PAK [Zürich]

Are you fit for Kaaitheater?

Are you fit for Kaaitheater?
Are you fit for Kaaitheater?

11.01 – 24.01.2007

PAK or ‘Praxis für angewandte kunst’ (Practice for Applied Art) is a Swiss collective of four female artists. Their original disciplines are dance, architecture, photography and visual art. Their projects express their concern about the impact of urbanisation and urban planning on man.

Last season PAK was in residence in the Kaaitheater. After a patient, instructive study period they developed a project on the ‘hole’ formed between the two halves of the bridge and the two banks of the canal at Sainctelettesquare in Brussels. Kanalbühne, the name given to the work, took shape outside the theatre.

The new project by the Swiss collective PAK confronts the theatre-goer very directly under the provocative title Are you fit for Kaaitheater?. The audience will be given the means to tackle for themselves the problems – great and small – of visiting the theatre, in six training sessions – physical, mental, emotional, verbal, social and spiritual. A project with a built-in


PAK@Kaaitheater2: Susan Hengartner, Claudia Thiesen, Daniela Wettstein (Zürich)

PAK [Zürich]

Are you fit for Kaaitheater?

Are you fit for Kaaitheater?
Are you fit for Kaaitheater?

11.01 – 24.01.2007

PAK ou Praxis für angewandte kunst (pratique d’art appliqué) est un collectif de quatre artistes suisses qui ont des formations de danseuse, d’architecte, de photographe et de plasticienne. Leurs projets expriment leur préoccupation quant à l’impact de l’urbanisation et des techniques urbanistiques sur l’être humain.

La saison passée, PAK était en résidence au Kaaitheater. Après une phase de recherche patiente et instructive, elles ont conçu leur projet autour du quadrilatère vacant formé par les deux ponts et les deux rives du canal qui empiète sur la place Sainctelette. L’œuvre, baptisée Kanalbühne, s’est produite hors du théâtre.

Le nouveau projet du collectif suisse PAK s’adresse directement au spectateur à travers le titre provocateur : Are you fit for Kaaitheater?. Les spectateurs auront à leur disposition les moyens nécessaires pour aborder indépendamment les divers « problèmes » que présente la visite au théâtre dans six “stations d’entrainement” – physique, mental, émotionnel, verbal, social et spirituel. Un projet avec  incorporé.


PAK@Kaaitheater2: Susan Hengartner, Claudia Thiesen, Daniela Wettstein (Zürich)