Marc Vanrunxt / Susanne Linke [Antwerp / Berlin]

Deutsche Angst / Im Bade wannen / Flut

Deutsche Angst / Im Bade wannen / Flut
Deutsche Angst / Im Bade wannen / Flut

30.03 – 31.03.2007

A tribute to expressionistic dance

At the Festival of Avignon 2005 the Flemish choreographer Marc Vanrunxt created the solo Deutsche Angst, danced by Etienne Guilloteau to the percussion music of the American composer James Tenney. This was the first time Vanrunxt had written a solo for a male body other than his own. Based on his own idiom of stillness and deceleration, in Deutsche Angst Vanrunxt reverts to a body in full movement, a body that follows a path in space, a body that invites us to watch closely, in the same way that the on-stage percussionist Fedor Teunisse invites us to listen. The language of movement Vanrunxt uses here briefly refers to the source of inspiration for his early works, the Central European Ausdruckstanz, the German expressionist body language of choreographers like Mary Wigman.

It is precisely to explain the origin of this dance by Vanrunxt, and to place it in an historical perspective, that two choreographic works by Susanne Linke are included in this evening programme, in addition to Deutsche Angst. Together with Pina Bausch and Reinhild Hoffmann, Susanne Linke is one of the pioneers of German dance theatre and therefore an heir to the expressionist language of movement. Susanne Linke performs her solo Im Bade wannen, her most famous choreographic work. She shows us a woman in an everyday situation, namely in her bathroom, where she is confronted with her own bathtub and her own tedium. The fact that Linke herself performs this choreographic work, which she has not danced for a long time, gives the work a new dimension, that of an aging body that remembers the movements of days long past.

The second solo is called Flut and will be danced by Linke’s student, colleague and fellow artist Urs Dietrich. To the sonata Elegie by the French composer Gabriel Fauré, which gradually builds up to a crescendo, Dietrich dances a duet with a long piece of cloth that represents a stream or river: a man alone in dialogue with an element of nature, a dialogue about adaptation and liberation, mystery and loneliness, fear and courage, creation and decay.


Deutsche Angst
chorégraphie Marc Vanrunxt
danse Etienne Guilloteau
percussion Fedor Teunisse
musique James Tenney
scénographie Koenraad Dedobbeleer
production Kunst/Werk
coproduction SACD France, Festival d’Avignon, Champ d’Action (Anvers)

Im Bade wannen
chorégraphie, danse, scénographie Susanne Linke
musique Eric Satie

Flut
chorégraphie, scénographie Susanne Linke
danse Urs Dietrich
musique Gabriel Fauré

Marc Vanrunxt / Susanne Linke [Antwerp / Berlin]

Deutsche Angst / Im Bade wannen / Flut

Deutsche Angst / Im Bade wannen / Flut
Deutsche Angst / Im Bade wannen / Flut

30.03 – 31.03.2007

Un hommage à la danse expressioniste

Au festival d’Avignon 2005, le chorégraphe flamand Mark Vanrunxt a présenté le solo Deutsche Angst, interprété par Etienne Guilloteau, sur une musique de percussion du compositeur états-unien James Tenney. C’était la première fois qu’il créait un solo pour un autre corps masculin que le sien. À partir de son idiolecte d’apaisement et de ralentissement, Vanrunxt retourne avec Deutsche Angst au corps en plein mouvement, un corps qui parcourt un chemin dans l’espace et nous invite à le regarder attentivement. Parallèlement le percussionniste Fedor Teunisse nous invite, par sa présence sur la scène, à écouter. Le vocabulaire gestuel dont Marc Vanrunxt se sert ici renvoie à la source d’inspiration de ses premières créations, à savoir l’Ausdruckstanz d’Europe centrale et le langage corporel expressionniste allemand de chorégraphes comme Mary Wigman.

Afin d’illustrer l’origine de la danse de Vanrunxt, de lui donner une interprétation historique, Deutsche Angst est présenté parallèlement à deux chorégraphies de Susanne Linke, l’une des pionnières – avec Pina Bausch et Reinhild Hoffmann – du Tanztheater allemand, et donc héritière du vocabulaire gestuel expressionniste. Susanne Linke danse elle-même son solo Im Bade wannen, sa chorégraphie la plus connue montrant une femme dans le contexte de son quotidien, plus précisément dans sa salle de bains, face à sa baignoire et à son ennui. En reprenant elle-même cette chorégraphie, qu’elle n’a plus dansée depuis longtemps, Linke lui ajoute une dimension supplémentaire : celle d’un corps vieillissant qui se souvient de gestes et de mouvements évanouis.

Le second solo s’intitule Flut et est interprété par son élève, collègue et complice artistique, Urs Dietrich. Sur la sonate Élégie du compositeur français Gabriel Fauré, qui monte doucement vers un crescendo, Dietrich entame un duo avec une longue pièce de tissu représentant un fleuve ou une rivière. Un homme seul, dialoguant avec un élément de la nature sur l’adaptation et la délivrance, la sécurité et la solitude, l’angoisse et le courage, la genèse et la mort.


Deutsche Angst
chorégraphie Marc Vanrunxt
danse Etienne Guilloteau
percussion Fedor Teunisse
musique James Tenney
scénographie Koenraad Dedobbeleer
production Kunst/Werk
coproduction SACD France, Festival d’Avignon, Champ d’Action (Anvers)

Im Bade wannen
chorégraphie, danse, scénographie Susanne Linke
musique Eric Satie

Flut
chorégraphie, scénographie Susanne Linke
danse Urs Dietrich
musique Gabriel Fauré