#newarrivals

We are welcoming these artists to Kaaitheater for the first time

Gorges Ocloo

Moby Dick

music theatre

Moby Dick
Moby Dick

music

Sat 04.04.20

For this adaptation of Moby Dick, Gorges Ocloo called on Ben Okri, who adapted the novel into a magic-realist story about the gulf between high and low, rich and poor. Josse De Pauw and the soprano Nobulumko Mngxekeza-Nziramasanga take to the stage to perform an energized and jazzy opera about the need for rapprochement in an increasingly polarized society.

Remah Jabr

Broken Shapes

theatre

Broken Shapes
Broken Shapes

theatre

Fri 20.03 - Sat 21.03.20

Warning: all shows are cancelled until 5/04/2020, due to COVID-19.

 

 

A young woman in a city that has been occupied for decades. On the day of her father’s funeral, she discovers his architectural drawings. Broken Shapes is a hybrid theatrical experience between installation, video and performance that explores how physical surroundings affect us mentally. Onstage we see one actress, her words are supported and interrupted by the visual interventions around her.

 

 

Faustin Linyekula/NTGent

Histoire(s) du théâtre II

theatre dance

Histoire(s) du théâtre II
Histoire(s) du théâtre II

theatre

Fri 13.03 - Sat 14.03.20
Warning: all shows are cancelled until 5/04/2020, due to COVID-19.

1974, Zaire. In the Fight of the Century, Muhammad Ali defeated George Foreman. Mobutu Sese Seko founded the National Ballet of Zaire. Fast forward to 2019. Faustin Linyekula has created a production in which he reflects on key moments in the history of theatre. Along with three members of the Congolese National Ballet and actors Papy Maurice Mbwiti and Oscar van Rompay, he explores what the young Congolese state could have become.

Khadija El Kharraz Alami

Nu ben ik Medea

theatre

Nu ben ik Medea
Nu ben ik Medea

theatre

Wed 11.03 - Thu 12.03.20

In this personal performance, Khadija El Kharraz Alami blends perspectives from Euripides’ Medea with her own story about growing up between both the Western and the Moroccan world – and about the clash of forces within the self.

#newarrivals

Des artistes que nous accueillons pour la première fois au Kaaitheater

Gorges Ocloo

Moby Dick

musique théâtre

Moby Dick
Moby Dick

musique

sa 04.04.20
Attention: ce spectacle est annulé afin d’éviter la propagation du nouveau coronavirus.

Pour cette adaptation de Moby Dick, Gorges Ocloo a fait appel à Ben Okri. Celui-ci a revisité le texte qui devient un récit magique réaliste sur le fossé entre haut et bas, riche et pauvre. Sur scène, Josse De Pauw et la soprano Nobulumko Mngxekeza-Nziramasanga interprètent ensemble un opéra jazzy dynamique sur la nécessité d’un rapprochement entre les êtres humains dans une société toujours plus polarisée.

Remah Jabr

Broken Shapes

théâtre

Broken Shapes
Broken Shapes

théâtre

ve 20.03 - sa 21.03.20

Attention: ce spectacle est annulé afin d’éviter la propagation du nouveau coronavirus. 

Une jeune dans une ville occupée depuis des dizaines d’années découvre les dessins architecturaux de son père le jour de son enterrement. Broken Shapes est une expérience théâtrale hybride entre installation, vidéo et performance qui analyse la façon dont l’environnement physique influe sur le mental. Sur scène, une actrice dont la parole est interrompue et soutenue par des interventions visuelles autour d’elle.

 

 

Faustin Linyekula/NTGent

Histoire(s) du théâtre II

théâtre danse

Histoire(s) du théâtre II
Histoire(s) du théâtre II

théâtre

ve 13.03 - sa 14.03.20
Attention: ce spectacle est annulé afin d’éviter la propagation du nouveau coronavirus.

Zaïre, 1974. Muhammad Ali remporte le match du siècle contre George Foreman. Mobutu Sese Seko fonde le Ballet national du Zaïre. Avance rapide vers 2019. Faustin Linyekula crée un spectacle dans lequel il réfléchit aux moments clés de l’histoire du théâtre. Avec trois membres du Ballet National Congolais et les acteurs Papy Maurice Mbwiti et Oscar van Rompay, il se penche sur ce que le jeune État congolais aurait pu être.

Khadija El Kharraz Alami

Nu ben ik Medea

théâtre

Nu ben ik Medea
Nu ben ik Medea

théâtre

me 11.03 - je 12.03.20

Dans ce spectacle personnel, Khadija El Kharraz Alami entrelace des perspectives de Médée d’Euripide et sa propre histoire : grandir entre le monde occidental et le monde marocain et sentir en soi des forces qui s’entrechoquent.

Faustin Linyekula

Histoire(s) du Théâtre II

théâtre danse

[ANNULÉ] Histoire(s) du Théâtre II
[ANNULÉ] Histoire(s) du Théâtre II

théâtre

ve 01.03 - sa 02.03.19

La série de représentation est, hélas, annulée en raison de refus de visa pour les acteurs/danseurs congolaises.

Comment définir le théâtre ? Que signifient les émotions et l’Histoire sur une scène. Faustin Linyekula représente sa vision personnelle de l’histoire de la danse et du théâtre en Afrique. Dans quelle mesure le passé détermine-t-il le présent et même l’avenir ? Accompagné par la musique Ray Lema, il défie les techniques de base du « véritable » théâtre.