Clément Layes / Public in private [FR/DE]

Allege

Allege
Allege

26.10 – 27.10.2012

A glass of water

Sometimes an artist’s CV includes a whole programme: Clément Layes studied art, philosophy, dance and… circus! Quite a feat. In a brilliant solo called Allege, Layes combines philosophy with Chaplinesque slapstick. He talks about freedom and the limitations and absurdity of life. In the meantime he gives cues in light and music. And all the while he balances a glass of water on his head. Applause, please!
  
While still very early in his career, Layes has established a constant of confronting choreography, art and conceptual thought with everyday utility objects. Allege premiered at the Sophiensaele in Berlin in 2010, has been performed at many European venues and has won several prizes, including the prestigious Jardin d’Europe in 2011. Layes has previously worked with Boris Charmatz and Odile Duboc. Since 2008 he has lived in Berlin. He set up the Public in Private company together with Jasna Vinovrški. He was recently in residence at Workspace Brussels.


concept, performance Clément Layes | dramaturgy assistant Jasna Layes Vinovrški | light Raphäel Vincent | music assistant Nicolas Chedmail | music David Byrne | production Cie Public in private | thanks to Sophiensaele, Tanztage, Festival Ardanthé, Dock 11, CND Paris

Clément Layes / Public in private [FR/DE]

Allege

Allege
Allege

26.10 – 27.10.2012

Un verre d’eau

Parfois, le CV d’un artiste contient tout un programme : Clément Layes a fait des études d’art, de philosophie, de danse et… de cirque. Eh ben ! Dans son brillant solo Allege, il conjugue la philosophie et le slapstick chaplinesque. Il parle de liberté, d’entraves et de l’absurdité de la vie. Entre-temps, il donne les signaux pour la lumière et la musique. Et pendant tout ce temps, il maintient un verre d’eau en équilibre sur la tête. Chapeau l’artiste !
  
C’est une constante dans son œuvre, encore à ses débuts : Layes met en regard la chorégraphie, les arts plastiques, la pensée conceptuelle et des objets utilitaires du quotidien. La première d’Allege a eu lieu en 2010, aux Sophiensaele à Berlin. On a ensuite pu voir le spectacle dans divers endroits en Europe et il a raflé quelques prix au passage, entre autres, le prestigieux Jardin d’Europe 2011. Clément Layes a travaillé précédemment avec Boris Charmatz et Odile Duboc. Depuis 2008, il vit et travaille à Berlin. Il a fondé avec Jasna Vinovrški la compagnie Public in private. Layes était récemment en résidence à workspace brussels.


concept, performance Clément Layes | dramaturgy assistant Jasna Layes Vinovrški | light Raphäel Vincent | music assistant Nicolas Chedmail | music David Byrne | production Cie Public in private | thanks to Sophiensaele, Tanztage, Festival Ardanthé, Dock 11, CND Paris