Miet Warlop

Ghost Writer and the Broken Hand Break

Ghost Writer and the Broken Hand Break
Ghost Writer and the Broken Hand Break

25.11.2022

A handbrake that fails is a classic ingredient for nightmares: losing control, not being able to stop, heading for a crash. On the other hand, it can also mean a sense of being free and of speeding forward without inhibitions. But is movement always a forward movement? Those who move in circles end at the beginning and begin at the end. In Ghost Writer and the Broken Hand Break, three performers turn around their axis for three quarters of an hour - a movement that in Sufi ceremonies is supposed to lead to a state of religious euphoria. In Miet Warlop's version, it becomes an experiment on the fine line between having and losing control. It is a mixture of whirling dance, recitation and concert. How can you find a balance between self-control and devotion?

• Miet Warlop studied three-dimensional art at the KASK in Ghent. In her work, she strings together images to create stunning tableaux vivants. She has given several performances at Kaaistudio's (including Springville and Big Heap/Mountain). With Ghost Writer and the Broken Hand Break she performed on the Kaaitheater main stage in 2019 and now the performance is back on the Kaaiprogramme. 

 

“Sometimes you see a performance that reminds you of what you so often miss. Ghost Writer and The Broken Hand Break by artist Miet Warlop is one of those - something happens, something is created that makes your heart beat faster because in that very moment you are a spectator and participant in a birth.” – De Theaterkrant 

“A dazzling, chillingly controlled performance.” - de Volkskrant 

 

 


presented by PeriferiK / CC Strombeek, CC De Factorij, Westrand & Kaaitheater

concept and direction Miet Warlop | music and performance Joppe Tanghe, Miet Warlop, Wietse Tanghe | songs Raimundas Malasauskas, Miet Warlop, Pieter De Meester | technique & production  Thomas Vermaercke, Patrick Vanderhaegen | sound engineer Bart Van Hoydonck | light design Henri Emmanuel Doublier | costumes Karolien Nuyttens | production Miet Warlop / Irene Wool vzw & NTGent | coproduction Kunstencentrum Vooruit Gent (BE), HAU Hebbel am Ufer - Berlin (DE) |  thanks to Carl Gydé, Jérôme Dupraz, Ian Gyselinck, Michiel Goedertier (LaRoy NV), Janis Van Heesbeke (ongezien), Maarten Van Cauwenberghe, Brahim Benhaddou, Seppe Cosyns, Elke Vanlerberghe, Niels Antonissen, Mathias Batsleer, Carla Beeckmans, Midas Heuvinck, Elke Vanlerberghe, Arno Truyens, Bennert Vancottem | support Vlaamse Overheid (BE), stad Gent (BE), Actoral. 17 Marseille (FR) 

There's more

Miet Warlop

One Song

performance

One Song
One Song
Sat 26.11.22

What is your history as a theatre maker? Miet Warlop is the fourth director in the series Histoire(s) du Théâtre to take up the challenge of creating a work in which present, past and future meet each other in a surprising way. A group of performers enters the universe of Warlop for an enchanting ritual about farewell, life and death, hope and rebirth.

Miet Warlop

Ghost Writer and the Broken Hand Break

Ghost Writer and the Broken Hand Break
Ghost Writer and the Broken Hand Break

25.11.2022

Un frein à main défaillant est un élément classique des cauchemars : perte de contrôle, impossibilité de s'arrêter, risque d'accident. Il peut d’autre part aussi signifier se sentir libre et aller de l'avant sans inhibitions. Mais le mouvement est-il toujours un mouvement vers l'avant ?  Qui tourne en rond, termine par le début et commence par la fin. Dans Ghost Writer and the Broken Hand Break, trois interprètes tournent autour de leur axe pendant trois quarts d'heure - un mouvement qui, dans les cérémonies soufies, est censé mener à un état d'euphorie religieuse. Dans la version de Miet Warlop, il se meut en une expérience sur la fine ligne de démarcation entre avoir et perdre le contrôle. C'est un mélange de danse tourbillonnante, de récitation et de concert. Comment trouver un équilibre entre la maîtrise de soi et la dévotion ?

• Miet Warlop a étudié l'art tridimensionnel au KASK de Gand. Dans son travail, elle associe des images pour créer des tableaux vivants étonnants. Elle a donné plusieurs représentations au Kaaistudio's (notamment Springville et Big Heap/Mountain). Avec Ghost Writer and the Broken Hand Break, elle s'est produite en 2019 dans la grande salle du Kaaitheater, et cette performance fait à présent son retour dans la programmation du Kaai.

 

On assiste parfois à un spectacle qui nous rappelle ce qui nous manque dans tant d'autres représentations. Ghost Writer and The Broken Hand Break de l'artiste Miet Warlop est l'un de ceux-là - quelque chose se produit, quelque chose est créé qui fait battre votre cœur plus vite parce qu'à ce moment précis, vous êtes spectateur·ice/participant·e d'une naissance'. - De Theaterkrant

« Une performance éblouissante, d'un contrôle glacial". - de Volkskrant

 

 


presented by PeriferiK / CC Strombeek, CC De Factorij, Westrand & Kaaitheater

concept and direction Miet Warlop | music and performance Joppe Tanghe, Miet Warlop, Wietse Tanghe | songs Raimundas Malasauskas, Miet Warlop, Pieter De Meester | technique & production  Thomas Vermaercke, Patrick Vanderhaegen | sound engineer Bart Van Hoydonck | light design Henri Emmanuel Doublier | costumes Karolien Nuyttens | production Miet Warlop / Irene Wool vzw & NTGent | coproduction Kunstencentrum Vooruit Gent (BE), HAU Hebbel am Ufer - Berlin (DE) |  thanks to Carl Gydé, Jérôme Dupraz, Ian Gyselinck, Michiel Goedertier (LaRoy NV), Janis Van Heesbeke (ongezien), Maarten Van Cauwenberghe, Brahim Benhaddou, Seppe Cosyns, Elke Vanlerberghe, Niels Antonissen, Mathias Batsleer, Carla Beeckmans, Midas Heuvinck, Elke Vanlerberghe, Arno Truyens, Bennert Vancottem | support Vlaamse Overheid (BE), stad Gent (BE), Actoral. 17 Marseille (FR) 

There's more

Miet Warlop

One Song

performance

One Song
One Song
sa 26.11.22

Quelle est votre histoire en tant que metteuse en scène de théâtre ? Dans la série Histoire(s) du Théâtre, Miet Warlop est la quatrième metteuse en scène à relever le défi de créer une œuvre dans laquelle le présent, le passé et le futur se rencontrent de manière surprenante.

Un groupe d'interprètes entre dans l'univers de Warlop pour un rituel enchanteur sur l'adieu, la vie et la mort, l'espoir et la renaissance.