Alexandra Bachzetsis [CH]

Dream Season

18.03 – 20.03.2010

An erotic anthropological view of our society

Alexandra Bachzetsis, who comes from Switzerland, has danced in productions by Christine De Smedt, Koen Augustijnen, Sasha Waltz and others. Her own work occasionally leans towards performance and video art and then again towards theatre and dance. Over the past few years she has been exploring the realms of mainstream popular culture such as hip-hop, fashion, striptease and film.

In Dream Season Bachzetsis examines the conventions of soap opera. The protagonists are two women and two men, a recipe for a potential romantic disaster. Like pawns on a chessboard, they represent a series of archetypal characters in endless combinations. As in a real soap opera, the ‘story’ is regularly interrupted by ‘reality’: commercial breaks which are here ‘enacted’ by the same actors. The shifts between ‘real’ and ‘acted’ in Dream Season tell us, the theatre-goers, TV viewers and shoppers, something about our identity in a society dominated by buying and selling. After all, isn’t Paris Hilton simply a persona invented to sell a perfume named after a certain Paris Hilton?

Dream Season is a soap opera and a study of soap opera, a story and a meta-story. As always, Bachzetsis plays on the thin line that separates parody and empathy, analysis and identification. Dream Season is amusingly critical, contemporary and feminine. It is an erotic anthropological view of our society.


concept, choreography Alexandra Bachzetsis | performance Alexandra Bachzetsis, Nicolas Lloyd, Liz Kinoshita, Gabriel Schenker/Garlos Garbin, Martina-Sofie Wildberger | dramaturgy Nicole Borgeat | light Tina Bleuler | music Lies Vanborm | costumes Tina Bleuler in collaboration with Linda Dürst | set design in collaboration with Sylvie Kleiber | video in collaboration with Patriez van der Wens | graphic design Julia Born, Boyplaygirl | production All Exclusive/Alexandra Bachzetsis
| co-production Theaterhaus Gessnerallee (Zürich), Dampfzentrale (Bern), Theater Chur, Arsenic (Lausanne), ADC (Geneva) | support Pro Helvetia Arts Council of Switzerland, Päsidialdepartement der Stadt Zürich, Kanton Zürich, Ernst Göhner Stiftung, Schweizerische Interpretenstiftung (SIS), Reso Danse

Alexandra Bachzetsis [CH]

Dream Season

Dream Season
Dream Season

18.03 – 20.03.2010

Un regard érotique et anthropologique sur notre société

La Suissesse Alexandra Bachzetsis a dansé dans des spectacles d’entre autres Christine De Smedt, Koen Augustijnen et Sasha Waltz. Son œuvre personnelle se rapproche parfois de l’art de la performance et de la vidéo, d’autres fois du théâtre et de la danse. Depuis quelques années, elle tente de décrypter les codes de la culture populaire dominante : hip-hop, mode, strip-tease, cinéma.

Dans Dream Season, Bachzetsis passe au crible les conventions du feuilleton télévisé populaire. Les protagonistes sont deux femmes et deux hommes, de quoi largement alimenter un drame romantique. Tels des pions sur un échiquier, ils incarnent une série de personnages archétypaux qui évoluent dans des combinaisons infinies. Comme dans un feuilleton véritable, « l’histoire » est sans cesse interrompue par la « réalité » : des messages publicitaires – « interprétés » il est vrai par les mêmes comédiens. Dans Dream Season les décalages entre « réalité » et « interprétation » nous racontent, à nous, public du théâtre, spectateurs de la télévision et consommateurs, quelque chose à propos de la construction de notre identité dans une société dominée par la marchandisation. Car, qu’est donc Paris Hilton sinon une créature inventée pour vendre un parfum nommé d’après une certaine Paris Hilton ?

Dream Season
est un feuilleton et une analyse du phénomène feuilleton, une histoire et une métahistoire. Comme à son habitude, Bachzetsis joue sur le fil ténu entre la parodie et l’empathie, l’analyse et l’identification. Dream Season est critique et drôle, contemporain et féminin : un regard érotique et anthropologique sur notre société.


concept, choreography Alexandra Bachzetsis | performance Alexandra Bachzetsis, Nicolas Lloyd, Liz Kinoshita, Gabriel Schenker/Garlos Garbin, Martina-Sofie Wildberger | dramaturgy Nicole Borgeat | light Tina Bleuler | music Lies Vanborm | costumes Tina Bleuler in collaboration with Linda Dürst | set design in collaboration with Sylvie Kleiber | video in collaboration with Patriez van der Wens | graphic design Julia Born, Boyplaygirl | production All Exclusive/Alexandra Bachzetsis
| co-production Theaterhaus Gessnerallee (Zürich), Dampfzentrale (Bern), Theater Chur, Arsenic (Lausanne), ADC (Geneva) | support Pro Helvetia Arts Council of Switzerland, Päsidialdepartement der Stadt Zürich, Kanton Zürich, Ernst Göhner Stiftung, Schweizerische Interpretenstiftung (SIS), Reso Danse