Michiel Vandevelde [BE]

Andrade

Andrade
Andrade

29.11 – 30.11.2017

Who eats, who gets eaten?

In 1928, Oswald de Andrade wrote his ‘cannibalist manifesto’, which advocated the consumption, digestion, and excretion in a new form of colonized cultures. With Andrade’s manifesto in mind, Michiel Vandevelde questions what we can consider to be ‘invasive’ in public spaces in the West. In an attempt to create a new culture, he arms himself with video clips and advertising. The result is an intimate, explosive solo. By adding all the dance and music from his previous productions to the mix, Vandevelde generates a synthesis of his search for a hitherto undiscovered culture. But his central question remains: who eats and who gets eaten?

• Artist-in-residence Michiel Vandevelde – a graduate of PARTS and currently co-editor of Etcetera and curator at Extra City – has previously presented Antithesis, the future of the image (2015) and Our times (2016) at Kaaitheater. Along with fABULEUS and a group of young dancers, he is also presenting Paradise Now (1986-2018) this season.

‘But we never permitted the birth of logic among us.’ – Oswald de Andrade (Manifesto Antropófago)


choreography Michiel Vandevelde | danced by Bryana Fritz | feedback Dries Douibi, Maria Rossler | production mennomichieljozef vzw | co-production Kaaitheater | residencies Kaaitheater, Pianofabriek, Vooruit, STUK, De Grote Post, PACT Zollverein

Related content

Michiel Vandevelde

Michiel Vandevelde
Michiel Vandevelde

article

Thu 22.12.16

La version abrégée de l'interview avec Michiel Vandevelde.

Michiel Vandevelde & fABULEUS

Paradise Now (1968-2018)

performance dance

Paradise Now (1968-2018)
Paradise Now (1968-2018)

production

Sat 12.05 - Sun 13.05.18

July 1968. The legendary Paradise Now by The Living Theatre premieres at the Festival d’Avignon. The actors attempted to unleash a revolution by getting the audience into a state of readiness. Half a century later, Michiel Vandevelde is exploring the vestiges of the legacy of May ’68 with a new generation of young people.

Michiel Vandevelde [BE]

Andrade

Andrade
Andrade

29.11 – 30.11.2017

Qui mange et qui est mangé ?

En 1928, Oswald de Andrade écrit son Manifeste anthropophage dans lequel il milite pour la consommation, la digestion et l’évacuation sous une forme différente des cultures colonisées. Avec le manifeste d’Andrade à l’esprit, Michiel Vandevelde se demande ce qu’on pourrait considérer comme « invasif » dans les espaces publics de l’Occident. Dans une tentative de créer une nouvelle culture, il se munit de clips vidéo et de films publicitaires. Ce qui subsiste en fin de compte est un solo intime et explosif. Du fait qu’il y brasse toute la musique et la danse de ses spectacles précédents, on découvre une synthèse de la quête de Vandevelde d’une culture encore inexplorée jusqu’à présent. La question clé reste cependant toujours : qui mange et qui est mangé ?

• Michiel Vandevelde – artiste en résidence au Kaaitheater, diplômé de PARTS et corédacteur en chef de la revue Etcetera et curateur de Extra City – était déjà à l’affiche du Kaaitheater avec Antithesis, the future of the image (2015) et Our times (2016). Cette saison, il présente également Paradise Now (1986-2018) avec fABULEUS et un groupe de jeunes danseurs.

« Mais nous n’avons jamais admis la naissance de la logique parmi nous. » – Oswald de Andrade (Manifeste anthropophage)


choreography Michiel Vandevelde | dance Bryana Fritz | costume Lila John | light design Michiel Vandevelde, Tom Bruwier | technique Michiel Vandevelde, Tom Bruwier | feedback Dries Douibi, Esther Severi, Kristof van Baarle, Maria Rossler | production Disagree vzw | co-production Kaaitheater | support Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie | residencies Kaaitheater, Pianofabriek, Vooruit, STUK, PACT Zollverein

 

programmaboekje - programme de salle - evening programme

Sujets apparentés

'History is not yet written'

a conversation with Michiel Vandevelde

'History is not yet written'
'History is not yet written'

article

je 08.12.16

Since he graduated from PARTS, Michiel Vandevelde has been a choreographer, curator and author. One of the leitmotifs in his work is his explicit political and artistic activism. Instead of waiting until everything gets better, he advocates taking the bull by the horns. 'I am convinced that every generation ultimately has to create its own institutions.' A conversation with Michiel Vandevelde for his Kaaitheater residency (2017-2021).

Michiel Vandevelde & fABULEUS

Paradise Now (1968-2018)

performance danse

Paradise Now (1968-2018)
Paradise Now (1968-2018)

production

sa 12.05 - di 13.05.18

Juillet 1968, festival d’Avignon. La première du spectacle légendaire Paradise Now par The Living Theatre. Les acteurs tentent de déclencher une révolution en stimulant le public et en l’entraînant dans un trip extatique. Un demi-siècle plus tard, Michiel Vandevelde part avec une nouvelle génération de jeunes personnes à la recherche des vestiges de l’héritage de mai 68.

EEN DUET TUSSEN DANS EN LICHT

een interview met Michiel Vandevelde

EEN DUET TUSSEN DANS EN LICHT
EEN DUET TUSSEN DANS EN LICHT

article

ma 28.11.17

Michiel Vandevelde over zijn laatste voorstelling in de cyclus rond Oswalde De Andrades 'kannibalistisch manifest'. Een interview door Esther Severi (Kaaitheater).