Meryem Jazouli [MA]

Folkah!

02.02 – 03.02.2018

Folkah! was born of the desire to bring two female artists around an ancestral dance from the Sahara: the Guedra. For this project a corporal and vocal language was developed that revisits the context, words and gestures of the Guedra, to invent a new frame of dialogue between body and voice. Starting from the structural elements of this dance full of with stories and meanings – attitudes, signs, codes, light, temporality – Folkah explores possible breaks and deconstructions in order to develop the kind of extensions and excesses that are typical for a contemporary choreographic practice. 

This performance is a unique collaboration between creator of the dance workshop Espace Darja, choreographer and dancer Meryem Jazouli – and the famous composer, producer and jazz singer Malika Zarra.


concept & performed by Meryem Jazouli | vocals and performed by Malika Zarra | dramaturgy Youness Anzane | light design Melchior Delaunay | costumes Mehryl Levisse | co-production Espace Darja – Casablanca (Maroc), Goethe Institut Marokko de Rabat, Afrikayna – Fonds Africa Art Lines pour la mobilité, Moussem Nomadic Arts Centre – Brussels | in collaboration with Festival Caravane Tighmert (Maroc), Hellerau – Centre Européen pour les Arts de Dresde (Allemagne), Ecole des Sables – Toubab Dialaw (Sénégal), Centro Cultural de Belem – Lisbonne (Portugal), L'Uzine - Fondation TAT – Casablanca 

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

Meryem Jazouli [MA]

Folkah!

02.02 – 03.02.2018

Folkah! est né du désir de réunir deux femmes artistes autour d’une danse ancestrale du Sahara, la « guedra ». Autour de ce projet, se décline un langage corporel et vocal qui revisite contexte, propos et gestuelle de la Guedra, pour inventer un nouveau cadre de dialogue entre le corps et la voix. A partir des éléments structurels de cette danse chargée d’histoires et de sens - attitudes, signes, codes, lumière, temporalité -  Folkah en explore les possibles ruptures et déconstructions pour développer des prolongements et débordements, propres à une pratique chorégraphique contemporaine.

Ce spectacle est un partenariat unique entre la chorégraphe, danseuse et inspiratrice de l’atelier de danse Espace Darja, Meryem Jazouli et la célèbre compositrice, productrice et chanteuse de jazz Malika Zarra.


concept & performed by Meryem Jazouli | vocals and performed by Malika Zarra | dramaturgy Youness Anzane | light design Melchior Delaunay | costumes Mehryl Levisse | co-production Espace Darja – Casablanca (Maroc), Goethe Institut Marokko de Rabat, Afrikayna – Fonds Africa Art Lines pour la mobilité, Moussem Nomadic Arts Centre – Brussels | in collaboration with Festival Caravane Tighmert (Maroc), Hellerau – Centre Européen pour les Arts de Dresde (Allemagne), Ecole des Sables – Toubab Dialaw (Sénégal), Centro Cultural de Belem – Lisbonne (Portugal), L'Uzine - Fondation TAT – Casablanca 

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme