Jonathan Burrows & Matteo Fargion + Eleanor Sikorski & Flora Wellesley Wesley [UK]

Eleanor And Flora Music + I Am Sitting In A Room

Eleanor And Flora Music + I Am Sitting In A Room
Eleanor And Flora Music + I Am Sitting In A Room

22.04.2016

Acts of interpretation

Jonathan Burrows and Matteo Fargion ponder questions of ownership in performance. Eleanor Sikorski and Flora Wellesley Wesley invited the two men to create a piece, and they in turn asked them to retranslate Morton Feldman's score For John Cage. The resulting piece looks at the rediscovery and revelation in acts of translation, and the way new choreographies emerge from collective practice.

Subsequently, Burrows and Fargion perform Alvin Lucier's I Am Sitting In A Room. They interpret Lucier's generously open score to arrive at a performance that meditates on its own theft, even while slowly disappearing.

• In their playful but tightly composed duets, the choreographer Jonathan Burrows and composer Matteo Fargion – who have been a permanent feature of the Kaaitheater for many years – are poised somewhere between dance, music, comedy and performance art. Their work has taken them to every corner of the world.


Jonathan Burrows and Matteo Fargion are co-produced by Kaaitheater Brussels, PACT Zollverein Essen, Sadler's Wells Theatre London and BIT Teatergarasjen Bergen | residency Nightingale, Brighton England | management nigelhinds.co.uk

Jonathan Burrows & Matteo Fargion + Eleanor Sikorski & Flora Wellesley Wesley [UK]

Eleanor And Flora Music + I Am Sitting In A Room

Eleanor And Flora Music + I Am Sitting In A Room
Eleanor And Flora Music + I Am Sitting In A Room

22.04.2016

Actes d’interprétation

Jonathan Burrows et Matteo Fargion examinent l’idée de la propriété dans la performance. Eleanor Sikorski et Flora Wellesley Wesley invitent le duo à créer une chorégraphie. À leur tour, les deux hommes les convient à réinterpréter For John Cage de Morton Feldman. Le résultat explore des redécouvertes et des révélations, et la manière dont de nouvelles chorégraphies émergent à partir de pratiques de danse partagées.

Ensuite, Burrows et Fargion présentent I Am Sitting In A Room d’Alvin Lucier. Ils interprètent la composition ouverte et généreuse de Lucier pour aboutir à un spectacle qui réfléchit à son propre plagiat, alors même que celui-ci s’évapore lentement.

• Avec leurs duos ludiques, mais composés avec grande rigueur, le chorégraphe Jonathan Burrows et le compositeur Matteo Fargion – des valeurs sûres du programme du Kaaitheater depuis plusieurs années – oscillent entre la danse, la musique, la comédie et l’art de la performance. Leurs créations les ont amenés aux quatre coins du monde.


Jonathan Burrows and Matteo Fargion are co-produced by Kaaitheater Brussels, PACT Zollverein Essen, Sadler's Wells Theatre London and BIT Teatergarasjen Bergen | residency Nightingale, Brighton England | management nigelhinds.co.uk