#visual

Visually stunning performances

Ligia Lewis

Sorrow Swag

dance

Sorrow Swag
Sorrow Swag

dance

Fri 25.01 - Sat 26.01.19

Sorrow Swag is the first part – in blue – of Ligia Lewis’ triptych that deals with race and representation. She meticulously creates a hybrid body that is in constant flux. Towards the end, the body transforms into nothing more than a mouth and an unrelenting scream. Earlier this year, Lewis made a big impression at WoWmen!18 with minor matter, the second, red instalment of this series.

Benjamin Verdonck / Toneelhuis

Aren

theatre

Aren
Aren

theatre

Thu 31.01 - Sat 02.02.19

A gleaner walks behind the harvesters and picks up the ears of grain that were left on the field. In AREN, Benjamin Verdonck takes you on a journey to the unproduced or incomplete works in his studio. You can expect to see installations, a cabinet of curiosities, and a miniature theatre.

Noé Soulier

The Waves

dance music

The Waves
The Waves

dance

Fri 01.02 - Sat 02.02.19

French choreographer and philosopher Noé Soulier is convinced that watching dance is just as creative as dancing itself. In this latest creation, he presents six dancers and two percussionists. The drum sounds add commas and full stops, punctuating or pausing a series of movements, or initiate new actions. Soulier explores the intersection of extremely precise dance writing and pure improvisation! 

Cullberg Ballet

Figure a Sea

dance

Figure a Sea
Figure a Sea

dance

Fri 15.02 - Sat 16.02.19

A fluctuating constellation of bodies heaves incessantly. Be swept away by Figure a Sea: a sea of possibilities and a meditation about looking at music, at volatility, at synchronous and unexpected moments. The choreography for 21 dancers is both technically immaculate and distinctly minimalist. Dance icon Deborah Hay challenges the intelligence, beauty, and humour of the Cullberg dancers. The result is 60 minutes of sublime purity, beauty, and physicality.

Philippe Quesne

Crash Park

theatre

Crash Park
Crash Park

theatre

Fri 22.02 - Sat 23.02.19

Since time immemorial, the idea of an island as a place of infinite possibilities has been a source of inspiration for writers and artists. In Crash Park, theatre-maker Philippe Quesne has written his own robinsonade. When the survivors of a plane crash emerge from the wreckage, they encounter the bizarre bestiary on a desert island. Epic scenes alternate with musical intermezzos, while this contemporary fable spotlights the greatness and the failings of the human race.

Radouan Mriziga

0.Kanal

0.Kanal
0.Kanal

production

Thu 14.03.19

How can dance and architecture create a new kind of space together? During Performatik19, choreographer and Kaaitheater artist-in-residence Radouan Mriziga will install a residency project at KANAL – Centre Pompidou. He is inviting dance and architecture students to share their knowledge and practice.

Laure Prouvost

They Are Waiting For You

performance

They Are Waiting For You
They Are Waiting For You

performance

Wed 13.03 - Thu 14.03.19

Laure Prouvost’s first work for the main stage is rooted in her film Dit Learn, in which a quick succession of everyday objects, images and texts encourages you to imbue everything with new meaning. You can expect an ‘expanded cinema experience’ in which recorded and live images duplicate the actions in the theatre – dance, music, sound, projection.

Noé Soulier

Performing Art

performance

Performing Art
Performing Art

performance

Fri 22.03 - Sat 23.03.19

Now that bodies are occupying more and more museums, choreographer and philosopher Noé Soulier is presenting an opposite movement: what if instead of bodies, the artworks themselves adapted to a new space? Performing Art presents twenty pieces from the collection of the Centre Pompidou. You do not see them as you walk through a museum, but from your seat in the theatre.

#visual

Remplissez-vous les yeux !

Thomas Bellinck / ROBIN

[ANNULÉ] Memento Park

théâtre

[ANNULÉ] Memento Park
[ANNULÉ] Memento Park

production

sa 08.12 - di 09.12.18

La série de représentation est, hélas, annulée en raison de la maladie qu’un acteur a contractée.

Pour le centenaire de la Grande Guerre, on ne lésine ni sur les dépenses ni sur les efforts. Que faut-il donc si nécessairement commémorer ? Et surtout pourquoi ? À la faveur de citations de politiciens, marketeurs et reconstituteurs, Thomas Bellinck dévoile les mécanismes derrière le centenaire. Quel est le lien précis entre commémoration, politique, tourisme et big business ?

Ligia Lewis

Sorrow Swag

danse

Sorrow Swag
Sorrow Swag

production

ve 25.01 - sa 26.01.19

Cette première partie – en bleu – du triptyque de Ligia Lewis autour de l’affect et de l’incarnation, de la race et de la représentation, se développe entièrement par le biais du langage de la tristesse. Sur scène, elle crée de façon méticuleuse un corps hybride en état de flux constant. Vers la fin, ce corps se transforme et se réduit uniquement à une bouche et à un cri implacable. Par le biais de ce personnage instable, Lewis analyse dans cette œuvre des considérations sur la race, la paternité d’une œuvre, le genre et le deuil.

Benjamin Verdonck / Toneelhuis

Aren

théâtre

Aren
Aren

production

je 31.01 - sa 02.02.19

Un glaneur suit les moissonneurs et ramasse les épis tombés ou restés dans le champ. En réalisant des œuvres, beaucoup d’idées restent traîner à l’atelier. Dans AREN, Benjamin Verdonck nous emmène le long d’œuvres jamais réalisées ou en devenir dans son atelier. Attendez-vous à un parcours le long d’installations, de cabinets de curiosités et d’un théâtre miniature.

Noé Soulier

The Waves

danse musique

The Waves
The Waves

production

ve 01.02 - sa 02.02.19

Le chorégraphe et philosophe français Noé Soulier est convaincu que regarder de la danse est aussi créatif que de danser soi-même. Dans cette nouvelle création, il fait partager la scène à six danseurs et deux percussionnistes. Les percussions ajoutent des virgules et des points, scandent ou suspendent une séquence de mouvements ou relancent l’action. Soulier s’aventure à la frontière de l’écriture millimétrée et l’improvisation !

Cullberg Ballet

Figure a Sea

danse

Figure a Sea
Figure a Sea

production

ve 15.02 - sa 16.02.19

Une constellation ondoyante de corps remue en permanence. Laissez-vous emporter par Figure a Sea : une mer de possibilités et une méditation sur le fait de regarder de la musique, des moments fugaces, synchrones et inattendus. La chorégraphie pour 21 danseurs est à la fois virtuose sur le plan technique et résolument minimaliste. L’icône de la danse, Deborah Hay, lance un défi à l’intelligence, la beauté et l’humour des danseurs du Cullberg Ballet. Le résultat ? Une heure de sublimes pureté, beauté et corporalité.

Philippe Quesne

Crash Park

théâtre

Crash Park
Crash Park

production

ve 22.02 - sa 23.02.19

Espace de tous les possibles, l’idée de l’île inspire depuis des temps immémoriaux les auteurs et les artistes. Dans Crash Park, Philippe Quesne écrit sa propre robinsonnade. Lorsque quelques rescapés d’un avion qui s’est abîmé en mer émergent, ils découvrent le bestiaire fantastique d’une île déserte. Scènes épiques ponctuées de moments chantés et musicaux portent cette fable contemporaine à propos des grandeurs et des misères de la nature humaine.

Radouan Mriziga

0.Kanal

0.Kanal
0.Kanal

production

je 14.03.19

Comment la danse et l’architecture peuvent-elles créer ensemble un nouveau type d’espace ? Dans le cadre de Performatik19, le chorégraphe et artiste en résidence au Kaaitheater Radouan Mriziga installe un projet de résidence à KANAL – Centre Pompidou. Il invite des étudiants en danse et en architecture à partager leur connaissance et leur pratique.

Laure Prouvost

They Are Waiting For You

performance

They Are Waiting For You
They Are Waiting For You

production

me 13.03 - je 14.03.19

Le point de départ de la première œuvre pour grande salle de Laure Prouvost est son film Dit Learn, dans lequel une succession rapide d’objets du quotidien, d’images et de textes nous stimule à donner de nouvelles significations à tout. Il faut s’attendre à une « expérience de cinéma augmenté » dans laquelle des images filmées et des prises de vue en direct au théâtre se dédoublent.  

Noé Soulier

Performing Art

performance

Performing Art
Performing Art

production

ve 22.03 - sa 23.03.19

À présent que les corps entrent toujours davantage dans les musées, le chorégraphe et philosophe Noé Soulier choisit un mouvement inverse : et si c’était les œuvres d’art qui s’adaptaient à un nouvel espace au lieu des corps ? Dans Performing Art, on regarde une vingtaine d’œuvres d’art de la collection du Centre Pompidou. Non pas en se promenant à travers un musée, mais à partir de son fauteuil de théâtre.

Alix Eynaudi

Chesterfield

danse

Chesterfield
Chesterfield

production

ve 07.12 - sa 08.12.18

Pour Chesterfield, Alix Eynaudi et son équipe se sont inspirées de la collection du Volkskundemuseum Wien. Les danseurs appliquent de multiples techniques de travail du cuir à une série d’objets et aboutissent à un labyrinthe de signes. Chesterfield est une mosaïque de mouvements, de sons, de corps, tissés avec du fil de cuir… L’ensemble est composé à une cadence sensuelle.