Marisol de la Cadena & Isabelle Stengers Mihnea Tanasescu (mod.)

How Large is a Person? Breaking through singular ways of being and knowing

How Large is a Person?
How Large is a Person?

14.12.2021

The person is first and foremost an idea, to think of it in terms of a particular embodiment is to be within a tradition that forces the idea of personhood into a particular shape. In the western world, this has been an imagined rational, individual human of a particular class. This way of thinking is neither the only one nor the most fruitful – it hides the different ways of knowing inherent within multiplicity.

During this evening, we will explore how human personhood has been constructed, and how it can be decentered and made to expand into different ways of seeing and being. Through critical anthropology and the philosophy of science, we will pick through the rich epistemological and ontological heritage of different ways of being in the world, and different ways of building knowledge. The rational, universal individual has violently suppressed mutable persons existing at the intersection of multiple beings, as well as collective and interspecies ways of building knowledge that persist in the sciences, though often unrecognized. Underneath the steamroller of modernity, we will discover many possibilities for a more convivial future.

20:00 – Introduction by Mihnea Tanasescu 
20:10 – Keynote Lecture by Marisol de la Cadena : ‘Runa, human but not only.’ (via Zoom)
20:40 – Introducing the work of Isabelle Stengers, through a Q&A with Isabelle Stengers and Mihnea Tanasescu
20:50 – Q&A with Isabelle Stengers and Marisol de la Cadena, moderated by Mihnea Tanasescu 
21:30 – Live music and video performance by Mandrill Kin
21:40 – Outro

Marisol de la Cadena is a Professor of Anthropology at the University of California, Davis. She is the author of Earth Beings. Ecologies of Practice Across Andean Worlds (2015) and Cultures of Race and Hybridity in Latin America (2011), among others. With Mario Blaser, she co-edited A World of Many Worlds (2018) and The Uncommons (2017). 

Mihnea Tanasescu is a political ecologist working in the Political Science Department of the Vrije Universiteit Brussel. He has worked on the political and legal representation of natural entities, the politics of environmental catastrophe, as well as nature conservation, restoration, and rewilding in Europe. His forthcoming books are Understanding the Rights of Nature: A Critical Introduction, and Ecocene Politics.

Isabelle Stengers is emerita of the Université Libre de Bruxelles. After graduating in chemistry she has turned to philosophy, and as a doctoral student, she has worked in Ilya Prigogine physical chemistry department. Her first work with Prigogine and her dissertation was about the contrast between the conceptual inventiveness of physics and its claim to propose a general world view. This has led her to develop a critique of the model of objectivity that mimics theoretical-experimental sciences and silences the diverging multiplicity of scientific practices. In this perspective, she has proposed, as a challenge inseparably political and cultural, the concept of an active ecology of practices, embedded within a democratic, demanding environment. Her work as a philosopher defends the possibility of speculative, adventurous constructivism, which she relates to the philosophy of Gilles Deleuze, Alfred North Whitehead and William James as well as with the anthropology of Bruno Latour and the SF thinking adventure of Donna Haraway. Among her books published in English translation; Order out of Chaos with Ilya Prigogine, The Invention of Modern Science, Capitalist Sorcery: Breaking the Spell with Philippe Pignarre, Cosmopolitics I and II, Thinking with Whitehead and Women Who Make a Fuss with Vinciane Despret, In Catastrophic Times. Resisting the Coming Barbarism; Another Science is Possible

Mandrill Kin is a Brussels based musician and visual artist. His series of performances titled Anthropocene develops ambient and textured compositions that interact with visual bricolages to explore loss, grief, hopelessness, action, and resistance in times of ecological crisis.


part of A Series of More-Than-Human Encounters, curated by Kaaitheater & Crosstalks in dialogue with Gosie Vervloessem, Olave Nduwanje, Mihnea Tanasescu & Marialena Marouda

There's more

Marialena Marouda, The Oceanographies Institute, Alexis Pauline Gumbs & others

Songing With Our Ancestors: Hydrofeminisms

talk

Songing With Our Ancestors: Hydrofeminisms
Songing With Our Ancestors: Hydrofeminisms

talk

Tue 25.01.22

This last session in our Series of More-Than-Human Encounters is entirely devoted to oceanic storytelling in kinship with hydrofeminism. This form of feminism is particularly sensitive towards watery creatures and our solidarity with them. It is also inspired by music and song-making practice – songings –, believing them to be a means of interspecies community creation and resistance.

Marisol de la Cadena & Isabelle Stengers Mihnea Tanasescu (mod.)

How Large is a Person? Breaking through singular ways of being and knowing

How Large is a Person?
How Large is a Person?

14.12.2021

La personne est avant tout une idée, et la penser en termes d'une incarnation particulière revient à s'inscrire dans une tradition qui impose une forme particulière à sa notion-même. Dans le monde occidental, il s'agit de l'image d'un humain rationnel et individuel appartenant à une classe particulière. Cette façon de penser n'est ni la seule ni la plus fructueuse - elle masque les différents modes de connaissance inhérents à la multiplicité.

Nous explorerons au cours de cette soirée comment l'identité humaine a été construite, et comment elle peut être décentrée et élargie à différentes façons de voir et d'être. Par le biais de l'anthropologie critique et de la philosophie des sciences, nous examinerons le riche héritage épistémologique et ontologique des différentes manières d'être dans le monde et, des diverses façons de construire la connaissance. L'individu rationnel et universel a brutalement éliminé les personnes mutables existant à l'intersection de multiples êtres, ainsi que les manières collectives et inter-espèces de construire la connaissance qui persistent dans les sciences, bien que souvent non reconnues. Sous le rouleau compresseur de la modernité, nous découvrirons de nombreuses possibilités pour un futur plus convivial.

20:00 - Introduction par Mihnea Tanasescu
20:10 - Conférence principale de Marisol de la Cadena : "Runa, human but not only". (via Zoom)
20:40 - Présentation de l'œuvre d'Isabelle Stengers, par le biais d'une séance de questions-réponses avec Isabelle Stengers et Mihnea Tanasescu.
20:50 - Q&R avec Isabelle Stengers et Marisol de la Cadena, modéré par Mihnea Tanasescu
21:30 – Musique et performance vidéo par Mandrill Kin (live)
21:40 – Outro

Marisol de la Cadena est professeure d'anthropologie à l'Université de Californie, Davis. Elle est l'autrice de Earth Beings. Ecologies of Practice Across Andean Worlds (2015) et Cultures of Race and Hybridity in Latin America (2011) notamment. Elle a coédité A World of Many Worlds (2018) et The Uncommons (2017) avec Mario Blaser.

Mihnea Tanasescu est un écologiste politique travaillant au département des sciences politiques de la Vrije Universiteit Brussel. Il a travaillé sur la représentation politique des entités naturelles ainsi que sur la conservation, la restauration et le réensauvagement de la nature en Europe. Il a deux ouvrages à paraître. Understanding the Rights of Nature: A Critical Introduction et Ecocene Politics.

Isabelle Stengers est professeure emérite de l'Université Libre de Bruxelles. Après avoir obtenu son diplôme en chimie, elle s'est tournée vers la philosophie et, en tant que doctorante, a travaillé dans le département de chimie physique d'Ilya Prigogine. Ses premiers travaux avec Prigogine et sa thèse portaient sur le contraste entre l'inventivité conceptuelle de la physique et sa prétention à proposer une vision générale du monde. Cela l'a conduite à développer une critique du modèle d'objectivité qui mime les sciences théoriques-expérimentales, et tait la multiplicité divergente des pratiques scientifiques. Dans cette perspective, elle a proposé, comme un défi indissociablement politique et culturel, le concept d'une écologie active des pratiques, inscrite dans un environnement démocratique et exigeant. Son travail de philosophe défend la possibilité d'un constructivisme spéculatif et aventureux, qu'elle met en relation avec la philosophie de Gilles Deleuze, Alfred North Whitehead et William James, ainsi qu'avec l'anthropologie de Bruno Latour et l’aventure de la pensée SF de Donna Haraway. Parmi ses livres publiés qui ont été traduits en anglais: Order out of Chaos avec Ilya Prigogine, L'invention des sciences modernes, La Sorcellerie capitaliste. Pratiques de désenvoûtement avec Philippe Pignarre, Cosmopolitique I et II, Penser avec Whitehead, Les Faiseuses d'histoires. Que font les femmes à la pensée ? avec Vinciane Despret,  Au temps des catastrophes. Résister à la barbarie qui vient, Une autre science est possible !

Mandrill Kin est un musicien et artiste visuel basé à Bruxelles. Sa série de performances intitulée Anthropocene développe des compositions ambiantes et texturées qui interagissent avec des bricolages visuels afin d’explorer la perte, le deuil, le désespoir, l'action ainsi que la résistance en temps de crise écologique.

 


part of A Series of More-Than-Human Encounters, curated by Kaaitheater & Crosstalks in dialogue with Gosie Vervloessem, Olave Nduwanje, Mihnea Tanasescu & Marialena Marouda

There's more

A Series of More-Than-Human Encounters

Songing With Our Ancestors: Hydrofeminisms

talk

Songing With Our Ancestors: Hydrofeminisms
Songing With Our Ancestors: Hydrofeminisms

talk

ma 25.01.22

Cette dernière session de Series of More-Than-Human Encounters est consacrée aux histoires sur les océans en relation avec l'hydroféminisme. Cette forme de féminisme est particulièrement sensible à la faune aquatique et à la manière dont nous pouvons être solidaires avec elle. Cette réflexion s'inspire également de la musique et des chants – les "songings" – car ils peuvent être un moyen de créer une communauté inter-espèces, mais également un outil  de résistance.