Claire Croizé & Matteo Fargion [FR/BE,IT]

Flowers (we are)

Flowers (we are)
Flowers (we are)

27.03 – 28.03.2019

The work of Claire Croizé is dansant, generous, and always sustained by her great love of music. In Flowers (we are), she engages with two of her favourite sources of inspiration: Bach and Rilke. She has placed both masters in the hands of Matteo Fargion, the British composer and multi-instrumentalist that you undoubtedly know from his brilliant duets with choreographer Jonathan Burrows. Fargion and Croizé have not created slavish interpretations of Bach and Rilke, but have rather opted for a playful, somewhat unruly tribute. They have made a selection from the preludes of Bach’s Das wohltemperierte Klavier and from his choral pieces, which have been transcribed for four-handed piano. In addition, Fargion has created new work ‘à la Bach’ in order to shed new light on his baroque masterpieces. He also interprets the poems of Rainer Maria Rilke as pop songs. He expresses his love through his irreverence.

• The French-Brussels choreographer Claire Croizé has presented various productions at Kaaitheater, including the exuberant EVOL, which was selected for Het TheaterFestival 2017.


concept Claire Croizé | musical composition Matteo Fargion | dance Emmi Väisänen, Claire Godsmark, Gorka Gurrutxaga | music interpreted by Matteo Fargion & Francesca Fargion | music Johann Sebastian Bach | dramaturgy Etienne Guilloteau | costume design Anne-Catherine Kunz | production ECCE vzw | co-production Kaaitheater, Concertgebouw Brugge, wpZimmer, Kunstencentrum BUDA | support Workspace Brussels, STUK, De Vlaamse Overheid

programmaboekje | feuille de salle | evening programme

Related content

Mette Edvardsen & Matteo Fargion

Penelope Sleeps

performance music

Penelope Sleeps
Penelope Sleeps

performance

Fri 10.05 - Tue 14.05.19

In her new creation, Mette Edvardsen explores interfaces with opera, flanked by composer and performer Matteo Fargion. Together, they deconstruct the mythological figure of Penelope, the woman who spent years waiting for her husband Odysseus. But her apparent passivity conceals tremendous power. Be whisked away to this intimate, minimalist dream world, where new relationships are forged between women, the world, and the other.

Claire Croizé & Matteo Fargion [FR/BE,IT]

Flowers (we are)

Flowers (we are)
Flowers (we are)

27.03 – 28.03.2019

L’œuvre de Claire Croizé est dansante, généreuse et portée par un grand amour de la musique. Dans Flowers (we are), elle s’attaque à deux de ses sources d’inspiration favorites : Bach et Rilke. Elle confie les deux esprits illustres au compositeur et performeur britannique Matteo Fargion, que vous connaissez sans aucun doute des duos géniaux avec le chorégraphe Jonathan Burrows. Fargion et Croizé ne s’adonnent pas une interprétation servile de Bach et de Rilke, mais optent pour un hommage ludique et quelque peu à rebrousse-poil. Ils opèrent une sélection de préludes du Clavier bien tempéré de Bach et de ses chorals qu’ils transposent pour un piano à quatre mains. Parallèlement, Fargion compose une nouvelle œuvre « à la Bach » afin de jeter un éclairage nouveau sur ses chefs-d’œuvre baroques. Quant aux poèmes de Rainer Maria Rilke, il réserve une interprétation de chansons pop. C’est dans l’irrévérence que s’exprime l’amour.

• La chorégraphe française bruxelloise Claire Croizé a présenté plusieurs spectacles au Kaaitheater, dont l’exubérant EVOL, sélectionné pour le TheaterFestival 2017.


concept Claire Croizé | musical composition Matteo Fargion | dance Emmi Väisänen, Claire Godsmark, Gorka Gurrutxaga | music interpreted by Matteo Fargion & Francesca Fargion | music Johann Sebastian Bach | dramaturgy Etienne Guilloteau | costume design Anne-Catherine Kunz | production ECCE vzw | co-production Kaaitheater, Concertgebouw Brugge, wpZimmer, Kunstencentrum BUDA | support Workspace Brussels, STUK, De Vlaamse Overheid

programmaboekje | feuille de salle | evening programme

Sujets apparentés

Mette Edvardsen & Matteo Fargion

Penelope Sleeps

performance musique

Penelope Sleeps
Penelope Sleeps

performance

ve 10.05 - ma 14.05.19

La nouvelle création de Mette Edvardsen, réalisée avec le compositeur et performeur Matteo Fargion, explore la frontière de l’opéra. Ensemble, ils déconstruisent la figure mythologique de Pénélope, la femme qui a attendu des années durant le retour de son époux, Ulysse. Mais derrière sa passivité apparente se dissimule une force immense. Plongez-vous dans cet univers intime, minimaliste et onirique qui éclaire les rapports entre la femme, le monde et l’autre.