Anna F. Jäger & Nathan Ooms/CAMPO

Ambient Theatre Fury

Ambient Theatre Fury
Ambient Theatre Fury

20.12 – 22.12.2022

Two people, and a frantic desire for an encounter.
In perpetually anguished attempts to connect, saying ‘you’ is locked in an endless echo of an ‘I’.
But they, and their emotions, are real, fleshed out in their striving bodies! Under a flood of smartness lurks a heap of insecurity. How little it takes and yet so unreachable it seems to leave one’s own ego-chamber and construct something else, a relation with another.

An abundance of connection, but a lack of dialogue – that is where the ever-increasing digitalisation seems to be driving us. We see the other mainly as a possible reflection and confirmation of ourselves. Anna Franziska Jäger and Nathan Ooms seek out the extremes of dialogue, from endless mirror to contradiction, through various forms of conversation such as interviews, therapy sessions or first dates.

With Ambient Theatre Fury, Anna Franziska Jäger and Nathan Ooms continue their artistic research into the relationship between digitisation and subjectivity in crisis. Our contemporary culture is increasingly permeated by 'ambient' experiences. Netflix series and popular songs but also the constant renewal of our social media feeds: created as they are from a crossover between frivolous pleasure and banal seduction. What would an ambient theatre performance look like? What happens when you magnify and amplify this ambient quality and let it rage across the stage?

• Anna Franziska Jäger and Nathan Ooms both got their masters in Drama from KASK Ghent. They put up their previous performance, Jäger's graduation project Bartlebabe, at the Kaaistudio's. She has appeared in numerous films and has also been on stage in performances by Michiel Vandevelde. Ooms did an internship with Ula Sickle, and followed the STUDIOS programme at PARTS.

“Het doet je schateren, maar verontrustend is het wel.” - De Morgen

“Bijzonder aan het werk van Jäger en Ooms is dat ze ironie schuwen. In de plaats kiezen ze voor kritische overidentificatie: ze beseffen dat ze fundamenteel deel uitmaken van dit systeem.”- De Standaard


presented by Kaaitheater

by & with Anna Franziska Jäger & Nathan Ooms | costumes, scenography, inside eye Carly Rae Heathcote | dramaturgy Bojana Cvejić | text coaching Bryana Fritz | technique Koen Goossens & Rune Floryn | production CAMPO | co-production TAZ & Sabam For Culture – Jong Werk beurs TAZ, Kunstenwerkplaats | with the support of VGC & De Grote Post Oostende

There's more

tg STAN / de Roovers / Antigone

About Elly

theatre

About Elly
About Elly
Fri 21.04 - Sat 22.04.23

Tg STAN once again delves into the oeuvre of Iranian filmmaker Asghar Farhadi. With a group of eleven actors which includes different generations of creators and actors as well as different nationalities, Tg STAN creates a performance about doubt, friendship, honour and betrayal. Which truth is true and for whom? Is the truth really that relevant? Or can a lie bring salvation?

Anna F. Jäger & Nathan Ooms/CAMPO

Ambient Theatre Fury

Ambient Theatre Fury
Ambient Theatre Fury

20.12 – 22.12.2022

Deux personnes, et un désir effréné de rencontre.
Dans des tentatives perpétuellement angoissées de se connecter, dire " tu" est enfermé dans un écho sans fin d'un "je".
Mais eux·elles, et leurs émotions, sont réels, incarnés dans leurs corps en lutte ! Sous un flot d'intelligence se cache un amoncèlement d'insécurité. Il suffit de peu de choses et pourtant, il semble tellement hors de portée de quitter sa propre chambre d'ego et de construire quelque chose d'autre, une relation avec un·e autre.

Pléthore de connexions mais un manque de dialogue, c'est là où la numérisation toujours plus poussée semble nous mener. Nous envisageons l'autre principalement comme un reflet possible et une confirmation de nous-mêmes. Anna Franziska Jäger et Nathan Ooms utilisent diverses formes de conversation, comme des entretiens, séances de thérapie ou premiers rendez-vous, pour explorer les extrêmes du dialogue, du miroir sans fin à la contradiction.

Avec Ambient Theatre Fury, Anna Franziska Jäger et Nathan Ooms poursuivent leur recherche artistique sur la relation entre la numérisation et la subjectivité en crise. Notre culture contemporaine est de plus en plus imprégnée d'expériences "ambiantes". Les séries Netflix, les chansons populaires, mais aussi le renouvellement constant de nos flux de médias sociaux : elles naissent d'un croisement entre plaisir frivole et séduction banale. À quoi ressemblerait un spectacle de théâtre d'ambiance ? Que se passe-t-il lorsque vous magnifiez et amplifiez cette qualité ambiante et la laissez se déchaîner sur scène ?

• Anna Franziska Jäger et Nathan Ooms ont tous deux obtenu leur master en art dramatique à la KASK de Gand. Leur précédente performance, Bartlebabe, a été présentée au Kaaistudio's et était le projet de fin d'études de Jäger. Cette dernière a joué dans de nombreux films et s'est également produite sur scène dans des spectacles de Michiel Vandevelde. Ooms a fait un stage chez Ula Sickle, et a suivi le programme STUDIOS à PARTS.

 

“Het doet je schateren, maar verontrustend is het wel.” - De Morgen

“Bijzonder aan het werk van Jäger en Ooms is dat ze ironie schuwen. In de plaats kiezen ze voor kritische overidentificatie: ze beseffen dat ze fundamenteel deel uitmaken van dit systeem.”- De Standaard


presented by Kaaitheater

by & with Anna Franziska Jäger & Nathan Ooms | costumes, scenography, inside eye Carly Rae Heathcote | dramaturgy Bojana Cvejić | text coaching Bryana Fritz | technique Koen Goossens & Rune Floryn | production CAMPO | co-production TAZ & Sabam For Culture – Jong Werk beurs TAZ, Kunstenwerkplaats | with the support of VGC & De Grote Post Oostende

There's more

tg STAN / de Roovers / Antigone

About Elly

théâtre

About Elly
About Elly
ve 21.04 - sa 22.04.23

Tg STAN se plonge une fois encore dans l'œuvre du cinéaste iranien Asghar Farhadi. Avec un groupe de onze acteur·ices, où différentes générations de créateur·ices et d’acteur·ices et différentes nationalités sont représentées, Tg STAN crée un spectacle sur le doute, l'amitié, l'honneur et la trahison. Quelle vérité est vraie et pour qui ? Et est-ce que la vérité importe-t-elle réellement ? Ou un mensonge est-il à même d’apporter le salut ?