Het Toneelhuis [Antwerp]

Beats

Beats
Beats

29.03 – 02.04.2006

Josse De Pauw, Marc Didden and Roland (Van Campenhout) have set up a project on the ‘beat poets’ for Het Toneelhuis: William S. Burroughs, Jack Kerouac, Allen Ginsberg and other kindred spirits. The performance is a cross between a reading and a concert and provides us with an image of a generation and an era.

The age of the beat poets started in America around 1944, at the end of the Second World War. It was the age of the atom bomb, the beginning of the Cold War and the hunt for communists. There was the advent of television and Kinsey published his report on female sexuality, Dr. Benjamin Spock propagated a revolutionary approach to child care, Mount Everest was conquered for the first time and the first bikinis appeared. It was the age of bebop, the cool jazz of Miles Davis and later of rock-‘n-roll, the age of Jackson Pollock’s action painting and Charles Schultz’ Peanuts comic strip, the age of eastern mysticism and the music of Ravi Shankar and of the piercing social criticism of Lenny Bruce. The poetry of the beat poets gave shape to a new vision of life saturated with modernism, a new consciousness and a new lifestyle.

In his work and in his life, the beatnik, a new type of bohemian, sought uncensored self-expression as the basis for creativity, and a broadening of awareness (artistic and other) by non-rational means such as drugs, hallucinations, visions and dreams. Moreover, he abandoned the laws of what was morally acceptable. The beatniks lived together in the first communes, where drugs were used freely and the residents subjected one another to psychoanalysis. ‘This is the Beat generation. … It involves a sort of nakedness of mind, and ultimately of soul, a feeling of being reduced to the bedrock of consciousness.’ (New York Times, November 1952). The word ‘Beat’ actually means ‘beaten’, ‘robbed, cheated, the world against me’. Ginsberg said, ‘I am in exile from myself.’

De Pauw, Didden and Roland create a sort of jam session every evening together with the actors of Het Toneelhuis, with varying contributions of material and performers; in addition to the permanent core of actors, there are also appearances by writers and musicians every evening. At the same time Beats is also about the influence beats had in our part of the world, for instance on the writing of Simon Vinkenoog and the songs of Jaap Fischer.


concept Marc Didden en Josse De Pauw
choix des textes Marc Didden
musique Roland Van Campenhout, Percy Jones & gasten
avec (en combinaisons toujours différentes) Josse De Pauw, Abke Haring, Titus Muizelaar, Stefan Perceval & hôtes
production Het Toneelhuis

Het Toneelhuis [Antwerp]

Beats

Beats
Beats

29.03 – 02.04.2006

Le metteur en scène Josse De Pauw, le scénariste Marc Didden et le musicien rock Roland (Van Campenhout) ont conçu pour Het Toneelhuis un projet autour des beat poets : William S. Burroughs, Jack Kerouac, Allen Ginsberg et autres illustres consorts. Le portrait d’une époque et d’une génération (sauvage). C'est un spectacle à mi-chemin entre une lecture, un concert et un rendu d’une époque et d’une génération.

L’époque des beat poets commence en 1944, aux États-Unis, vers la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. C’est l’époque de la bombe atomique, du début de la Guerre froide et de la chasse aux communistes. La télévision fait son entrée et Kinsey publie son rapport sur la sexualité, le docteur Benjamin Spock propage une approche révolutionnaire de l’éducation des enfants, le sommet de l’Everest est atteint et les premiers bikinis apparaissent… C’est l’époque du be-bop, du cool jazz de Miles Davis et ensuite du rock-‘n-roll, de l’action painting de Jackson Pollock et des albums de bande dessinée Peanuts de Charles Schultz, l’époque de la mystique orientale et de la musique de Ravi Shankar, de la critique sociale acerbe de Lenny Bruce. La poésie des beat poets a donné corps à une nouvelle vision de vie imprégnée de modernité, une nouvelle conscience et un nouveau style de vie.

Dans son travail et dans sa vie, le beatnik, ce nouveau type de bohémien, cherche l’expression d’une créativité hors de toute censure et l’élargissement de la conscience (artistique) par le biais de moyens non rationnels tels que les psychotropes et hallucinogènes, les visions et les rêves. Jetant par-dessus bord les conventions de la morale bourgeoise, les beatniks vivent en communautés où l’usage de psychotropes et la psychanalyse sont monnaie courante. « La Beat generation implique une certaine nudité de l’esprit, et en définitive de l’âme, un sentiment d’être ramené aux fondements de la conscience. » (New York Times, novembre 1952). Beat vient de beaten, battu, « dévalisé, trompé, le monde contre moi ». Ginsberg : « Je suis en exil de moi-même. »

De Pauw, Didden et Roland organisent tous les soirs une sorte de jam-session avec les acteurs du Toneelhuis et avec des sujets et des intervenants chaque fois différents. En dehors des acteurs, le spectacle accueille tous les soirs des invités, tant écrivains que musiciens. Beats aborde également l’influence que ce mouvement a eue dans notre contrée.


concept Marc Didden en Josse De Pauw
choix des textes Marc Didden
musique Roland Van Campenhout, Percy Jones & gasten
avec (en combinaisons toujours différentes) Josse De Pauw, Abke Haring, Titus Muizelaar, Stefan Perceval & hôtes
production Het Toneelhuis