Markus Öhrn

Domestic Violence

Domestic Violence
Domestic Violence

11.03 – 12.03.2022

A white living room with IKEA furniture, flowers on the table, a picture on the wall and a cuckoo clock. A man and a woman move through this house that has been reduced to its most rudimentary forms. The place turns out to be a hotbed of terrible pain and suffering.

Along with his team, Markus Öhrn explores the dark side of intimate relationships, patterns, role models and gender stereotypes. This five-hour performance by two actors and a pianist is based on real statistics and court cases related to domestic violence. Without needing dialogue, Öhrn unravels the banality and brutality of domestic violence.

• Markus Öhrn is a Swedish visual artist whose work comprises video, sound installation and performance. Along with the theatre groups Nya Rampen and Institutet, Öhrn’s performances dissect mechanisms of repression within middle class families. His work was previously featured during the Kunstenfestivaldesarts. We are welcoming him to Kaaitheater for the first time.


director, stage, concept Markus Öhrn | with Jakob Öhrman, Janet Rothe | piano Arno Waschk | mask Makode Linde | co-production Wiener Festwochen, Institutet, Wiesbaden Biennale 2018 | support Kulturrådet/Swedish Arts Council

Markus Öhrn

Domestic Violence

Domestic Violence
Domestic Violence

11.03 – 12.03.2022

Un salon blanc au mobilier IKEA, des fleurs sur la table, un cadre et un coucou au mur. Un homme et une femme habitent cette maison réduite à sa plus simple expression. Il semble que le lieu soit le terreau d’affreuses douleurs et souffrances.

Avec son équipe, Markus Öhrn explore les parts d’ombre des relations intimes, des schémas et modèles comportementaux et des stéréotypes de genre. Cette production d’une durée de cinq heures, interprétée par deux acteurs et un pianiste, s’appuie sur des statistiques et des procès de violences conjugales.

• Markus Öhrn est un plasticien suédois dont l’œuvre se compose de vidéos, d’installations sonores et de performances. Avec la compagnie de théâtre Nya Rampen et Institutet, les spectacles d’Öhrn analysent les mécanismes répressifs au sein des familles de classe moyenne jusqu’à la moelle. À Bruxelles, il a déjà présenté des créations au Kunstenfestivaldesarts et à présent le Kaaitheater l’accueille pour la première fois.


director, stage, concept Markus Öhrn | with Jakob Öhrman, Janet Rothe | piano Arno Waschk | mask Makode Linde | co-production Wiener Festwochen, Institutet, Wiesbaden Biennale 2018 | support Kulturrådet/Swedish Arts Council