tg STAN / de Roovers / Antigone

About Elly

About Elly
About Elly

21.04 – 22.04.2023

“I believe that the similarities among the human beings on this earth and its various lands, and among its cultures and its faiths, far outweigh their differences.” - Asghar Farhadi

After the screening of A Separation (2020), tg STAN once more delves into the oeuvre of Iranian filmmaker Asghar Farhadi, this time with what cinephiles consider his best film: About Elly. With a group of eleven actors, representing different generations and backgrounds - Iraqi, Iranian, Dutch, Belgian and Afghan - tg STAN creates a performance about doubt, friendship, honour and betrayal.

We are confronted with a group of people struggling with their morality. The carefree gives way to drama. Solidarity is crumbling and individual interests come to the fore. Does an individual dare to betray another if it can protect the group? Which truth is true and for whom? Is the truth really that relevant? Or can a lie bring salvation?

• The actors' company STAN, acronym for Stop Thinking About Names, has long been a welcome guest at the Kaaiscene. The company operates on the democratic principle that everyone has a say in everything, from the choice of text, set and lighting to costumes and posters. A STAN performance is therefore not a finished product, but rather an invitation to dialogue. In addition to the search for a common affinity, the space and need for meeting and interacting with guest players and other companies is also essential.


presented by PeriferiK / CC Strombeek, CC De Factorij, Westrand & Kaaitheater

by & with Haider Al Timimi, Kes Bakker, Robby Cleiren, Jolente De Keersmaeker, Lukas De Wolf, Anna Franziska Jäger, Manizja Kouhestani, Armin Mola, Mokhallad Rasem, Scarlet Tummers, Stijn Van Opstal | concept Jolente De Keersmaeker & Scarlet Tummers | set Joé Agemans, Damiaan De Schrijver & Stijn Van Opstal | light Luc Schaltin | costumes Fauve Ryckebusch | production tg STAN | co-production Toneelhuis, de Roovers, Theater Antigone

There's more

Anna F. Jäger & Nathan Ooms/CAMPO

Ambient Theatre Fury

performance

Ambient Theatre Fury
Ambient Theatre Fury
Tue 20.12 - Thu 22.12.22

Netflix series and popular songs but also the constant renewal of our social media feeds: created as they are by a crossover between frivolous enjoyment and banal seduction. What would an ambient theatre performance look like? What happens when you magnify and amplify these ambient qualities and let them rage across the stage?

tg STAN / de Roovers / Antigone

About Elly

About Elly
About Elly

21.04 – 22.04.2023

« Je crois que les similitudes entre les êtres humains sur cette terre et ses diverses terres, et entre ses cultures et ses croyances, l'emportent de loin sur leurs différences. » - Asghar Farhadi

Après la production de A Separation (2020), tg STAN se plonge à nouveau dans l'œuvre du cinéaste iranien Asghar Farhadi, cette fois avec le film que les cinéphiles considèrent comme étant son meilleur : About Elly. Avec un groupe de onze acteur·ices représentant différentes générations et origines - irakienne, iranienne, néerlandaise, belge et afghane -, tg STAN crée un spectacle sur le doute, l'amitié, l'honneur et la trahison.

Nous voyons un groupe de personnes qui luttent avec leur moralité. L'insouciance fait place au drame. La solidarité s'effrite et les intérêts individuels de chacun·e passent au premier plan. Un individu ose-t-il en trahir un autre si, en le faisait, il  peut protéger le groupe  ? Quelle vérité est vraie et pour qui ? Et est-ce que la vérité importe-t-elle réellement ? Ou un mensonge peut-il apporter le salut ?

•  Toneelspelersgezelschap STAN, acronyme de « Stop Thinking About Names », est un hôte bienvenu sur les scènes du Kaai depuis quelque temps déjà. La compagnie fonctionne sur le principe démocratique selon lequel chacun·e prend part à toutes les décisions, du choix du texte, du décor et de l'éclairage aux costumes et aux affiches. Un spectacle de STAN n'est donc pas un produit fini, mais davantage une invitation au dialogue. Outre la recherche d'affinités communes, l'espace et la nécessité de rencontrer et d'interagir avec les artistes invité·es et les autres compagnies, sont également essentiels.


presented by PeriferiK / CC Strombeek, CC De Factorij, Westrand & Kaaitheater

by & with Haider Al Timimi, Kes Bakker, Robby Cleiren, Jolente De Keersmaeker, Lukas De Wolf, Anna Franziska Jäger, Manizja Kouhestani, Armin Mola, Mokhallad Rasem, Scarlet Tummers, Stijn Van Opstal | concept Jolente De Keersmaeker & Scarlet Tummers | set Joé Agemans, Damiaan De Schrijver & Stijn Van Opstal | light Luc Schaltin | costumes Fauve Ryckebusch | production tg STAN | co-production Toneelhuis, de Roovers, Theater Antigone

There's more

Anna F. Jäger & Nathan Ooms/CAMPO

Ambient Theatre Fury

performance

Ambient Theatre Fury
Ambient Theatre Fury
ma 20.12 - je 22.12.22

Les séries Netflix, les chansons populaires, mais aussi le renouvellement constant de nos flux de médias sociaux: ils sont créés par un croisement entre jouissance frivole et séduction banale. À quoi ressemblerait un spectacle de théâtre d'ambiance ? Que se passe-t-il lorsque vous magnifiez et amplifiez cette qualité ambiante et la laissez se déchaîner sur scène ?