Robert Cantarella [FR]

Faire le Gilles

11.03.2016

Robert does Gilles

Robert Cantarella has been ‘doing a Gilles’ for several years now. Which means that he has been giving new voice to the renowned lectures the French philosopher Gilles Deleuze gave at the university of Paris VIII in Vincennes in the 1980s.

Wearing earphones, the actor presents a faithful rendering of each lecture, including the correct intonation, rhythm, hesitations and incoherence of the spoken word. Faire le Gilles passes on Deleuze’s ideas using the voice, which makes it easier to understand his way of thinking.

In the Kaaitheater, Robert Cantarella presents a re-enactment of Anti-Oedipus and Other Reflections. In this lesson, Deleuze discusses the eponymous book – part of Capitalism and Schizophrenia – that he wrote together with the psychoanalyst Félix Guattari. Somewhere between theatre and philosophy, the passion for thinking is thought out loud.

•  Robert Cantarella is a writer, actor and stage director. He was the director of the Centre National de Dijon and the co-director of the Centquatre residence centre in Paris. He also co-founded the R & C association with Constance Corbières.


Crée par Robert Cantarella, Alexandre Meyer | production R&C | avec le soutien de la ménagerie de verre | dans le cadre du studiolab et du ministère de la culture et de la communication

Robert Cantarella [FR]

Faire le Gilles

11.03.2016

Robert fait le Gilles

Depuis quelques années, Robert Cantarella « fait le Gilles ». En d’autres mots : il redonne une voix aux célèbres conférences que le philosophe français Gilles Deleuze donnait dans les années 80 à l’Université Paris-VIII à Vincennes.

Doté d’oreillettes, l’acteur reproduit avec fidélité une conférence, prend les intonations appropriées, suit le rythme, les hésitations et les incohérences propres au langage parlé. Faire le Gilles transmet les idées de Deleuze par le biais de la voix, ce qui facilité la compréhension de sa pensée.

Au Kaaitheater, il présente une reconstitution d’Anti-Œdipe et autres réflexions. Pendant ce cours, Deleuze commente l’ouvrage éponyme – le premier volume de Capitalisme et schizophrénie – qu’il a écrit avec le philosophe et psychanalyste Félix Guattari. Entre théâtre et philosophie, la passion de la réflexion est pensée à voix haute.

•  Robert Cantarella est auteur, comédien et metteur en scène. Il était le directeur du Centre National de Dijon et le codirecteur de la résidence d’artiste au Centquatre à Paris. Avec Constance Corbières, il a fondé l’association R & C.


Crée par Robert Cantarella, Alexandre Meyer | production R&C | avec le soutien de la ménagerie de verre | dans le cadre du studiolab et du ministère de la culture et de la communication