Radouan Mriziga

7

7
7

23.10 – 24.10.2020

Radouan Mriziga is presenting 7, the conclusion of a trilogy (55 - 3600 - 7). The three pieces focus on the relationship between dance, building and architecture. Mriziga connects the moving body to the expression of architectural and sculptural forms. In 7, he enriches this relationship by adding mystery and imagination, inspired by the mythology of the seven wonders of the ancient world. These architectural and artistic tours de force – of which only the pyramids at Giza survive – mark the victory of humanity over its physical limitations and the laws of nature.

Every age has its wonders of the world: the impossible that people still manage to build – bigger and more impressive than anything we’d seen before. But how remarkable is the small body that invents and creates all these colossuses? How infinitely more mysterious and beautiful is it than the giants with which we surround ourselves? Mriziga juxtaposes two benchmarks: the built environment, made to impress, and the ultimate wonder of the world: the human body itself. 7 premièred at Kaaitheater during the Kunstenfestivaldesarts 2018, and is being reprised this season.

• Choreographer and dancer Radouan Mriziga studied dance in Marrakech and Tunisia and continued his trajectory at PARTS in Brussels. Since 2014, he has been supported by the Nomadic Arts Centre Moussem, and he recently founded his own structure, A7la5. ​​​​​​​​He is an artist-in-residence at Kaaitheater.


concept/choreography Radouan Mriziga | co-created and performed by Radouan Mriziga, Maïté Jeannolin, Bruno Freire, Eleni-Ellada Damianou, Lana Schneider, Zoltán Vakulya and Jalil El Yazidi (in replacement of Suhad Najm Abdullah) | in collaboration with the visual artist: Lana Schneider | musician Jalil El Yazidi (originally performed by Suhad Najm Abdullah) | costume Annabelle Locks | dramaturgical advice Esther Severi | artistic advice Alina Bilokon | assistant Sara Chéu | production Moussem Nomadic Arts Center | distribution and tour management Something Great | co-production: Kaaitheater, Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Sharjah Art Foundation, C-Mine, Vooruit, Pact Zollverein, | In the context of European Network DNA (Departures and Arrivals) | co-funded by the Creative Europe Program of the European Union | in collaboration with Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek, Charleroi Danses Centre Chorégraphique de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, STUK | thanks to Jozef Wouters

Radouan Mriziga

7

7
7

23.10 – 24.10.2020

Avec 7, Radouan Mriziga clôt sa trilogie (55 - 3600 - 7) qui s’articule autour de la relation entre danse, édification et architecture. Mriziga relie le corps en mouvement et l’expression de formes architecturales et sculpturales. Dans 7, il enrichit cette relation en y ajoutant du mystère et de la fantaisie. Pour ce faire, il se tourne vers la mythologie des sept merveilles du monde antique. Ces exploits architecturaux et artistiques – dont seule la pyramide de Gizeh existe encore – marquent la victoire de l’être humain sur ses limites physiques et les lois de la nature.

Chaque époque crée ses merveilles : l’impossible néanmoins érigé, plus grand et plus impressionnant que tout ce que nous connaissions jusque-là. Mais ce petit corps humain, qui a imaginé et réalisé toutes ces merveilles, ne reste-t-il pas la plus grande merveille d’entre toutes ? À quel point est-il plus mystérieux et plus beau que ces géants dont nous nous entourons ? Mriziga confronte deux critères : le monde construit, créé pour en imposer et la merveille ultime de ce monde : le corps humain. La première de 7 a eu lieu au Kaaitheater lors du Kunstenfestivaldesarts 2018. Cette saison, le spectacle est repris.

• Le chorégraphe et danseur Radouan Mriziga a suivi une formation de danse à Marrakech et en Tunisie et a poursuivi son parcours à PARTS à Bruxelles. Depuis 2014, le Centre nomade des arts MOUSSEM le soutient et depuis peu, il a fondé sa propre structure, A7la5. Il est par ailleurs artiste en résidence au Kaaitheater.


concept/choreography Radouan Mriziga | co-created and performed by Radouan Mriziga, Maïté Jeannolin, Bruno Freire, Eleni-Ellada Damianou, Lana Schneider, Zoltán Vakulya and Jalil El Yazidi (in replacement of Suhad Najm Abdullah) | in collaboration with the visual artist: Lana Schneider | musician Jalil El Yazidi (originally performed by Suhad Najm Abdullah) | costume Annabelle Locks | dramaturgical advice Esther Severi | artistic advice Alina Bilokon | assistant Sara Chéu | production Moussem Nomadic Arts Center | distribution and tour management Something Great | co-production: Kaaitheater, Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Sharjah Art Foundation, C-Mine, Vooruit, Pact Zollverein, | In the context of European Network DNA (Departures and Arrivals) | co-funded by the Creative Europe Program of the European Union | in collaboration with Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek, Charleroi Danses Centre Chorégraphique de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, STUK | thanks to Jozef Wouters

There's more

« JE M’INTÉRESSE AUX BÂTIMENTS ET À L’USAGE DE L’ESPACE »

une conversation avec Radouan Mriziga

« JE M’INTÉRESSE AUX BÂTIMENTS ET À L’USAGE DE L’ESPACE »
« JE M’INTÉRESSE AUX BÂTIMENTS ET À L’USAGE DE L’ESPACE »

article

ve 16.10.20

Radouan Mriziga : « Pour moi, l’important est d’avoir la liberté de présenter mon travail dans des contextes différents et d’être surpris de constater à quel point chaque contexte peut ajouter quelque chose au travail. » Une version mise à jour de la conversation avec Radouan Mriziga, par Esther Severi (Kaaitheater, 2017).