Mette Ingvartsen [BE]

Evaporated Landscapes

27.11.2009

Wonders of Nature

Mette Ingvartsen creates artificial landscapes that evaporate, dissolve and transform, using such ephemeral materials as light, sound, bubbles and foam. Some of them look like real natural landscapes as we know them from the past, while others look like futurist inventions, though in both cases they exude peace. They fascinate and surprise us, as if they were wonders of nature.

In Evaporated Landscapes, choreography no longer signifies the arrangement of physical movements in space, but the relationship between the ephemeral elements that magically flow and dissolve in space. The movements that arise no longer take place only in the space, but also within the spectators’ bodies, as a result of what they see and experience during the performance.


concept Mette Ingvartsen | light design Minna Tiikkainen | sound design Gerald Kurdian | production management Kerstin Schroth | production Mette Ingvartsen / Great Investment | co-production Kaaitheater, steirischer herbst festival (Graz), Festival Baltoscandal (Tallinn), PACT Zollverein (Essen), Hebbel am Ufer (Berlin) | funded by Haupstadtkulturfonds (Berlin, Germany) und Kunstrådet (Denmark) | research supported by Tanzquartier (Wien), Siemens Arts Program and LE CENTQUARTRE (Paris)

Related content

Mette Ingvartsen

Mette Ingvartsen
Mette Ingvartsen

artist

Kaaitheater artist-in-residence 2013-2016

Mette Ingvartsen [BE]

Evaporated Landscapes

Evaporated Landscapes
Evaporated Landscapes

27.11.2009

Les merveilles de la nature

Mette Ingvartsen crée, à l’aide de matériaux éphémères comme la lumière, le son, des bulles de savon et de la mousse, des paysages artificiels qui s’évaporent, fondent et se transforment. Certains ressemblent à des paysages naturels réels, comme on les a connus dans le passé, d’autres ont l’air de trouvailles futuristes, mais tous respirent toujours la sérénité. Ils étonnent et fascinent, comme s’il s’agissait de merveilles de la nature.

Dans Evaporated Landscapes, la chorégraphie ne s’organise plus autour de mouvements du corps dans l’espace, mais autour de relations entre des éléments éphémères et fluides qui se fondent de manière magique dans l’espace. Les mouvements nés de la sorte ne s’accomplissent pas seulement dans l’espace, mais dans les corps des spectateurs aussi, à travers ce qu’ils voient et vivent pendant le spectacle.


concept Mette Ingvartsen | light design Minna Tiikkainen | sound design Gerald Kurdian | production management Kerstin Schroth | production Mette Ingvartsen / Great Investment | co-production Kaaitheater, steirischer herbst festival (Graz), Festival Baltoscandal (Tallinn), PACT Zollverein (Essen), Hebbel am Ufer (Berlin) | funded by Haupstadtkulturfonds (Berlin, Germany) und Kunstrådet (Denmark) | research supported by Tanzquartier (Wien), Siemens Arts Program and LE CENTQUARTRE (Paris)

Sujets apparentés

Mette Ingvartsen

Mette Ingvartsen
Mette Ingvartsen

artiste

Kaaitheater artist-in-residence 2013-2016