Ola Maciejewska [FR/PL] presented by Kaaitheater

Bombyx Mori

Bombyx Mori
Bombyx Mori

01.04.2017

Silk caterpillar

Loïe Fuller (1862-1928) was a performance artist before the term was even invented: innovative and impossible to categorise. She made her name with solos in which she turned in circles, draping metres of silk fabric around her body. She fits within the art nouveau movement, but was equally at home dancing at the Folies Bergère. By being the first person to make use of electric light and to position movement outside the body, she was an innovative force in both the dance and theatre worlds. She collaborated with figures such as Auguste Rodin and the Lumière brothers.

In this piece for three dancers, Ola Maciejewska draws her inspiration from Fuller’s Serpentine Dance. She explores the relationship in the arts between human beings and physical matter by creating movement in large pieces of fabric. She plays with the confluence of bodies and objects and the battle that these wage. Bombyx Mori alludes to the silk caterpillar, which has become entirely dependent on human beings for survival. Here, the natural body and the artificial process are inextricably linked: a poignant metaphor for this sculptural interpretation of one of the pioneers of modern dance and performance art.


conception Ola Maciejewska | development and interpretation Amaranta Velarde Gonzalez, Maciek Sado, Ola Maciejewska l sound creation Alberto Novello l light creation, technical direction Rima Ben Brahim l costume realisation Valentine Solé l production Élodie Perrin l thanks to Thomas Laigle in helping to conceive the original sound and light arrangements | with support from the Hermès Foundation within the framework of the programme New Settings | co-production Ménagerie de verre - Paris (FR), LE CN D un centre d'art pour la danse (FR),Productiehuis Rotterdam (NL), Veem House for Performance (NL), Centre chorégraphique national de Caen en Normandie in the frame of « Artiste associé » program l with the kind support of Vivarium Studio, Nanterre-Amandiers - Centre Dramatique National l with thanks to ICK Amsterdam, Judith Schoneveld, Nienke Scholts l Ola Maciejewska is associated artist at Centre chorégraphique national de Caen en Normandie

Ola Maciejewska [FR/PL] presented by Kaaitheater

Bombyx Mori

Bombyx Mori
Bombyx Mori

01.04.2017

Ver à soie

Loïe Fuller (1862-1928) était une artiste de la performance avant la lettre : innovatrice et impossible à cataloguer. Elle s’est fait un nom avec des solos dans lesquels elle drapait son corps dans des mètres de tissu de soie, pivotant sur elle-même. Elle s’inscrivait dans le mouvement de l’Art nouveau, mais dansait tout aussi bien aux Folies Bergère. En étant la première à utiliser la lumière électrique et à déplacer le mouvement en dehors du corps, elle a fait souffler un vent nouveau sur la danse et le théâtre. Elle a travaillé, entre autres, avec Auguste Rodin et les frères Lumière.

Dans cette pièce pour trois danseurs, Ola Maciejewska s’inspire de Serpentine Dance de Fuller. Elle analyse la relation de l’être humain et de la matière dans les arts en créant du mouvement dans de grands voiles. Elle joue avec la rencontre du corps et de l’objet et le combat qui s’engage entre les deux. Bombyx Mori fait référence au ver à soie devenu entièrement dépendant de l’être humain pour sa survie. Le corps naturel et le processus artificiel sont inextricablement entremêlés : une métaphore frappante pour cette interprétation sculpturale de l’une des pionnières de la danse moderne et de l’art de la performance.


conception Ola Maciejewska | development and interpretation Amaranta Velarde Gonzalez, Maciek Sado, Ola Maciejewska l sound creation Alberto Novello l light creation, technical direction Rima Ben Brahim l costume realisation Valentine Solé l production Élodie Perrin l thanks to Thomas Laigle in helping to conceive the original sound and light arrangements | with support from the Hermès Foundation within the framework of the programme New Settings | co-production Ménagerie de verre - Paris (FR), LE CN D un centre d'art pour la danse (FR),Productiehuis Rotterdam (NL), Veem House for Performance (NL), Centre chorégraphique national de Caen en Normandie in the frame of « Artiste associé » program l with the kind support of Vivarium Studio, Nanterre-Amandiers - Centre Dramatique National l with thanks to ICK Amsterdam, Judith Schoneveld, Nienke Scholts l Ola Maciejewska is associated artist at Centre chorégraphique national de Caen en Normandie

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme