Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas [BE]

Achterland

Achterland
Achterland

12.04 – 15.04.2018

Blurring boundaries

Achterland (1990) is a seminal dance production in Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker’s oeuvre: it is her first choreography specifically created for men. Three male dancers joined Rosas, which at the time was still a predominantly female company. The minimalism and dominant femininity of early Rosas pieces gave way to an ambiguous no-man’s-land in which boundaries and signs were blurred. Young girls wear women’s clothes and a woman dances in a man’s shirt while young men eagerly imitate the dancing women, all set to playful and virtuoso music by Györgi Ligeti and Eugène Ysaÿe. The violinist and pianist on the stage not only interpret the score, but also play an active role in the dance performance – an approach that De Keersmaeker would repeat in many subsequent choreographies.


choreography Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker | danced by (alternating) Laura Bachman, Lav Crnčević, Léa Dubois, José Paulo dos Santos, Anika Edström Kawaji, Bilal El Had, Frank Gizycki, Robin Haghi, Yuika Hashimoto, Laura Maria Poletti, Soa Ratsifandrihana, Luka Švajda | music  György Ligeti (8 Etudes for solo piano), Eugène Ysaÿe (Sonatas 1, 3 & 4 for solo violin) | musicians Wilhem Latchoumia/Joonas Ahonen (piano), Juan María Braceras/Naaman Sluchin (violin) | set Herman Sorgeloos | lighting design Jean-Luc Ducourt | costumes Ann Weckx | production Rosas | co-production 1990 De Munt/La Monnaie (Brussels), Stichting Van Gogh 1990, Rotterdamse Schouwburg, Théâtre de la Ville (Paris) | co-production 2018 De Munt/La Monnaie (Brussels), Concertgebouw Brugge | world premiere 27/11/90, La Monnaie/De Munt (Brussels)

Related content

Rosas

Zeitigung

dance

Zeitigung
Zeitigung

production

Thu 09.11 - Sat 18.11.17

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker and pianist Alain Franco are joining forces again. Their 2008 production Zeitung – an exploration of the essential intersection of music and dance – forms the fascinating premise for a new creation, with Louis Nam Le Van Ho as a third choreographer at the wheel.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Jean-Guihen Queyras/Rosas

Mitten wir im Leben sind - Bach 6 Cellosuiten

dance

Mitten wir im Leben sind - Bach 6 Cellosuiten
Mitten wir im Leben sind - Bach 6 Cellosuiten

production

Sat 23.09 - Wed 27.09.17

Five dancers – including Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker herself – adapt, question and dance Bach’s six Cello Suites, performed by the world-renowned cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras. Their ingenious architecture, rhythmic vitality and timeless beauty continue to fascinate people today.

Salva Sanchis & Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas

A Love Supreme

dance

A Love Supreme
A Love Supreme

production

Wed 06.06 - Sun 10.06.18

In 2017, Salva Sanchis and Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker adapted A Love Supreme with four young, male dancers. This exceptionally vital production was one of the highlights of the last season, and was promptly selected for the TheaterFestival. Join the dancers, and abandon yourself once again to Coltrane’s spiritual ode to divine love!

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas [BE]

Achterland

Achterland
Achterland

12.04 – 15.04.2018

Frontières estompées

Achterland tient une place décisive dans le parcours d’Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker : premier de ses essais, en 1990,  pour une plus grande implication des musiciens dans la dynamique scénique – une approche qu’elle développera abondamment par la suite. La combinaison insolite des musiques de György Ligeti et d’Eugène Ysaÿe ont mené De Keersmaeker et ses danseurs vers une écriture chorégraphique paradoxale, un composé délicat d'élans virtuoses et de décélérations. C’était la première fois, par ailleurs, que la chorégraphe concevait un matériel spécifiquement masculin, destiné à trois danseurs joignant une compagnie jusque là amplement dominée par les femmes. Minimalisme et féminité, les mots de passe de naguère, se transformaient lentement, se déportant vers un no man’s land radical où l’on se joue des frontières en brouillant les signes.


choreography Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker | danced by (alternating) Laura Bachman, Lav Crnčević, Léa Dubois, José Paulo dos Santos, Anika Edström Kawaji, Bilal El Had, Frank Gizycki, Robin Haghi, Yuika Hashimoto, Laura Maria Poletti, Soa Ratsifandrihana, Luka Švajda | music  György Ligeti (8 Etudes for solo piano), Eugène Ysaÿe (Sonatas 2, 3 & 4 for solo violin) | musicians Wilhem Latchoumia/Joonas Ahonen (piano), Juan María Braceras/Naaman Sluchin (violin) | set Herman Sorgeloos | lighting design Jean-Luc Ducourt | costumes Ann Weckx | production Rosas | co-production 1990 Kaaitheater, De Munt/La Monnaie (Brussels), Stichting Van Gogh 1990, Rotterdamse Schouwburg, Théâtre de la Ville (Paris) | co-production 2018 De Munt/La Monnaie (Brussels), Concertgebouw Brugge | world premiere 27/11/90, La Monnaie/De Munt (Brussels)

Sujets apparentés

Rosas

Zeitigung

danse

Zeitigung
Zeitigung

production

je 09.11 - sa 18.11.17

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker et le pianiste Alain Franco unissent une fois de plus leurs forces. Leur spectacle Zeitung de 2008 – une quête du domaine essentiel où la musique et la danse se touchent – constitue le point de départ d’une nouvelle création, avec Louis Nam Le Van Ho comme troisième créateur.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Jean-Guihen Queyras/Rosas

Mitten wir im Leben sind - Bach 6 Cellosuiten

danse

Mitten wir im Leben sind - Bach 6 Cellosuiten
Mitten wir im Leben sind - Bach 6 Cellosuiten

production

sa 23.09 - me 27.09.17

Trois danseurs et deux danseuses – parmi lesquels Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker en personne – adaptent, interrogent et dansent les six suites pour violoncelle de Bach qu’interprète le violoncelliste de renommée internationale, Jean-Guihen Queyras. Leur architecture ingénieuse, leur rythmique dansante et leur beauté intemporelle continuent à fasciner jusqu’aujourd’hui.

Salva Sanchis & Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas

[ANNULÉ] A Love Supreme

danse

[ANNULÉ] A Love Supreme
[ANNULÉ] A Love Supreme

production

me 06.06 - di 10.06.18

La série de représentation est, hélas, annulée en raison de la blessure qu’un danseur a contractée.

En 2017, Salva Sanchis et Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker ont retravaillé A Love Supreme avec quatre jeunes danseurs. Le spectacle résolument énergique était l’un des sommets de la saison passée et a d’emblée été sélectionné pour le Theaterfestival. Abandonnez-vous une fois de plus avec les danseurs à l’ode spirituelle de Coltrane au divin amour !