BL!NDMAN & Champ d’Action [Brussels/Antwerp]

Critical Band

Critical Band
Critical Band

04.11.2008

An inventive composer

In this programme, BL!NDMAN and Champ d’Action pay tribute to the American composer James Tenney, who died in 2006. His work was spectral even before the term was invented and will be performed alongside the compositions of two excellent European spectralists*, Gérard Grisey and Giacinto Scelsi.

Both ensembles, BL!NDMAN (saxophone quartet) and Champ d’Action (variable ensemble for contemporary music), are known for their non-conformist vision of how contemporary music can be performed. They often seek out special venues or occupy a concert hall in an innovative way. The lighting and arrangement of the space make their performances more than just a concert in the classical sense of the word.

In the Critical Band project (based on a reference work by James Tenney) they are joining forces for the first time, not only because they find the idea of working together very appealing but also because they share a passion for the music of James Tenney (1934-2006). His death in August 2006 was barely mentioned in the newspapers. Nevertheless, his name always comes up in any reference to the American musical history of the last forty years. He made music with John Cage, Steve Reich and Phil Glass, was an influential theoretician, the founder of the Tone Roads ensemble, taught at the famous CalArts institute and therefore taught a substantial group of composers. Most of all however, he was himself an inventive composer famous for his elegant acoustic and electronic work.


PROGRAMME:

Eric Sleichim, Ruisveld [tutti] 5’
James Tenney, Saxony [4 saxophones + tape-delay system] 8’
Gérard Grisey, Périodes [flute, clarinet, trombone, violin, viola, cello, double bass] 16’
Giacinto Scelsi, Okanogon [harp, double bass, percussion] 10’
James Tenney, Voice(s) [female voice, variable ensemble and tape-delay system] 20’
Serge Verstockt, Twisted Pair 1, creation [tutti] 10’

* Spectralism is a musical genre in which composers mainly concentrate on one aspect of music, namely timbre. Its pioneer was the French composer Gérard Grisey (1946-1998).


conductor Jaan Bossier | composition, artistic director BL!NDMAN Eric Sleichim | composition, artistic director Champ d’Action Serge Verstockt | BL!NDMAN [SAX] Koen Maas (soprano saxophone), Roeland Vanhoorne (alto saxophone), Piet Rebel (tenor saxophone), Raf Minten (baritone saxophone) | Champ d’Action Lode Leire (double bass), Marcel Andriessen (percussion), Sabine Warnier (flute), Sabine Uytterhoeven (clarinet), Tom Verschoore (trombone), Gudrun Vercampt (violin), Jeroen Robbrecht (viola), Arne Deforce (cello), Annelies Boodts (harp), Maarten Buyl (electronics), Els Mondelaers (soprano)
production BL!NDMAN & Champ d'Action | co-production deSingel (Antwerp)

BL!NDMAN & Champ d’Action [Brussels/Antwerp]

Critical Band

Critical Band
Critical Band

04.11.2008

Un compositeur innovant

Avec ce programme, BL!NDMAN et Champ d’Action rendent un hommage au compositeur états-unien James Tenney. Son œuvre, spectrale avant la lettre, est présentée dans ce programme aux côtés de compositions de deux spectralistes* européens par excellence : Gérard Grisey en Giacinto Scelsi.

Les ensembles BL!NDMAN (le quatuor de saxophones) et Champs d’Action (ensemble de musique contemporaine à géométrie variable) sont tous deux connus pour leur vision non conventionnelle de la présentation de la musique contemporaine. Souvent, ils cherchent des lieux insolites, hors les murs, ou ont une approche innovante de la salle de concert. La lumière et la disposition spatiale donnent à leur interprétation une dimension supplémentaire à celle d’un concert au sens classique du terme.

Pour le projet Critical Band (d’après une œuvre de référence de James Tenney), ils unissent leurs forces pour la première fois, avant tout par envie de jouer ensemble, mais aussi poussés par une passion commune pour la musique de James Tenney (1934-2006). Lorsque ce dernier est mort en août 2006, les journaux l’ont à peine mentionné. Cependant, le nom de Tenney émerge partout dans l’histoire de la musique états-unienne des quarante dernières années. Il a fait de la musique avec John Cage, Steve Reich et Phil Glass, était un théoricien influent, a fondé l’ensemble Tone Roads, a enseigné à l’institut réputé CalArts, où il a formé un groupe important de compositeurs. Mais plus que tout, il était un compositeur innovant, célèbre pour ses œuvres élégantes, acoustiques et électroniques.

PROGRAMME

Eric Sleichim, Ruisveld [tutti] 5’
James Tenney, Saxony [4 saxophones + tape-delay system] 8’
Gérard Grisey, Périodes [flute, clarinet, trombone, violin, viola, cello, double bass] 16’
Giacinto Scelsi, Okanogon [harp, double bass, percussion] 10’
James Tenney, Voice(s) [female voice, variable ensemble and tape-delay system] 20’
Serge Verstockt, Twisted Pair 1, creation [tutti] 10’

* Le spectralisme est un genre musical qui se focalise principalement sur un aspect de la musique, à savoir le timbre. Le pionnier du genre était le compositeur français Gérard Grisey (1946-1998).


conductor Jaan Bossier | composition, artistic director BL!NDMAN Eric Sleichim | composition, artistic director Champ d’Action Serge Verstockt | BL!NDMAN [SAX] Koen Maas (soprano saxophone), Roeland Vanhoorne (alto saxophone), Piet Rebel (tenor saxophone), Raf Minten (baritone saxophone) | Champ d’Action Lode Leire (double bass), Marcel Andriessen (percussion), Sabine Warnier (flute), Sabine Uytterhoeven (clarinet), Tom Verschoore (trombone), Gudrun Vercampt (violin), Jeroen Robbrecht (viola), Arne Deforce (cello), Annelies Boodts (harp), Maarten Buyl (electronics), Els Mondelaers (soprano)
production BL!NDMAN & Champ d'Action | co-production deSingel (Antwerp)