Kate McIntosh [Brussels]

Hair from the Throat

Hair from the Throat
Hair from the Throat

08.11 – 09.11.2006

The blurred distinction between animal and human

In Hair From the Throat the performance artist Kate McIntosh will continue her in-depth study of ‘human naturalness’ which she started in her previous work All Natural.

Kate McIntosh read in an Australian newspaper the story of a man found drowned in a shallow river: he was wearing a home-made fish suit. This passionate, doomed attempt to escape human nature is the starting point for Hair from the Throat.

Scientists argue about the dividing line between human and animal: there's always been a deep unease around this blurred boundary. What if we wanted to re-create ourselves in new skins - as creatures from our own imaginations? What if the inherited knowledge and social constructions of being 'human' could be thrown off and we could move towards the ‘natural animal state’?

Our cultural history comprises a wealth of images and stories about people who change into other forms. However, anyone who becomes 'other' faces new challenges of survival - from loneliness, to a more vulnerable position in the food chain. We work hard to fit in to the 'civilized world' and being banned from this civilization fills us with fear. We watch people search for a more comfortably fitting skin with horror and delight. 'Are you one of us? If not, what are you?'

In Hair from the Throat there is a plenty of experimentation with radical self-transformation, and amateurish attempts at animalism. 


un projet de Kate McIntosh
créé et interprété par Palli Banine, Diederik Peeters & Jo Randerson
concept son Charo Calvo 
costumes Myriam van Gucht
éclairage Luc Schaltin
production Margarita Production
coproduction Parc de la Villette (F), Sophiensaele (D)
en collaboration avec Monty (B), nadine (B), Kaaitheater (B)
avec le soutien du Vlaamse overheid, Brussels Hoofdstedelijk Gewest

There's more

Kate McIntosh

Kate McIntosh
Kate McIntosh

artist

Kaaitheater artist-in-residence 2017-2021

Kate McIntosh [Brussels]

Hair from the Throat

Hair from the Throat
Hair from the Throat

08.11 – 09.11.2006

La frontière nébuleuse entre l’animal et l’être humain

Dans Hair from the Throat, l’artiste/performeuse Kate Mc Intosh continue sa recherche détaillée de la « nature humaine » qu’elle a entamée dans sa précédente création All Natural.

Kate McIntosh lut dans un journal australien l’histoire d’un homme trouvé noyé dans une rivière peu profonde : il portait un costume de poisson fait maison. Cet essai improbable et passionné d’échapper à sa nature humaine est le point de départ de Hair from the Throat.

Les scientifiques discutent la ligne de démarcation entre l’humain et l’animal : il y a toujours eu un profond malaise autour de cette frontière qui reste floue. Que se passerait-il si on s’inventait une nouvelle peau – comme des créatures sorties de notre imagination ? Que se passerait-il si la connaissance et la construction sociale inhérente à l’être humain étaient jetées au loin et que nous pourrions librement naviguer dans « l’état naturel d’animal »… ?

Notre histoire culturelle comporte une multitude d’images et d’histoires de personnes se transformant en autre chose. Quand bien même, quiconque souhaite devenir ‘autre’ fait face à des nouveaux défis de survie – de la simple solitude à une position plus vulnérable dans la chaîne alimentaire. Nous travaillons dur pour nous fondre dans le monde civilisé et l’idée d’en être banni nous remplit de peur. Nous regardons ces personnes cherchant une peau qui leur conviendrait mieux, de façon plus confortable, avec horreur et délice. « Etes-vous l’un d’entre nous ? Sinon, qui êtes-vous ? »

Dans Hair from the Throat, il y a une multitude d’expérimentations avec des auto-transformations radicales, et des essais amateurs pour accéder à l’animalité.


un projet de Kate McIntosh
créé et interprété par Palli Banine, Diederik Peeters & Jo Randerson
concept son Charo Calvo 
costumes Myriam van Gucht
éclairage Luc Schaltin
production Margarita Production
coproduction Parc de la Villette (F), Sophiensaele (D)
en collaboration avec Monty (B), nadine (B), Kaaitheater (B)
avec le soutien du Vlaamse overheid, Brussels Hoofdstedelijk Gewest

There's more

Kate McIntosh

Kate McIntosh
Kate McIntosh

artiste

Kaaitheater artist-in-residence 2017-2021