Ictus / Jérôme Combier / Johan Leysen [BE/FR]

Austerlitz

Austerlitz
Austerlitz

14.12.2011

A soundtrack for an imaginary film

On the very day when, ten years ago, the great German writer W.G. Sebald died, Ictus and the French composer Jérôme Combier are paying him a tribute. Sebald died in a traffic accident in 2001. In his novel Austerlitz, the English art and architecture historian Jacques Austerlitz goes looking for his roots. This takes him to Antwerp, Brussels, Paris, Prague and elsewhere. He discovers that his real father fled the Nazi regime and that his mother was deported to Treblinka. His wanderings around the old Europe and his conversations with the narrator make for some fascinating thoughts.

• ‘The chief subject of this project,’ according to Jérôme Combier, ‘is the memory. It is about travelling around, between remembering and forgetting, and also through many languages and countries in Europe. It is also a reflection on chance.’ Combier wrote a ‘soundtrack for an imaginary film’ and will design the setting with the French video film-maker and stage designer Pierre Nouvel. Nouvel has created improbable spaces by, for example, projecting films onto actors’ bodies and by using transparent projection screens. In an installation of this sort, Johan Leysen will read from Sebald’s novel.


concept & composition Jérôme Combier, after W.G. Sebald’s novel | video & scenography Pierre Nouvel | light Bertrand Couderc | with François Deppe (cello), Dirk Descheemaeker (clarinet), Alain Pire (trombone), Jean-Luc Plouvier (keyboards), Michael Schmid (flute), Aurélie Entringer (alto), Alex Fostier (sound), Johan Leysen (actor) | production Festival d'Aix-en-Provence | co-production Opéra de Lille | co-presentation Bozar, Kaaitheater & Ictus

Ictus / Jérôme Combier / Johan Leysen [BE/FR]

Austerlitz

Austerlitz
Austerlitz

14.12.2011

Bande sonore pour film imaginaire

Jour pour jour dix ans après le décès du grand écrivain allemand W.G. Sebald, Ictus et le compositeur français Jérôme Combier lui rendent hommage. Sebald est mort en 2001 dans un accident de voiture. Dans son roman Austerlitz, l’Anglais Jacques Austerlitz, historien de l’art et de l’architecture, part en quête de ses racines. Ce voyage l’emmène à Anvers, Bruxelles, Paris, Prague… Il découvre que son vrai père a fui le régime nazi et que sa mère fut déportée à Treblinka. Ses pérégrinations à travers la vieille Europe et ses conversations avec le narrateur livrent des considérations fascinantes.

• « Le sujet principal dans ce projet », déclare Jérôme Combier, « c’est la mémoire. Il s’agit de voyager, entre la mémoire et l’oubli, mais aussi le long de plusieurs langues et pays de l’Europe. Il s’agit également d’une réflexion sur le hasard. » Combier a composé « une bande sonore pour un film imaginaire » et assure la mise en scène, aux côtés du vidéaste et scénographe français Pierre Nouvel. Ce dernier crée des espaces invraisemblables en projetant par exemple des films sur le corps des comédiens ou sur des écrans translucides. Dans cette installation, Johan Leysen lit des textes du roman de Sebald.


concept & composition Jérôme Combier, after W.G. Sebald’s novel | video & scenography Pierre Nouvel | light Bertrand Couderc | with François Deppe (cello), Dirk Descheemaeker (clarinet), Alain Pire (trombone), Jean-Luc Plouvier (keyboards), Michael Schmid (flute), Aurélie Entringer (alto), Alex Fostier (sound), Johan Leysen (actor) | production Festival d'Aix-en-Provence | co-production Opéra de Lille | co-presentation Bozar, Kaaitheater & Ictus