Ivo Dimchev & Lea Petra [BG/AR/BE]

Concerto

Concerto
Concerto

12.10.2016

Muscle melodies

For his Concertos, the born performer Ivo Dimchev always invites a different musician for a voice improvisation in the form of a concert. Anyone who experienced Concerto in late 2012 at Kaaistudios will know that this is an unforgettable musical experience. “I am interested in the physical power of the music and the melodies of my muscles”, Dimchev himself says. By constantly playing with personalities, it is as if he himself becomes music. Just like with his performances, this is a ‘borderline event’ where anything is possible.

Dimchev performed Concerto for the first time in 2007 during the Balkan Dance Platform in Athens. Since then, he has shared a stage with a variety of different musicians in theatres and clubs all over Europe. At the Kaaitheater, he performs alongside the composer and pianist Lea Petra. Born in Buenos Aires, Petra has been living in Brussels since 1999. Her tango transcriptions for piano have been highly praised.

Programmaboekje - Programme de salle - Evening programme

Related content

Ivo Dimchev

Operville

performance music

Operville
Operville

performance

Fri 14.10.16

Three singers/performers create a succession of intriguing tableaux vivants. Ivo Dimchev’s stream of consciousness simultaneously appears on the rear wall. He harnesses the power of the voice, extreme theatricality and a whole arsenal of temperament, and goes in search of what opera is and can be.

Ivo Dimchev & Lea Petra [BG/AR/BE]

Concerto

Concerto
Concerto

12.10.2016

Mélodies des muscles 

Pour les représentations de son spectacle Concerto, le performeur pur-sang Ivo Dimchev invite chaque fois un autre musicien à donner une improvisation vocale sous forme de concert. Qui a assisté à Concerto aux Kaaistudio’s à la fin de 2012 sait que c’est une expérience musicale inoubliable. « Je m’intéresse à la force physique de la musique et aux mélodies de mes muscles », affirme Dimchev. À force de le voir sans cesse jouer avec des personnalités, on a l’impression qu’il devient lui-même musique. De même que son spectacles, il s’agit d’un « événement borderline » où tout est possible.

Dimchev a présenté Concerto pour la première fois en 2007 dans le cadre du Balkan Dance Platform à Athènes. Depuis, il a partagé la scène avec différents musiciens dans des théâtres et des clubs à travers toute l’Europe. Au Kaaitheater, il se produit sur scène avec la compositrice et pianiste Lea Petra. Née à Buenos Aires, Petra habite à Bruxelles depuis 1999. Ses transcriptions de tango pour piano recueillent beaucoup d’éloges.

Sujets apparentés

Ivo Dimchev

Operville

performance musique

Operville
Operville

production

ve 14.10.16

Dans Operville, trois chanteurs/performeurs créent un enchaînement de tableaux vivants intrigants. En toile de fond apparaît simultanément un courant de conscience de Dimchev. De l’Ivo Dimchev tout craché : par la force de la voix, une théâtralité extrême et un tempérament à toute épreuve, il part en quête de ce qu’est l’opéra et de ce qu’il pourrait être.