplines for the first time. Choreographer and dancer Vincent Dunoyer is co director of the performance and video designer Kurt d’Haeseleer creates a set of moving images. Inferno is performed by Vincent Dunoyer and the actors of De Parade, Tom de Hoog, Caroline Rottier and Hilde Wils.  With this production, Meulemans is starting a three-part theatrical adaptation of Dante’s Divine Comedy. Inferno will be followed by Purgatorio and Paradiso. Inferno is an adventurous journey in which there is much to discover in the world, the other and ourselves.


performed by Tom de Hoog, Vincent Dunoyer, Caroline Rottier, Hilde Wils | concept, text, direction Rudi Meulemans | co- direction, choreography Vincent Dunoyer | video design Kurt d’Haeseleer | lighting design Hans Meijer | dramaturgy Marianne van Kerkhoven | assistance to the video design Caroline De Decker | assistance to the lighting design Arne Lievens | internship dramaturgy Esther Severi | realisation screen Benjamin Lasserre | realisation stand Herman Venderickx | surtitles Anneleen Hermans | language coaches Tim Oliphant, Gisèle Van Huffel, Italiaans | graphic design Casier/Fieuws | production management & pr Anneleen Hermans | thanks to Josée Lehon | production De Parade | co-production Kaaitheater | with the support of de Vlaamse Regering, de Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie & het Vlaams Fonds voor de Letteren

De Parade [BE]

Inferno

Inferno
Inferno

28.10 – 30.10.2010

Amoureux légendaires

Dans le Chant V de son Inferno, Dante exalte l’amour malheureux de Paolo et Francesca. Le Baiser d’Auguste Rodin, qui fait initialement partie du plus grand ensemble de sculptures intitulé La Porte de l’Enfer, a immortalisé les amoureux de Dante. Camille Claudel, alors étudiante de Rodin, y a participé.

Rudi Meulemans entrelace l’histoire de Dante avec d’autres histoires et personnages de la culture occidentale. Ainsi, Paolo et Francesca peuvent être vus comme Auguste Rodin et Camille Claudel ou comme les couples légendaires d’écrivains T.S. Eliot et Vivienne Haigh-Wood ou Ted Hughes et Sylvia Plath… et bien entendu comme Dante lui-même et sa bien-aimée, Béatrice.

● Avec Inferno, l’auteur et metteur en scène Rudi Meulemans transcende pour la première fois les frontières des disciplines. L’artiste multimédia Kurt D’Haeseleer conçoit une installation dans laquelle l’une des multiples figures prend place tour à tour. Outre des comédiens de la compagnie De Parade, la scène accueille aussi le danseur et chorégraphe Vincent Dunoyer. Avec cette production, Meulemans entame une adaptation théâtrale en trois volets de la Divine Comédie de Dante. Après Inferno, suivront Purgatorio et Paradiso. Inferno est un voyage aventureux, regorgeant de découvertes sur le monde, l’autre et soi-même.


performed by Tom de Hoog, Vincent Dunoyer, Caroline Rottier, Hilde Wils | concept, text, direction Rudi Meulemans | co- direction, choreography Vincent Dunoyer | video design Kurt d’Haeseleer | lighting design Hans Meijer | dramaturgy Marianne van Kerkhoven | assistance to the video design Caroline De Decker | assistance to the lighting design Arne Lievens | internship dramaturgy Esther Severi | realisation screen Benjamin Lasserre | realisation stand Herman Venderickx | surtitles Anneleen Hermans | language coaches Tim Oliphant, Gisèle Van Huffel, Italiaans | graphic design Casier/Fieuws | production management & pr Anneleen Hermans | thanks to Josée Lehon | production De Parade | co-production Kaaitheater | with the support of de Vlaamse Regering, de Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie & het Vlaams Fonds voor de Letteren