Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas & Salva Sanchis [BE/ES]

A Love Supreme

A Love Supreme
A Love Supreme

23.02 – 04.03.2017

Improvisation is composition

John Coltrane’s jazz album A Love Supreme is based on blues-inspired musical structures from which phrases emerge that provide plenty of room for expressive freedom. In 2005, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, along with Salva Sanchis, created a quartet set to Coltrane’s musical composition. The striking thing about his jazz is the tension between complexity and simplicity. This is literally expressed in the dance, with improvisation and composition interweaving until they melt together. De Keersmaeker explains: “In non-Western music, composition and improvisation are not two separate concepts. Indeed, improvisation is composition in the immediacy of the moment.”

With a new cast of young performers, De Keersmaeker and Sanchis rework A Love Supreme to create an exceptionally vital, evening-length performance. Join the dancers in giving yourself over to Coltrane’s spiritual ode to divine love!


choreography Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Salva Sanchis | danced by José Paulo dos Santos, Bilal El had, Jason Respilieux, Thomas Vantuycom | music A Love Supreme, John Coltrane | co-production 2005 Rosas & De Munt/La Monnaie (Brussels/Bruxelles), Théâtre de la Ville Paris, Opéra de Rouen / Haute Normandie, Teatro Comunale di Ferrara | co-production 2017 Rosas & De Munt/La Monnaie (Brussels/Bruxelles) | premiere 24/05/2005, Kunstenfestivaldesarts, les Halles de Schaerbeek (Brussels/Bruxelles) | Rosas is supported by the Flemish Community

Related content

Rosas

Rosas danst Rosas

dance

Rosas danst Rosas
Rosas danst Rosas

production

Wed 21.06 - Thu 29.06.17

In 1983, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker firmly put her newly formed dance company Rosas on the international map with Rosas danst Rosas. Four dancers dance themselves, again and again. For this revival, an entirely new, young cast will dance Rosas danst Rosas.

Rosas

Golden Hours (As you like it)

dance

Golden Hours (As you like it)
Golden Hours (As you like it)

production

Tue 20.12 - Thu 22.12.16

What happens when Shakespeare’s rhythmic and poetic visual language becomes dance? Golden Hours (As you like it) – an encounter between Brian Eno and Shakespeare – draws you into a mildly ironic world, where the characters speak a language that doesn’t need deciphering to be grasped, yet isn’t pantomime.

Rosas

Rain (live)

dance

Rain (live)
Rain (live)

production

Tue 04.10 - Fri 07.10.16

Rain (2001) is one of Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker's most effervescent performances and is set to Steve Reichs Music for 18 Musicians. Mathematical figures, continuous repetitions, the geometric utilisation of space and the art of continual variation: here De Keersmaeker pushes to its limits everything that had gradually become her trademark.

Salva Sanchis

Radical Light

dance

Radical Light
Radical Light

production

Tue 13.12.16

In Radical Light, a creation for four dancers, choreographer Salva Sanchis combines experience-related and formal dance. ‘Experience-related’ stands for the dances that we create spontaneously at a party or at home: instinctive but also socially determined. Formal dance, however, is what you see in dance performances, the movements are completely ‘composed’.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas & Salva Sanchis [BE/ES]

A Love Supreme

A Love Supreme
A Love Supreme

23.02 – 04.03.2017

Improvisation est composition

L’album jazz de John Coltrane, Love Supreme, se greffe sur des structures musicales inspirées du blues dont émergent des phrases laissant beaucoup de place à l’expression libre. En 2005, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker et Salva Sanchis ont créé un quatuor sur la musique de Coltrane, dont le jazz excelle dans la tension entre complexité et simplicité. Cela se reflète littéralement dans la danse : l’improvisation et la composition s’imbriquent jusqu’à se fondre. De Keersmaeker : « Dans la musique non occidentale, la composition et l’improvisation ne sont pas deux concepts séparés. L’improvisation est une composition dans l’immédiateté du moment ».

Avec une nouvelle distribution de jeunes performeurs, De Keersmaeker et Sanchis retravaillent A Love Supreme en un spectacle de pleine soirée débordant de vitalité. Abandonnez-vous avec les danseurs à l’ode spirituelle de Coltrane au divin amour !


choreography Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Salva Sanchis | danced by José Paulo dos Santos, Bilal El had, Jason Respilieux, Thomas Vantuycom | music A Love Supreme, John Coltrane | co-production 2005 Rosas & De Munt/La Monnaie (Brussels/Bruxelles), Théâtre de la Ville Paris, Opéra de Rouen / Haute Normandie, Teatro Comunale di Ferrara | co-production 2017 Rosas & De Munt/La Monnaie (Brussels/Bruxelles) | premiere 24/05/2005, Kunstenfestivaldesarts, les Halles de Schaerbeek (Brussels/Bruxelles) | Rosas is supported by the Flemish Community

Sujets apparentés

Rosas

Rosas danst Rosas

danse

Rosas danst Rosas
Rosas danst Rosas

production

me 21.06 - je 29.06.17

En 1983, avec Rosas danst Rosas, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker a résolument imposé Rosas, sa compagnie de danse fraîchement fondée, sur la scène internationale. Quatre danseuses se dansent, encore et encore. Cette reprise est interprétée par une toute nouvelle distribution de jeunes danseuses.

Rosas

Golden Hours (As you like it)

danse

Golden Hours (As you like it)
Golden Hours (As you like it)

production

ma 20.12 - je 22.12.16

Que se passe-t-il quand la rythmique et la poésie du langage imagé de Shakespeare deviennent de la danse ? Golden Hours (As you like it) – une rencontre entre Brian Eno et Shakespeare – entraîne dans un monde quelque peu ironique où les personnages parlent une langue qu’on comprend sans la déchiffrer.

Rosas

Rain (live)

danse

Rain (live)
Rain (live)

production

ma 04.10 - ve 07.10.16

Rain est un des spectacles les plus étourdissants d’Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, sur Music for 18 Musicians de Steve Reich. Figures mathématiques, répétitions persistantes, usage géométrique de l’espace, art de la variation perpétuelle : De Keersmaeker y a poussé à l’extrême tout ce qui appartient entre-temps à sa signature.

Salva Sanchis

Radical Light

danse

Radical Light
Radical Light

production

ma 13.12.16

Dans Radical Light, une création pour quatre danseurs, le chorégraphe Salva Sanchis combine de la danse formelle et spontanée. Ces dernières sont ces danses qu’on esquisse spontanément lors d’une fête ou seul chez soi – instinctif, mais déterminées sur le plan social. La danse formelle désigne quant à elle ce qu’on voit dans les spectacles de danse : les mouvements sont entièrement composés.