Space [NL]

Holland Tsunami Drowning in Europe

24.11 – 25.11.2009

A hilarious ‘mockumentary’

Global warming has resulted in a noticeable rise in sea levels. The Netherlands has vanished beneath the waters and all 16 million inhabitants are being taken in by the hospitable Hungarian people. These rather gloomy suppositions form the basis of the lively performance called Holland Tsunami. Drowning in Europe by the Dutch theatre group Space.

Space describes its work as ‘internationally-produced interactive exploratory surgery on identity’. The core of the group consists of the Dutchman Luc van Loo and Petra Ardai from Hungary. In Holland Tsunami they have created a new theatre form which they describe as ‘mockumentary’: dignitaries make pronouncements, those who are involved and ‘people on the street’ are interviewed, and specialists say their piece, all of them without exception supporting the gloomy assumptions. The result is an occasionally hilarious spectacle which, despite its fictional approach, nevertheless reveals many ‘truths’ about Dutch and Hungarian identity and the difficulties of the multicultural society in general.

The mockumentary includes musical intermezzos, a lesson in Hungarian, a reception and many filmed excerpts which the three ‘storytellers’ put into context on stage. This generates an on-the-spot discussion, a debate with the audience.

In all Space’s performances the audience is an active and intense part of the dramaturgical concept and of the here-and-now experience the evening becomes. As far as Space is concerned, performing outside the national borders is not so much a business strategy as an intrinsic element of their artistic vision and the best way to make each performance unique. In view of this basic principle, each performance is adapted to the evening’s audience. Even though Holland Tsunami remains a ‘realistic fairy tale’ about Dutch-Hungarian relations, there will be questions that none of us can avoid.


concept Space (Petra Ardai, Luc van Loo) | text Petra Ardai, Feico Sobel, Báint Solymosi | video Marloeke van de Vlugt, Ernst Süss | sound Luc van Loo | with Petra Ardai, Luc van Loo, Bojana Mladenovic | dramaturgy Nienke Rooijakkers, Anna Veres | research Feico Sobel, Eszter Babarczy | technique Udo Akemann | production Markell Helmann | co-production Talló Gergely | management Wilma Kuite | starring in the video: experts: Pieter Hilhorst, Joris IJzermans, András Hajós, Thuróczy Szabolcs; Dutch people in the Netherlands: Hoekstra family, Mr and Ms Timmermans, Duro Toomato, student home Idéfix, Anil Jagdewsing & Bas Jilesen, Klaas Wagenaar, Seher Sborucu; Dutch people in Legénd (Hungary): Runa Hellinga, Tonnie & Dianne and Hans & Annet, and their children | supported by Nederlands Fonds voor de Podium Kunsten+, Amsterdams Fonds voor de Kunst, Low Fesztival Budapest, Workshop Foundation Budapest, Flórián Mıhely – Mozgóház Alapítvány, ÖKM, Artus, Független Színházak szövetsége, Webstar

Space [NL]

Holland Tsunami Drowning in Europe

24.11 – 25.11.2009

Un mocumentaire désopilant

Le réchauffement climatique mène à une montée considérable du niveau de la mer, les Pays-Bas sont entièrement immergés et disparaissent. Les 16 millions de Néerlandais sont évacués et accueillis par une population hongroise hospitalière… Cette hypothèse peu réjouissante constitue le point de départ du spectacle, très joyeux par contre, Holland Tsunami. Drowning in Europe de la compagnie néerlandaise de théâtre Space.

Space définit son œuvre comme « des opérations interactives d’observation de l’identité, produites de manière internationale ». Le noyau dur du groupe se compose du Néerlandais Luc van Loo et de la Hongroise Petra Ardai. Holland Tsunami donne naissance à une nouvelle forme de théâtre qu’ils qualifient de « mocumentaire » : de hauts dignitaires formulent des affirmations, des intéressés et des « gens de la rue » sont interviewés, des spécialistes prennent la parole, et tous, sans exception, se prononcent avec beaucoup de sérieux sur ces hypothèses peu joyeuses. Le résultat donne un spectacle par moments désopilant qui, malgré son angle de vue fictif, dévoile bon nombre de « vérités » sur l’identité néerlandaise et hongroise et sur les difficultés du vivre ensemble multiculturel en général.

Le mocumentaire contient, entre autres, des intermèdes musicaux, un cours de langue hongroise, une réception et bon nombre d’extraits filmiques que trois « narrateurs », présents sur scène, replacent dans leur contexte. Tout cela génère une discussion, un débat avec le public « sur le vif ».

Dans tous ses spectacles, Space associe de fait le public de manière active et intensive au concept dramaturgique et à l’expérience de l’ici et maintenant qui se déroule pendant la soirée. Présenter ses spectacles en dehors des frontières nationales n’est pas tant une stratégie commerciale qu’une part intrinsèque de leur vision artistique et le moyen par excellence de rendre chaque représentation unique. Étant donné la prémisse, chaque soirée s’adapte à la réalité du public présent. Même si Holland Tsunami demeure une « fable réaliste » sur les relations néerlando-hongroises, elle nous pose des questions auxquelles nous ne pouvons pas nous soustraire.


concept Space (Petra Ardai, Luc van Loo) | text Petra Ardai, Feico Sobel, Báint Solymosi | video Marloeke van de Vlugt, Ernst Süss | sound Luc van Loo | with Petra Ardai, Luc van Loo, Bojana Mladenovic | dramaturgy Nienke Rooijakkers, Anna Veres | research Feico Sobel, Eszter Babarczy | technique Udo Akemann | production Markell Helmann | co-production Talló Gergely | management Wilma Kuite | starring in the video: experts: Pieter Hilhorst, Joris IJzermans, András Hajós, Thuróczy Szabolcs; Dutch people in the Netherlands: Hoekstra family, Mr and Ms Timmermans, Duro Toomato, student home Idéfix, Anil Jagdewsing & Bas Jilesen, Klaas Wagenaar, Seher Sborucu; Dutch people in Legénd (Hungary): Runa Hellinga, Tonnie & Dianne and Hans & Annet, and their children | supported by Nederlands Fonds voor de Podium Kunsten+, Amsterdams Fonds voor de Kunst, Low Fesztival Budapest, Workshop Foundation Budapest, Flórián Mıhely – Mozgóház Alapítvány, ÖKM, Artus, Független Színházak szövetsége, Webstar