Jonathan Burrows, Matteo Fargion [UK] Mette Edvardsen, Dounia Mahammed, Lili Rampre & Andros Zins-Browne

Any Table Any Room

25.04 – 26.04.2018

The (im)possibility of community

Jonathan Burrows, dancer and choreographer. Matteo Fargion, musician and composer. For the past decade, these gentlemen of note – and regular guests at the Kaaitheater – have been making duets that have acquired a legendary status. In their playful but rigidly composed miniatures, they combine dance, music, comedy and performance art.

Always the two of them… but not this time! For Any Table Any Room, they invite four local artists to join them onstage in each new location. For the showings in Brussels, they invited Mette Edvardsen, Dounia Mahammed, Lili Rampre and Andros Zins-Browne. They address the subject of ‘the possibility and impossibility of community’. How can we retain our autonomy and yet continue to be part of the group? Using 72 clay objects created by the performers, group singing and Indian drone sounds on smartphones, Any Table Any Room is a group journey that explores the pleasures and challenges of being and working together.


created by Jonathan Burrows & Matteo Fargion | performed by Jonathan Burrows, Mette Edvardsen, Matteo Fargion, Dounia Mahammed, Lili Rampre, Andros Zins-Browne | dramaturgy Katie Coe & Nicola Conibere | Jonathan Burrows and Matteo Fargion are supported by Kaaitheater, PACT Zollverein Essen, Sadler's Wells Theatre, BIT Teatergarasjen

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

Jonathan Burrows, Matteo Fargion [UK] Mette Edvardsen, Dounia Mahammed, Lili Rampre & Andros Zins-Browne

Any Table Any Room

25.04 – 26.04.2018

De l’(im)possibilité d’une communauté

Jonathan Burrows, danseur et chorégraphe. Matteo Fargion, musicien et compositeur. Ces hommes de qualité – et hôtes fréquents du Kaaitheater – créent depuis plus de dix ans des duos ayant entre-temps acquis un statut légendaire. Avec leurs miniatures ludiques, mais composées avec rigueur, ils oscillent entre la danse, la musique, la comédie et l’art de la performance.

Toujours à deux… mais pas cette fois ! Pour Any Table Any Room, ils invitent dans chaque ville quatre artistes locaux à les rejoindre sur scène. Les artistes invités à Bruxelles ? Mette Edvardsen, Dounia Mahammed, Lili Rampre et Andros Zins-Browne. Le point de départ est « la possibilité ou l’impossibilité d’une communauté ». Comment rester autonome et néanmoins faire partie d’un groupe ? Leurs ingrédients : 72 statuettes en argile de leur propre facture, des chants de groupes, des sonorités de drones indiens sur des smartphones. Any Table Any Room est un voyage collectif vers les plaisirs et les défis d’être et de travailler ensemble.


created by Jonathan Burrows & Matteo Fargion | performed by Jonathan Burrows, Mette Edvardsen, Matteo Fargion, Dounia Mahammed, Lili Rampre, Andros Zins-Browne | dramaturgy Katie Coe & Nicola Conibere | Jonathan Burrows and Matteo Fargion are supported by Kaaitheater, PACT Zollverein Essen, Sadler's Wells Theatre, BIT Teatergarasjen

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme