Jan Decorte, de Roovers & Kaaitheater [BE]

Bakchai

Bakchai
Bakchai

07.01 – 22.05.2010

The author, director and actor Jan Decorte is 60! This is being celebrated at the Kaaitheater with the final performance of his latest production, Bakchai. Since its first night on 8 January 2010, this play, based on Euripides’ Bacchae, has been touring Flanders and the Netherlands with great success. This play tells the story of the god Dionysos and his return to the city of Thebes where Pentheus is king. Dionysos preaches abandonment to intoxication. He takes his followers to a state of ecstasy by means of a wine-induced stupor and the rhythm of song, dance and music. Many of these converts are women, including Agave, Pentheus’ mother. Pentheus wants to restore order to the city, but he is lured into an ambush by Dionysos, where he is murdered and torn to pieces by Agave and the other women, who have been roused to a frenzy. When she awakens from her stupor, Agave realises what she has done. Jan Decorte adapted/rewrote this tragedy in his childlike idiom to create a distilled version consisting of a series of choral songs. Sigrid Vinks plays the savage-tragic Agave. Benny Claessens is the blond young god Dionysos, who drives King Pentheus – the plain-spoken and full-bosomed Sara De Bosschere – to death. Decorte wrote himself the part of ‘the two old blokes’, two curious commentators, Kadmos, Agave’s father, and the blind seer Teresias. Decorte chose Bacchae ‘because it’s so cruel’. His fascination with power runs like a thread throughout his work, and especially the violence by which it maintains its hold.

Just like Wintervögelchen, made in 2008, Bakchai is theatre in its rough, primitive state: the sort of theatre Decorte has been in search of for forty years. In the course of his career, this quest has resulted in a wide variety of forms, genres and styles. He has written mystical baroque plays, and directed the great classic works with an iron hand, including Hebbel’s Maria Magdalena, Goethe’s Torquato Tasso and Shakespeare’s King Lear, but also Heiner Müller’s Hamletmachine. He created Live Art before the term had been coined, wrote and staged slapstick comedies and made a whole series of poetic versions/adaptations, in a ‘childlike’ idiom very much his own, of plays by Shakespeare, Chekhov, Büchner, Sophocles and others. Anyone who ever saw Decorte’s version of Macbeth, called Bloetwolleduivel, will never forget it. He made Purcell’s Dido and Aeneas into a gem of an opera, and staged his Rare Works, several pieces written in madness, including the compelling Dieu et les esprits vivants. Jan Decorte’s artistic work is inseparably linked to his personal life: an intense life, with high peaks and deep valleys from which he always found his way back up, his creativity intact. ‘Je suis en délire tragique, comique et vraiment tout à la fois’. Decorte’s great strength lies in the fact that over all those years he has always managed to transform himself once again into someone new, while at the same time still remaining the same. His work is of priceless significance to Flemish theatre. He has and still does exert a great deal of influence, yet he has never entered ‘the system’. He has always done it his way. Well done! And happy birthday to you, Jan.


text Jan Decorte | with Jan Decorte, Sigrid Vinks, Sara de Bosschere, Benny Claessens | scenography Jan Decorte, Johan Daenen | costumes Jan Decorte, Sigrid Vinks, Sophie D’Hoore | light Jan Decorte, Luc Schaltin (Kaaitheater) | production Bloet vzw (Brussels), Kaaitheater, De Roovers (Antwerp)

Jan Decorte, de Roovers & Kaaitheater [BE]

Bakchai

Bakchai
Bakchai

07.01 – 22.05.2010

L’auteur – metteur en scène – comédien Jan Decorte fête ses 60 ans au Kaaitheater avec la dernière de sa production la plus récente, Bakchai. Depuis sa création, le 8 janvier 2010, ce spectacle inspiré des Bacchantes d’Euripide a effectué une tournée à grand succès à travers la Flandre et les Pays-Bas. La pièce raconte l’histoire du dieu Dionysos qui revient dans la ville de Thèbes, dont Penthée est le roi. Dionysos prêche l’abandon à l’ivresse. Grâce à l’étourdissement du vin et le rythme du chant, de la danse et de la musique, il plonge ses adeptes dans l’extase. Parmi les convertis, on compte de nombreuses femmes, dont Agavé, la mère de Penthée. Ce dernier souhaite restaurer l’ordre dans la ville, mais Dionysos l’attire dans un guet-apens et là, les femmes, poussées à la folie furieuse, Agavé à leur tête, réduisent Penthée en pièces. Dégrisée, Agavé découvre avec horreur ce qu’elle a fait… Jan Decorte a adapté et réécrit cette tragédie dans son langage aux résonances enfantines en une version épurée, se composant d’une série de chants chorals. Sigrid Vinks interprète le personnage tragi-furieux d’Agavé, Benny Claessens est le jeune dieu blond Dionysos, qui entraîne le roi Penthée – la franche et directe Sara De Bosschere – vers sa mort. Pour lui-même, Jan Decorte s’est réservé le rôle des deux vieillards, deux commentateurs curieux, étant Kadmos, le père d’Agavé, et le devin aveugle Tirésias. Decorte a choisi Les Bacchantes « parce que c’est si cruel ». Sa fascination pour le pouvoir et la violence par laquelle celui-ci se maintient en place traverse son œuvre comme un fil rouge.

À l’instar de Wintervögelchen, créé en 2008, Bakchai est du théâtre brut, à l’état primitif : le théâtre que Jan Decorte explore depuis quarante ans. Au fil de son parcours, cette quête a généré des formes, des genres et des styles fort variés. Il a écrit des textes de théâtre mystico-baroques, a dirigé d’une main de fer de grands classiques comme Maria Magdalena de Hebbel, Torquato Tasso de Goethe, King Lear de Shakespeare et Hamletmachine de Heiner Müller. Il a créé des performances avant la lettre, écrit et mis en scène des comédies burlesques et réalisé, dans son idiolecte imitant les enfants, des adaptations/fables inspirées de toute une série de pièces de Shakespeare, Tchekhov, Büchner, Sophocle… Qui a un jour vu son Macbeth, Bloetwollefduivel, ne l’oublie plus jamais. Il nous a offert un bijou d’opéra avec son Dido en Aeneas de Purcell et a mis en scène ses Œuvres Rares, quelques textes écrits en état de folie, dont le marquant Dieu et les esprits vivants… L’œuvre artistique de Jan Decorte est indissociable de sa vie : une vie intense, avec des sommets et des abîmes dont il a toujours réussi à se tirer avec une créativité intacte. « Je suis en délire tragique, comique et vraiment tout à la fois. » La grande force de Decorte réside dans le fait que tout au long de ces années, il a réussi à sans cesse faire peau neuve tout en restant égal à lui-même. Son œuvre est d’une valeur inestimable pour le théâtre flamand. Il a exercé et exerce toujours une grande influence, sans jamais intégrer « le système ». Il suit sa propre voie. Chapeau ! Joyeux anniversaire, Jan.


text Jan Decorte | with Jan Decorte, Sigrid Vinks, Sara de Bosschere, Benny Claessens | scenography Jan Decorte, Johan Daenen | costumes Jan Decorte, Sigrid Vinks, Sophie D’Hoore | light Jan Decorte, Luc Schaltin (Kaaitheater) | production Bloet vzw (Brussels), Kaaitheater, De Roovers (Antwerp)