WoWmen! 2018
WoWmen! 2018

‘My own definition of a feminist is a man or a woman who says, ‘Yes, there’s a problem with gender as it is today and we must fix it, we must do better.’ All of us, women and men, must do better.’ Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (We should all be feminists)

It is the week of International Women’s Day: high time for the third edition of WoWmen! It is apparent from current affairs that this focus on gender, society, and art is still necessary. Time and time again, women have to struggle for rights that we thought they had already won in the West. But the counter reactions make us hopeful. The day after Donald Trump’s inauguration, millions of people across the world protested during the Women’s March – against his thoughtless sexist statements.

WoWmen! opts for ambiguity. You can expect artists who are difficult to categorize, either by discipline or theme. What are the identities you discover onstage at the intersection of gender, age, class, origin or religion? What does minority mean? And what are the mechanisms of pornography today? We are looking to Scandinavia, where feminism has been mainstream for years. We will also focus on Rebecca Solnit’s mansplaining and Joanna Macy’s less dualistic society. In keeping with the seasonal theme RE:RITE, The Monastery explores the social revaluation of the cyclical and the changeability of a (female) body.

The WoWmen! lecture programme responds to current affairs: all the details will be announced in January.

Samira Elagoz

Cock, Cock… Who’s There?

performance

Cock, Cock… Who’s There?
Cock, Cock… Who’s There?

Kaaistudio's

06.03 – 07.03.2018

Juli Apponen

Life is hard and then you die – part 3

lecture performance

Life is hard and then you die – part 3
Life is hard and then you die – part 3

Kaaistudio's

07.03 – 08.03.2018

Helena Dietrich & Janneke Raaphorst

Elastic Habitat

installation

performance

Elastic Habitat
Elastic Habitat

Kaaistudio's

06.03 – 08.03.2018

Mette Ingvartsen

21 Pornographies

dance

performance

21 Pornographies
21 Pornographies

Kaaitheater

09.03 – 10.03.2018

Ligia Lewis

minor matter

dance

minor matter
minor matter

Kaaistudio's

09.03 – 10.03.2018

The Monastery

A-LIFE

ritual

A-LIFE
A-LIFE

Kaaistudio's

21.09 – 21.06.2018

WoWmen! 2018
WoWmen! 2018

« Ma propre définition d’un(e) féministe est un homme ou une femme qui dit : “Oui, il y a un problème de genre dans la société telle qu’elle est aujourd’hui et il faut y remédier, il nous faut faire mieux.” Nous tous, femmes et hommes, avons le devoir de faire mieux. »
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (Nous devrions tous être féministes)

La semaine de la Journée internationale des Femmes est le moment idéal pour lancer la troisième édition de WoWmen! L’actualité met en évidence la nécessité de continuer à se focaliser sur les questions de genre, de société et d’art. Encore et toujours, les femmes se voient obligées de lutter pour des droits qu’on croyait acquis de longue date en Occident. Mais les réactions insufflent de l’espoir : le lendemain de l’investiture de Donald Trump, des millions de gens dans le monde entier ont pris part aux manifestations dites Women’s March contre ses propos grossièrement sexistes.

WoWmen! opte pour l’ambiguïté. Attendez-vous à des artistes que l’on ne peut pas cataloguer de manière univoque ni en ce qui concerne le genre ni la thématique. Quelles identités découvre-t-on sur scène où se croisent les genres, les âges, les classes, les origines, les religions ? Que signifie la notion de minorité ? Quels sont les mécanismes de la pornographie aujourd’hui ? Nous orientons notre regard sur la Scandinavie où le féminisme paraît depuis longtemps être un courant dominant. Nous nous penchons en outre sur la notion de mansplaining de Rebecca Solnit et sur la société moins dualiste de Joanna Macy. En concordance avec le thème de la saison, RE:RITE, nous mettons en avant la revalorisation du cyclique et du potentiel de transformation d’un corps (féminin).

Le programme des conférences de WoWmen! répond à l’actualité directe : Nous vous communiquerons tous les détails au mois de janvier.

Samira Elagoz

Cock, Cock… Who’s There?

performance

Cock, Cock… Who’s There?
Cock, Cock… Who’s There?

Kaaistudio's

06.03 – 07.03.2018

Juli Apponen

Life is hard and then you die – part 3

lecture performance

Life is hard and then you die – part 3
Life is hard and then you die – part 3

Kaaistudio's

07.03 – 08.03.2018

Helena Dietrich & Janneke Raaphorst

Elastic Habitat

installation

performance

Elastic Habitat
Elastic Habitat

Kaaistudio's

06.03 – 08.03.2018

Mette Ingvartsen

21 Pornographies

danse

performance

21 Pornographies
21 Pornographies

Kaaitheater

09.03 – 10.03.2018

Ligia Lewis

minor matter

danse

minor matter
minor matter

Kaaistudio's

09.03 – 10.03.2018

The Monastery

A-LIFE

rituel

A-LIFE
A-LIFE

Kaaistudio's

21.09 – 21.06.2018