Rosas [BE]

Fase, Four Movements to the Music of Steve Reich

Fase, Four Movements to the Music of Steve Reich
Fase, Four Movements to the Music of Steve Reich

22.03 – 23.03.2011

In Early Works, four choreographic pieces by Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker will be shown in the space of three weeks. They are all among her earliest works, dating from 1982 to 1987: Fase, Four Movements to the Music of Steve Reich (1982), Rosas danst Rosas (1983), Elena’s Aria (1984) and Bartók/Mikrokosmos (1987). Elena’s Aria will be rerun for the first time since its creation, while the three other pieces have been on Rosas’ repertoire for some time. Anne Teresa herself will be one of the dancers in Fase and Elena’s Aria.

Fase: abstract perfection
Fase consists of three duets and one solo dance, choreographed to four repetitive compositions by the American minimalist musician, Steve Reich: Piano Phase, Come Out, Violin Phase and Clapping Music. Reich allows his tones to gradually shift in rhythm and melody and between the instruments. The choreography applies the same phase-shifting principle. The purely abstract movements are executed so perfectly that they seem almost mechanical and yet affect us in a strange way. A fascinating experience! Fase is probably Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker’s most frequently performed work.


choreography Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker | danced by Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Tale Dolven | created with Michèle Anne De Mey (Piano Phase, Clapping Music), Jennifer Everhard (Come Out) | music Steve Reich: Piano Phase (1967), Come Out (1966), Violin Phase (1967), Clapping Music (1972) | light design Remon Fromont (Piano Phase & Clapping Music), Mark Schwentner (Violin Phase & Come Out) | costumes 1981 Martine André / Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker | assistant to the artistic director Anne Van Aerschot | production manager Johan Penson assisted by Willem De Coster | technicians Jan Herinckx, Simo Reynders, Wannes De Rydt, Michael Smets | world première 18/03/1982, Beursschouwburg | production 1982 Schaamte vzw (Brussels) Avila vzw (Brussels) | co-production Early Works Rosas & Sadler's Wells (London) | co-presentation Rosas, De Munt / La Monnaie & Kaaitheater

Rosas [BE]

Fase, Four Movements to the Music of Steve Reich

Fase, Four Movements to the Music of Steve Reich
Fase, Four Movements to the Music of Steve Reich

22.03 – 23.03.2011

Le projet Early Works, étalé sur trois semaines, présente quatre chorégraphies des débuts d’Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, à savoir de la période 1982-1987 : Fase, Four Movements to the Music of Steve Reich (1982), Rosas danst Rosas (1983), Elena’s Aria (1984) et Bartók/Mikrokosmos (1987). Elena’s Aria est repris pour la première fois depuis sa création ; les trois autres spectacles appartiennent depuis longtemps au répertoire de Rosas. Anne Teresa en personne danse dans Fase et Elena’s Aria.

Fase : perfection abstraite
Fase se compose de trois duos et d’un solo, chorégraphiés sur quatre compositions répétitives du musicien minimaliste états-unien Steve Reich : Piano Phase, Come Out, Violin Phase et Clapping Music. Reich y laisse les notes se décaler lentement dans le rythme, la mélodie, et entre les instruments. La chorégraphie suit le même principe de déphasage. Les mouvements purement abstraits sont exécutés avec une telle perfection qu’ils semblent presque mécaniques, mais étrangement, ils parviennent quand même à nous toucher. Une expérience fascinante ! Fase est probablement la chorégraphie la plus souvent reprise d’Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker.


choreography Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker | danced by Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Tale Dolven | created with Michèle Anne De Mey (Piano Phase, Clapping Music), Jennifer Everhard (Come Out) | music Steve Reich: Piano Phase (1967), Come Out (1966), Violin Phase (1967), Clapping Music (1972) | light design Remon Fromont (Piano Phase & Clapping Music), Mark Schwentner (Violin Phase & Come Out) | costumes 1981 Martine André / Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker | assistant to the artistic director Anne Van Aerschot | production manager Johan Penson assisted by Willem De Coster | technicians Jan Herinckx, Simo Reynders, Wannes De Rydt, Michael Smets | world première 18/03/1982, Beursschouwburg | production 1982 Schaamte vzw (Brussels) Avila vzw (Brussels) | co-production Early Works Rosas & Sadler's Wells (London) | co-presentation Rosas, De Munt / La Monnaie & Kaaitheater