Julian Hetzel/CAMPO [DE/EN/BE]

All Inclusive

All Inclusive
All Inclusive

01.12.2018

Everybody will remember the photos and videos showing iconoclasts in Iraq and Syria destroying iconic monuments. These images do not only show destruction, but especially also an aspect of strategic warfare. Creation through de(con)struction! Based on this paradoxical principle, Julian Hetzel continues his critical research into warfare, by discussing both the aestheticization and capitalization of violence. All Inclusive juxtaposes art and war and tourists and refugees, and connects reality and imagination. This production will guide you through an imagined universe – an extension of the battlefield – where reality hits back.

• Julian Hetzel studied performing arts at DasArts in Amsterdam. Since then, he has created provocative performances with a political message and which challenge theatrical codes. His work is often documentary, at the intersection of theatre, performance, media, music, and visual art. In 2015, he presented the lecture performance The Benefactor at Kaaitheater.

‘A striking and grating performance. Julian Hetzel cleverly questions the use and incorporation of horrors in art.’  – De Standaard


concept & direction Julian Hetzel | performers Kristien De Proost, Edoardo Ripani, Geert Belpaeme & local figuextra's | dramaturgy Miguel Angel Melgares | artistic advice Sodja Lotker | co-production Frascati, Schauspiel Leipzig, CAMPO, Stichting Ism & Heit | executive production CAMPO

 

programmablaadje - feuille de salle - programme leaflet

Related content

Brussel Helpt

with BRUZZ

with BRUZZ
with BRUZZ

production

Sat 01.12.18

Combine doing something useful and something cultural and come to the Kaaicafé on 1 December. We will serve a delicious bowl of spaghetti (including a vegetarian option), and you can help ToekomstATELIERdelAvenir to develop their programmes. Hundreds of socially vulnerable Brussels teenagers will be eternally grateful. If you would like, you can also attend the performance All Inclusive by Julian Hetzel: a jet-black exploration of the anesthetization of violence.

Julian Hetzel [DE/EN/BE]

All Inclusive

All Inclusive
All Inclusive

01.12.2018

Qui ne se souvient pas des photos et des vidéos d’iconoclastes en Irak et en Syrie réduisant à néant des monuments du patrimoine de l’humanité. Des images qui ne montrent pas seulement l’annihilation, mais appartiennent à une stratégie de guerre. La création par la destruction/déconstruction ! À partir de ce principe paradoxal, Julian Hetzel poursuit sa recherche critique, en rendant tangibles aussi bien l’esthétisation que la capitalisation de la violence. All Inclusive place en parallèle l’art et la guerre, les touristes et les réfugiés et relie la réalité à l’imagination. Laissez-vous guider pendant ce spectacle à travers un musée imaginaire – le prolongement d’un champ de bataille – où la réalité contre-attaque.

• Julian Hetzel a étudié les arts du spectacle vivant à DasArts à Amsterdam. Depuis, il crée des performances provocantes aux accents politiques sous-jacents qui défient les codes du théâtre. Son œuvre est souvent documentaire, à la croisée du théâtre, de la performance, de l’art média, de la musique et des arts plastiques. En 2015, il était à l’affiche du Kaaitheater avec la lecture performance The Benefactor.

« Une performance percutante et grinçante. Julian Hetzel interroge avec intelligence l’usage et la récupération de l’horreur dans l’art. » – DE STANDAARD


concept & direction Julian Hetzel | performers Kristien De Proost, Edoardo Ripani, Geert Belpaeme & local figuextra's | dramaturgy Miguel Angel Melgares | artistic advice Sodja Lotker | co-production Frascati, Schauspiel Leipzig, CAMPO, Stichting Ism & Heit | executive production CAMPO

 

programmaboekje - feuille de salle - evening programme

There's more

Brussel Helpt

avec BRUZZ

avec BRUZZ
avec BRUZZ

production

sa 01.12.18

Joignez l’utile au culturel et venez au Kaaicafé le 1er décembre 2018. Nous vous servirons un délicieux plat (végétarien ou pas) de spaghettis et vous aiderez ainsi ToekomstATELIERdelavenir à développer ses activités. Des centaines de jeunes Bruxellois en situation précaire vous remercient d’avance. Si vous le souhaitez, vous pouvez également assister au spectacle All Inclusive ce soir-là : une remise en question au vitriol de l’esthétisation de la violence.