The Kaaitheater Lockdown Tapes

In recent months, you had the opportunity to interact online with artists, authors, activists and researchers. You can relive many of these encounters for free by delving into The Lockdown Tapes. Get inspired by the voices of relevant thinkers and doers!

VIDEO: Miriyam Aouragh & Constant vzw | Infrastructure solidarity

VIDEO: Miriyam Aouragh & Constant vzw | Infrastructure solidarity
VIDEO: Miriyam Aouragh & Constant vzw | Infrastructure solidarity

Video

Wed 24.02.21

What are the current and future technological infrastructures for solidarity? Members of Constant – a Brussels organisation for art and media – speak with media anthropologist and activist Miriyam Aouragh about the relations between political activism and technological criticism. How to organise for online social change when tech giants profit from our interactions?

VIDEO: 10 years De Wereld Morgen | Revolution & Solidarity This Time

VIDEO: 10 years De Wereld Morgen | Revolution & Solidarity This Time
VIDEO: 10 years De Wereld Morgen | Revolution & Solidarity This Time

Video

Mon 22.02.21

For their 10th anniversary, De Wereld Morgen is inviting significant thinkers and writers to Kaaitheater to reflect on the revolts that set off a decade ago. There were the Arab uprisings, the Greek revolts, the Indignados, the Occupy movements, the Black Lives Matters movement, and the indigenous struggles from Canada to Chile. These and other struggles captured imaginations worldwide, but were gradually overshadowed by state and global powers’ violent responses. High time to look back, ánd forward.

VIDEO: Justice in a Multispecies world | Voices of the Dunes + roundtable discussion

A Series of More-Than-Human Encounters

VIDEO: Justice in a Multispecies world | Voices of the Dunes + roundtable discussion
VIDEO: Justice in a Multispecies world | Voices of the Dunes + roundtable discussion

Video

Mon 22.02.21

A Series of More-Than-Human Encounters. We are inviting researchers, activists and artists in a three-day-programme to explore the meaning and potential of justice in a multi-species post-imperialist world. Should we confer fundamental rights to animals and natural formations – such as lakes, the seas, rainforests and the soil? How are the worldwide decolonial struggles related to the global and local struggles for the live, safety and autonomy of non-human animals?

A Kitchen Broadcast Dinner | Pushing for Historical Transformations

A Kitchen Broadcast Dinner | Pushing for Historical Transformations
A Kitchen Broadcast Dinner | Pushing for Historical Transformations

Audio

Thu 18.02.21

Kitchen Broadcast is an online radio broadcast curated by Joachim Ben Yakoub and Reem Shilleh. In the presence of Hela Yousfi, Mohamed Toukabri, and Nidhal Chamekh, this Kitchen Broadcast Dinner proposes to critically reflect on postcolonial critiques, and to push for historical transformations – somewhere in between the Maghreb, Paris and Brussels.

VIDEO: Maneesha Deckha | Animals as Legal Beings

VIDEO: Maneesha Deckha | Animals as Legal Beings
VIDEO: Maneesha Deckha | Animals as Legal Beings

Video

Mon 08.02.21

In this talk, Maneesha Deckha calls for a non-anthropocentric reorientation for Canadian law and other Western legal orders, by criticizing their treatment of animals as property, but also finding fault with personhood as an appropriate animal-friendly replacement. The talk is part of the Series of More-Than-Human Encounters.

VIDEO: Justice4Mawda

VIDEO: Justice4Mawda
VIDEO: Justice4Mawda

Video

Wed 16.12.20

In the night of 16-17 May 2018, Mawda, a two-year-old girl, was shot dead by a police officer on the highway near Mons. At the trial that started in Mons on 23 November 2020, the officer that fired the fatal shot is on trial together with the driver of the van and an alleged people smuggler. Justice4Mawda demands justice and organizes (among others) debates.

VIDEO: Debra Solomon | Multispecies Urbanism

VIDEO: Debra Solomon | Multispecies Urbanism
VIDEO: Debra Solomon | Multispecies Urbanism

Video

Tue 15.12.20

How will we live together? And who is we? Debra Solomon is an artist, PhD candidate at the Univhuersity of Amsterdam in the departments of Urban Planning and Designing Urban Experience, and co-contributor to the Dutch pavilion of the 2021 Venice Architecture Biennial. Her talk Multispecies Urbanism is the first in a Series of More-Than-Human Encounters, which runs this Kaaitheater season in collaboration with Crosstalks.

VIDEO: Négar Djavadi | à nouveau dans l’arène

VIDEO: Négar Djavadi | à nouveau dans l’arène
VIDEO: Négar Djavadi | à nouveau dans l’arène

Video

Thu 10.12.20

Along with Passa Porta, we invited Négar Djavadi for an author conversation with David Courier. Her second book Arène is an urban novel told from multiple perspectives. Djavadi, who is also a screenwriter, reflects on the rhythm and the storylines of TV series, which determine our perspective on fiction and dominate our imaginations.

VIDEO: Ecopolis 2020

AGAIN(ST) NATURE

VIDEO: Ecopolis 2020
VIDEO: Ecopolis 2020

Video

Tue 03.11.20

For this sixth edition, Ecopolis is again inviting a broad range of writers, academic experts and thinkers from civil society.

The Kaaitheater Lockdown Tapes

Ces derniers mois, vous avez eu l’occasion de régulièrement interagir en ligne avec des artistes, des auteurs, des activistes et des chercheurs. Vous pouvez revivre gratuitement plusieurs de ces rencontres en vous plongeant dans The Lockdown Tapes. Inspirez-vous des voix d’intéressants penseurs et d’acteurs de terrain !

VIDEO: Miriyam Aouragh & Constant vzw | Infrastructure solidarity

VIDEO: Miriyam Aouragh & Constant vzw | Infrastructure solidarity
VIDEO: Miriyam Aouragh & Constant vzw | Infrastructure solidarity

Vidéo

me 24.02.21

Quelles sont les structures technologiques existantes et futures pour assurer la solidarité ? Les membres de l’asbl Constant s’entretiennent avec l’anthropologue des médias Miriyam Aouragh à propos de la relation entre l’activisme politique et la critique de la technologie. Comment plaider en ligne pour les changements sociétaux alors que les géants de la technologie profitent de nos interactions sur leurs plateformes ?

VIDEO: 10 years De Wereld Morgen | Revolution & Solidarity This Time

VIDEO: 10 years De Wereld Morgen | Revolution & Solidarity This Time
VIDEO: 10 years De Wereld Morgen | Revolution & Solidarity This Time

Vidéo

lu 22.02.21

Pour ses dix ans d’existence, DeWereldMorgen invite des penseurs et des écrivains au Kaaitheater pour réfléchir sur les révoltes qui ont commencé il y a dix ans, et sur le rôle de la solidarité. Des Printemps arabes à Black Lives Matter et aux luttes des peuples autochtones du Canada au Chili en passant par les soulèvements en Grèce, les Indignados et les mouvements Occupy : il est grand temps de porter un regard à la fois rétrospectif et prospectif.

VIDEO: Justice in a Multispecies world | Voices of the Dunes + roundtable discussion

A Series of More-Than-Human Encounters

VIDEO: Justice in a Multispecies world | Voices of the Dunes + roundtable discussion
VIDEO: Justice in a Multispecies world | Voices of the Dunes + roundtable discussion

Vidéo

lu 22.02.21

Nous invitons des chercheurs, des activists et des artistes à un programme de trois jours pour explorer le sens et le potentiel de la justice dans un monde post-impérialiste par explorer plusieurs espèces. Devons-nous accorder des droits fondamentaux aux animaux et aux formations naturelles - comme les lacs, les mers, les forêts tropicales et le sol? Comment la lutte décoloniale mondiale est-elle liée à la lutte mondiale et locale pour la vie, la sécurité et l'autonomie des animaux non humains?

A Kitchen Broadcast Dinner | Pushing for Historical Transformations

A Kitchen Broadcast Dinner | Pushing for Historical Transformations
A Kitchen Broadcast Dinner | Pushing for Historical Transformations

Audio

je 18.02.21

Kitchen Broadcast est une émission radio en ligne programmée par Joachim Ben Yakoub et Reem Shilleh. Avec la participation de Hela Yousfi, Mohamed Toukabri et Nidhal Chamekh, ce dîner Kitchen Broadcast propose une réflexion critique sur les remises en question postcoloniales et la promotion de transformations historiques – quelque part entre le Maghreb, Paris et Bruxelles.

VIDEO: Maneesha Deckha | Animals as Legal Beings

VIDEO: Maneesha Deckha | Animals as Legal Beings
VIDEO: Maneesha Deckha | Animals as Legal Beings

Vidéo

lu 08.02.21

In this talk, Maneesha Deckha calls for a non-anthropocentric reorientation for Canadian law and other Western legal orders, by criticizing their treatment of animals as property, but also finding fault with personhood as an appropriate animal-friendly replacement. The talk is part of the Series of More-Than-Human Encounters.

VIDEO : Justice4Mawda

VIDEO : Justice4Mawda
VIDEO : Justice4Mawda

Vidéo

me 16.12.20

Dans la nuit du 16 au 17 mai 2018, Mawda, une fillette de deux ans, a été abattue par un policier sur l'autoroute près de Mons. Lors du procès qui a lieu à Mons depuis le 23 novembre 2020, l'officier est jugé avec le conducteur de la camionnette et un présumé passeur de personnes. Justice4Mawda exige de la justice et organise (entre autres) des débats.

VIDEO: Debra Solomon | Multispecies Urbanism

VIDEO: Debra Solomon | Multispecies Urbanism
VIDEO: Debra Solomon | Multispecies Urbanism

Vidéo

ma 15.12.20

Comment allons-nous vivre ensemble ? Et qui est ce « nous » ? Debra Solomon est artiste, doctorante à la faculté d’Urban Planning and Designing Urban Experience [Planification urbaine et conception d’expériences urbaine] de l’Université d’Amsterdam et contribue au pavillon néerlandais de la Biennale d’Architecture de Venise 2021. Sa conférence Multispecies Urbanism [urbanisme d’espèces multiples] est la première d’une série de conférences intitulée A Series of More-Than-Human Encounters [Une série de rencontres plus qu’humaines], qui se déroule cette année au Kaaitheater – en partenariat avec Crosstalks.

VIDEO: Négar Djavadi | à nouveau dans l’arène

VIDEO: Négar Djavadi | à nouveau dans l’arène
VIDEO: Négar Djavadi | à nouveau dans l’arène

Vidéo

je 10.12.20

En partenariat avec Passa Porta, nous invitons Négar Djavadi à une conversation d’auteu avec David Courier. Pour son deuxième ouvrage Arène, elle s’aventure à écrire un roman urbain à partir de perspectives multiples. Djavadi, également autrice de scénarios, réfléchit au rythme et aux lignes narratives de séries télévisées qui définissent notre conception de la fiction et envahissent notre imaginaire.

VIDEO: Ecopolis 2020

AGAIN(ST) NATURE

VIDEO: Ecopolis 2020
VIDEO: Ecopolis 2020

Vidéo

ma 03.11.20

Pour cette sixième édition, Ecopolis invite un large éventail d’auteur.trice.s, d’expert.e.s académiques, et de penseur.se.s de la société civile. Penchez-vous avec eux sur les défis de l’après-corona.