Sandy Williams & Julien Monty [CA/FR]

Everything Happens So Much

Everything Happens So Much
Everything Happens So Much

16.02 – 17.02.2016

The upgraded human

There is a transformative event looming on the horizon of the 21st century. An event that could dramatically alter every institution and aspect of human life, ushering in a new stage of evolution: the Singularity, or the age of intelligent, self-aware machines. In this future period the pace of technological change will be so rapid and its impact so deep that human life will be irreversibly transformed. The Singularity promises a merger of the biological and the technological; a world where we are still human but transcend our organic roots. Soon there will be no distinction between human and machine, between physical and virtual reality.

But if we are all to be uploaded and digitized, customized and upgraded, what becomes of the ‘us’ now? The simple, the irrational, the emotional, the distressed? What of our meat-only bodies equipped with slow speech and language, our bodies that tire and wear?

Everything Happens So Much is a piece that rests in the tension between our raw, flawed and unfinished human natures and the pristine potential of a totally digitized destiny. A space where bodies and words, movement and spoken text merge as we stumble towards the creation of a future that may already be assured. 

• Sandy Williams studied at PARTS and has danced with Rosas. Artists with whom he has performed include Jan Ritsema and Miet Warlop.

#newyoung


concept Sandy Williams | text Inger Christensen, Sandy Williams | creation & performance Sandy Williams, Julien Monty | music Mort Garson, Sandy Williams | technique Michael Jensens | production wpZimmer (Antwerp), Loge 22 (Lyon) | co-production Kaaitheater i.c.w. Creative Europe programme of the European Union | residencies wpZimmer (Antwerp), Vooruit (Ghent), Buda (Kortrijk), De Pianofabriek (Brussels), Le Pacifique Cdc (Grenoble), CNDC (Lyon)

Sandy Williams & Julien Monty [CA/FR]

Everything Happens So Much

Everything Happens So Much
Everything Happens So Much

16.02 – 17.02.2016

L’humain augmenté

Il y a un évènement de transformation radicale qui se profile au 21ème siècle. Un évènement qui pourrait dramatiquement altérer toutes les instances et les aspects de la vie humaine, nous entrainant vers une nouvelle étape de l’évolution : La Singularité, l’ère de l’intelligence et de la conscience des machines. Dans un future plus ou moins proche, la vitesse des changements technologiques serait si rapide et son impact si profond que la vie humaine en serait irréversiblement transformée. La prédiction ou la prophétie de la singularité nous promet une fusion entre le biologique et le technologique. Un monde dans lequel nous serions toujours humain mais dont nos racines biologiques auraient été transcendées. En somme, il n’y aurait bientôt plus de distinction entre l’humain et la machine, entre la réalité physique et virtuelle.

En revanche, si nous devenons tous des êtres digitalisés, télé-chargeables, customisables et optimisables, que devient-il du « nous »? Le simple, l’irrationnel, l’émotion, le tourment? Que devient notre corps de chair et de sang qui se fatigue, qui s’use, ce corps « équipé » d’une parole et d’un langage lent?

Everything Happens So Much est une pièce qui repose sur la tension entre notre nature brutale, imparfaite et le potentiel vierge d’une destinée totalement digitalisée. Un espace où les corps et les mots, les mouvements et la parole se confondent dans l’annonce d’un future inexorablement présent.

• Sandy Williams a étudié à P.A.R.T.S. et a dansé avec Rosas. En tant que performeur, il a collaboré avec Jan Ritsema, Miet Warlop, et bien d’autres.

#newyoung


concept Sandy Williams | text Inger Christensen, Sandy Williams | creation & performance Sandy Williams, Julien Monty | music Mort Garson, Sandy Williams | technique Michael Jensens | production wpZimmer (Antwerp), Loge 22 (Lyon) | co-production Kaaitheater i.c.w. Creative Europe programme of the European Union | residencies wpZimmer (Antwerp), Vooruit (Ghent), Buda (Kortrijk), De Pianofabriek (Brussels), Le Pacifique Cdc (Grenoble), CNDC (Lyon)